We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barrydale Karoo Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrydale Karoo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Barrydale Karoo Hotel to your Saves list
Barrydale Karoo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Barrydale Karoo Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Although we stayed at Barrydale Karoo Hotel for only 1 night, it was totally awesome. Perfect little get away! Staff are super friendly and goes out of their way to assist guest. It's a very "homely" place, family friendly and GREAT food and entertainment (when entertainment is lined up) I would DEFINITELY recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you - and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We are n true typical South African platteland country hotel- certainly NOT a boutique hotel - and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality!
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    68
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
83
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camps Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I take Swiss, German, South African etc, MTB cycling groups for 2 week Eastern Cape Touring, and always finish off with a night at the BKH. I have also stopped on a few Harley tours, (probably been there 10 times)
Really cool, staff great, fantastic rooms, cool relaxed vibe, awesome wine list, well priced and the Jagermeister somehow tastes better.... :). typical Karoo saloon, klein dorpie feeling.
Definitely a win and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chat to Gershwin...... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Yes we sell a very special unique Jagermeister here!
Barrydale is the capital of the Klein Karoo , and the best town to use as springboard to explore the whole Klein Karoo with day trips on the scenic Route 62 - be it by car/motorbike or bycycle! We offer safe off-street parking , massage services - and Jagermeister!

Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you plan to spend your next birthday on Route 62, I found the ideal get-away for you! After reading several reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided on the Barrydale Karoo Hotel for 2 reasons. No 1 simply because I have traveled through Barrydale numerous times, but never took the time to explore this beautiful, peaceful little village with it's wonderful gardens and slate stone fences and buildings. The second reason for my visit was that they are generous enough to offer a discount if you spend you birthday at the hotel.Upon arriving we were received by very friendly and professional staff, and of course the decor caught my eye immediately.We were booked into room 2 which is one of the Groot Karoo rooms, very spacious, king size bed and a balcony overlooking the vineyards and landscapes. Their restaurant serves lovely, farm style cooked meals, good wine from the area and the lemon meringue is simply to die for! Our weekend in Barrydale could not even be spoiled by the heavy rains that prolonged throughout our stay! Thank you Barrydale Karoo Hotel, next time I will definitely not just drive through, I will find a reason to stay over!

Room Tip: Any one of the Groot Karoo rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed celebrating your birthday with us!
Why not next time rent the whole hotel for you and your friends for the whole weekend and really celebrate that special occasion with us?! We offer very good discounted rates for renting out the whole hotel!
Regards
Theo
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A very big thanks to all at the Barrydale Karroo hotel for all the effort that was put in to making the Kiehl's Life ride and store launch a huge success. With only 9 days to put together an overnight stop in Barrydale for 21 of us we were a bit nervous when we were tasked to hold a group dinner, outside with a South African feel about it and we didn't quite know what to expect as we didn't have time to do a Recce of the premises. From arrival through to departure the staff at the hotel were friendly and very accommodating, The highlight of the evening was the dinner that was arranged by your team. A VERY pleasant surprise and well thought out. We would not hesitate to recommend Barrydale Karoo hotel for any event be it two people or a group of 21 people as we experienced. The whole experience was just brilliant.

Room Tip: Just pick one at random they are all so different but all will surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for this great feedback ! We consider ourselves the best place from which to explore the fantastic Klein Karoo and its famous Route 62,great for cycling,motorbiking and road trips. We look forward to again giving you and your guests a great typical South African Klein Karoo . Try us for your next stay-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route.experience on your next visit !
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Klein Karoo is an enchanting wilderness well-worth exploring, and just a few hours drive from Cape Town. The Route 62, longest wine route in the world, meanders gracefully over this magical region, with an excellent road passing through spectacular scenery, mountain passes and quaint towns. Few Klein Karoo towns are quainter than Barrydale, and few country hotels are quirkier than the charming Barrydale Karoo Hotel. What a pleasant surprise!
The chocolate-coloured exterior does not initially promise much, but enter, and be greeted by friendly staff, comfortable lounges and chat-nooks with wifi, varied & eclectic décor, a sparkling pool, clean & comfortable rooms, and a live-band bar with real character (and some real characters!).

While some of the hotel's rather risqué artworks, decorative pieces and homoerotic coffee-table books may not be to many peoples' taste, this is apparently a hangover from the days when the hotel had a reputation for ostentatiously chasing the "pink dollar" under previous ownership.

At mealtime, be treated to unique & beautifully presented Karoo cuisine that borders on the superb. An excellent wine list, and the best brandy in the world (officially) round off your meal.

Prices are reasonable, the surrounding area is well-worth an extra day or two for exploration, horse-riding, hiking, biking and picnicking, so this hotel presents a real alternative to the usual rush to get to accommodation in Oudtshoorn or George, on your Route 62 odyssey.

Room Tip: Room 2 upstairs is spacious, with a large private balcony & a fine view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We agree that Barrydale is a quaint little village ! We have dirt roads and vineyards in the middle of the village ! We have a river running through it ! And we have cattle and sheep still grazing in town. Inside the hotel we offer excellent beds,food and an extensive wine list and fully-stocked bar. Good to hear you enjoyed it all!Your compliment on the food has been conveyed to the chefs and the restaurant staff !
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

So we decided to stop here party because of the manager's reply to Riaan I's post about the smutty chair. And we weren't disappointed. Honestly, if you are annoyed about a chair (that we had to hunt down) then you are missing out on so much more.

The girl on reception was extremely welcoming, and trusting enough to let us leave without paying when Barrydale lost power the next day. The room was fabulous, clean, bright, and quirky (with a beautiful roll top bath in the middle), and the bar was well stocked and fun.

However, the only thing I would say is that you need to big up your restaurant - we had no idea how great the food would be. Seriously, the springbok carpaccio sushi was inspired and I am still dreaming about the bobotie wanton!

There isn't much reason to stop in Barrydale, except this hotel, which is to be quite frank, is reason enough!

Room Tip: Room 15 is lovely, bright, and has an amazing bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you! Reviews like this,from a world-traveller from London, makes us smile very broadly ! Your review had been copied and given to each and every staff member individually, and each of them received a complimentary drink after work on this great feedback from one of our guests. We are committed to continue improving what we have on offer to guests !
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent our anniversary at this fun hotel. Food was great, attentive service, great wine list. We had the garden suite, very comfortable and well appointed. Location great on Route 62, and also a very interesting village. If you like country hotels, this one should be on the list. Congratulations to the owner and staff on this unique product

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Appreciated!
See our website for our summer entertainment programme( live music) and specials if you book direct from our website.
regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrydale Karoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrydale Karoo Hotel

Address: 30 van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrydale Karoo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. Some rooms with cable TV available. See our website for our live entertainment programme. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests. This is your ultimate Klein Karoo experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barrydale Karoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrydale Karoo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.