We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful birthday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrydale Karoo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Barrydale Karoo Hotel to your Saves list
Barrydale Karoo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Mzuzu, Malawi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a wonderful birthday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was a lovely surprise - booked in at the Barrydale Karoo Hotel. Unfortunately they did not mention that the restaurant was closed for that specific evening. But there was another wonderful restaurant just around the corner - The Blue Bistro - where I had the best steak ever. Coming back to the hotel - what a friendly bunch of people - excellent service - slept in the Garden Suite with your own private garden / outside entertainment area - got spoiled rotten with flowers and specially prepared chocolate mousse - just so romantic. The room is quite spacious, just don't know why the bed is squeesed in at the corner - probably for the view??? But still felt like a Queen. Thank you so much - will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay !We agree : the steaks at Bistro Blue's are the best !
Hope to see you back in time to come.
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
83
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed the pleasure of a romantic weekend away to celebrate a friends birthday in Barrydale. We arrived just after dark and walked into a festive bar filled with locals and a number of familiar faces. A band called the Acid Blues took to the stage and the mood was upswing and festive. I enjoyed a few conversations with the local "Barrydale" residents who added some spice to the eclectic ensemble of people.

We happened to stay in two rooms (at our request and for no reason other than our own curiosity). The first suite was lofty with a beautiful suite, good lighting and french doors on the patio. The bathroom was down a higgildy-piggildy passage that was privately enclosed as part of our suite. The view from our balcony the following day was picturesque and quiet and we enjoyed a lazy Sunday.

The swimming pool is a treat and reminded me of a Mexican Hacienda. If the weather is warm, this is an experience to be savoured.. Very laid back and we enjoyed a game of pool in the undercover games room with another couple staying at the hotel. Time slipped by all too easily and soon we were off to eat at fantastic little restaurant up the road. Barrydale is small enough to walk. We did not get into our car for the whole stay - except once to go for a dip in the nearby Warm Waterberg hot springs.

It might have been the country air, but we could not stop ourselves from staying an additional night. This time, we choose to move to another room we spotted called the "magpie room". Beautifully decorated with a spacious airy feel and good light. The staff moved our bags for us while we were relaxing around the pool sipping on something from the bar. Most of our friends had returned to Cape Town by this stage and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the quietness of the Sunday night.

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel is the Garden Suite - its private, well decorated with great lighting. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you !
Yes ,our garden suite is the best !
For added romantic flair we have now instaled two adjacent his and her oo la la outside showers!
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow ............... to be honest we were on route to Cape Town and just stuck a pin in the map and tried to find a hotel nearby, did we strike lucky, never in a million years would we have thought to land at the Barrydale Karoo. When we arrive the actual hotel and bar were closed for a private function, we were the only outsiders staying, it was past 6 pm and unfortunately we could'nt eat in the hotel, which was a little worrying, we need'nt have worried we were pointed to the bar over the road and told they did a very good steak (good it was fantastic). About 8:30 we though we would head back to the hotel to see if we could 'gatecrash' the bar for a drink, it was the Mayors birthday function going on.............we couldn't hve been made more welcome, we met some fantastic people, joined in the party chatted to the mayor, the band and various people, we had a fantastic time.

Have to admit on first sight the hotel looks like it is work in progress, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable, owner and staff friendly and all 1st class bathroom products are supplied, the products were so good I bought some at reception. Barrydale is a very quite out of the way village, don't overlook it, well worth the stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for splashing about in the Barrydale Karoo Hotel - happy to hear you enjoyed your stay !
Best wishes
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Eclectic, friendly and delicious.
Eclectic because of the over the top decor, like a sequined shoe festooned on a table in the hallway, a chair in the form of a hand in the lounge and the most eclectic lights made out of twigs - very interesting.
Check in was average. Our room great- very spacious with a large bathroom supplied with a delicious peppermint shower gel, also loads of Aloe vera products with which to spoil yourself
Our balcony overlooked the main street, vineyard and mountains - the evening light was spectacular . Being a country hotel, the main street and off sales are very busy on a Friday afternoon, but at 7pm all goes quiet as the last of the merry makers jump into transport to head back to the farm. We had a king size bed with great bed linen - a real treat and very comfortable( maybe need to consider a solution for reading lights in addition to bed side lamps).
An interesting across the board clientele. There was a lovely pool at the back of the hotel.
Saturday night there was a dance with live music which went until 12.30 pm.
We had a blocked shower and a light bulb expired both of which were fixed promptly.

Lovely to wake up with sound of birds

Good place to make as a weekend springboard as there are plenty of interesting dirt roads to explore in the surrounding area, also great animal and bird spotting.

Check out , efficient and friendly

We were sent a weather report for the area prior to leaving home - great idea if you are planning outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms great views , but those facing the back will probably be quieter. Also request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks ! Hey,Hermanus is just around the corner - hope to see you back soon!
( Subscribe to our mailing list and get notified of all live music and other entertainment regularly on at the hotel.)
Best wishes
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this renovated country hotel in December 2011 and now (October 2012). The issue at hand here is what to do with a country hotel in a very small village that will not generate enough business on its own to support the hotel. So....it was taken over by a posse of arty types and rooms decorated with all manner of (homo-erotic) art. The make-over was still in progress in December 2011, but man.....the place was shrill. It had character oozing out of every pore, and character in a good sense. You either hated it or loved it....definitively not your average, mouse - brown country hotel. Since December, the hotel has apparently again changed hands and as a result, been toned down a bit (unfortunately); in the process it lost part of its character. The rooms are still big to huge, still old-fashioned but jazzed up in a nice way within the financial and building constraints of the location and an about 120-year-old structure: Our had a verandah and a huge bathroom with a shower and a bench to sit on... Some of the art-pieces are still there e.g. in our bedroom a painting of a nude lying on a bed watching himself in a mirror and some of the chairs in the lounge still have covers depicting nudes. I hope the place is not totally blanded down when we visit next......Note that Clarke of the Karoo is now in the hotel, so you will find decent food on site.

Room Tip: Guest rooms are on the 1st floor and the building as 120 year-old structure is not very sound - damp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Justus
Glad you appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay! It is now a family hotel so we scaled down on the nude and semi-nude art displayed before April 2011,when I took over - but we certainly are art appreciators ourselves and will continue with the eclectic interior decorating ! Good food and wine are synonymous with a good country hotel ! We also regularly have good live music at the hotel . Hope to see you back some time.
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greven, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After our first vistit in Feb. 2012 we came back for annother nice two day stop.
and again...perfect crazy hotel, perfect Karoo and perfect bar ! Specially Bruce did a great job in the bar. He ist a perfect guy and helps you with nice drinks :-)

Overall, you have to visit this hotel for a lovley cozy stay in the beautifull Karoo

and don't forget to visit the R62 Winery !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay !
Hope to see you back some day,
regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere and staff, stunning hotel. Affordable accomodation. Delicious breakfast. Amazing views of the town from our balcony. Ample facilities. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely keep this place in mind when doing a road trip again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Barrydale Karoo Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you Mishka! Hope to see you again soon.
For those warm summer days we recommend our lovely big swimming pool, or relaxing in the shade of a tree in our tranquil garden.
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrydale Karoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrydale Karoo Hotel

Address: 30 van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrydale Karoo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. Some rooms with cable TV available. See our website for our live entertainment programme. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests. This is your ultimate Klein Karoo experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barrydale Karoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrydale Karoo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.