We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradouw Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tradouw Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tradouw Guesthouse
46 Van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Laid back and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great guest house in lovely town. Owners Leon and Dennis are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are comfortable and garden beautiful. Breakfast is superb, served in lovely vine covered courtyard. Barrydale is a lovely stop over point if you are travelling on the R62 and the Tradouw Guest House a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have you ever visited a beautiful house in a beautiful place and thought just for a moment how wonderful it would be to live there? Well be prepared to be bowled over by this wonderful character filled house, great hospitality, and beautiful scenery. Leon and Dennis make it all seem effortless as they welcome you to this wonderful house. You can feel yourself relaxing as you walk in the garden in the early morning sunshine, watching the chickens being released into the garden after their night in the chicken coop before heading off for a wonderful breakfast under the vine in the courtyard garden (that's you not the chickens).
Looking to make a return visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

An incredibly peaceful and tranquil guesthouse with such friendly and helpful hosts. There are beautiful natural pools to swim in close by and some good places to hike. We had the friendliest reception from Leon who pointed us the right direction for things to do. Breakfast was lovely, the garden looked and smelled amazing and you'd be hard pushed to find a better place to spend a few days. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Once again, I got to stay in Leon and Dennis' old-world guesthouse in Barrydale. This charming and uber friendly place is a perfect stop to enjoy the Karoo. The historical house has basic, comfortable rooms that bring back memories of family road trips. Leon and Dennis treat their guests with ease and friendliness so that you always feel welcome and 'at home'. Lovely breakfasts with great coffee, tea in a teapot, sugar in a sugar bowl and jam in glass jars show attention to detail and great service.

Room Tip: Try the garden cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I continue to be both delighted & amazed at the high quality of the B&B accommodation in this beautiful country. Tradouw Guest House is way up there at the top of the tree.

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our latest SA vacation, having driven straight here after landing at 07.00 hrs at CPT. We received a warm welcome from Leon & were shown to our delightful room overlooking the huge & beautiful rear garden. We were soon relaxing on the sun chairs & watching with amusement as the chickens went about their daily routine.

In the evening, while we were waiting for Dennis to cook our delicious evening meal, we were entertained by Leon over a few glasses of wine in the cute little bar. We were also introduced to Delphine.

After a delicious breakfast served in the beautiful covered garden, we spent a relaxing morning in this beautiful Karoo town before exploring the magnificent Tradouw Pass. This is highly recommended.

In the evening before dinner at Clarke's, we were again entertained by Leon over a couple of cold ones. Leon really is a delightful & friendly host.

All too soon we were on our way along Route 62 towards Knysna. Thanks to Leon, Dennis & Delphine for such a wonderfully happy start to our holiday. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a small gem in Barrydale: comfortable rooms, a shady courtyard, extensive gardens (shared with the chickens), friendly hosts and excellent breakfasts all at a good price, make the Tradouw Guesthouse a no-brainer whether you're on route elsewhere or using Barrydale as a base for exploring the Little Karoo. I

Room Tip: If you'd like a slightly larger room, ask for one of the 'garden rooms'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for only one night in January 2013. The place is lovely decorated with simple but nice rooms. The room was clean and the place is run by very professional friendly hosts. Breakfast was good as well. Also we were provided with an awesome tip for dinner: the blue bistro which lies within walking distance of 10 minutes. I think I had the best steak of my life there.
Sitting in the lovely garden of tradouws with a gin-tonic and wine after dinner will be unforgotten.
If you are looking for a high-class luxury stay you are definitely wrong here but if you are just looking for a nice, clean, simple stay with very friendly surrounding you will be absolutely right in that place. We really enjoyed the stay there and will surely come back once we're in the area of barrydale again. Nothing to complain about here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradouw Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guesthouse

Address: 46 Van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guesthouse is a comfortable rustic bed and breakfast. The building dates back to the late 1800s. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 shower en-suite rooms with private entrance four opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two onto a large private landscaped Garden. There is a Guest Lounge with open fire place and a fully Licensed Bar called "McCavitie". Various board games are available including a Patanque court. Relax, unwind and experience our extended gardens accross the road from the guesthouse, find your birth totem in our Native American Red Indian Medicine Wheel Garden and introduce yourself to dear Pricilla our pot bellied pig. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the natural wonders of the Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tradouw Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradouw Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.