We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - Great hosts - Go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradouw Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tradouw Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tradouw Guesthouse
46 Van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Amazing place - Great hosts - Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

If you are planning to do the R62, you MUST go to the Tradouw Guesthouse in Barrydale. The rooms are all nicely decorated, with a personal touch. In the beautiful garden you can relax and read in the sun, or you can also sit in the courtyard, under the vines, enjoying a drink in the shade. They have their own bar (again unique, hand picked decoration), where we chatted until late with Leon and some other guests. What makes this place really unique, are the nice hosts, Leon and Denis. They were so welcoming, made us feel at ease and gave us a lot of information about Barrydale and the region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We enjoyed our short stay, but could not believe that in 2011 there are still places that do not accept credit cards.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street. They are nice and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Tradouw Guesthouse is such a delight -- nice rooms set in a beautiful garden; a friendly bar with Leon providing commentary and discussion; a desert field filled with ideas; and the fabulous food from Dennis (and I'm a vegetarian). This is such a nice place to stay that I didn't want to leave and I will go out of my way to return. I highly recommend this stop and stay in Barrydale if you are in the Cape area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We travelled from Knysna in the direction of Franschhoek and needed a stop over along the Road. So by accident we ended up at Leon and Dennis at Barrydale. Such a pitty we couldn't stay longer ........ Both the hosts are so friendly and loving. after checking in we had a drink with them and friends of them in the bar and we heard a lot of fun stories.
The room was in older style but very cosy and facing a beautiful garden and had everything we needed. Leon recommended a meditarian restaurant only two blocks away where we had a perfect meal for very little money. After a good night sleep a wonderfull breakfast was served in the garden in which a lot of details were to be seen.
We felt sorry to say goodbye so soon and will definitely come back if we return on route 62
Thank you so much Leon and Dennis for the great stop-over.
Iris and Paula

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benajarafe, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

During our trip through the Little Karoo we (Joe & Monika) spent two nights in this charming B&B. Leon and Dennis are very friendly hosts and have created a cozy atmosphere. In the garden we watched the weaver birds and relaxed from our long trip. We enjoyed the perfect breakfast in the romantic garden cafe.
We felt very comfortable the whole time.

Room Tip: 2 rooms are facing the wonderful garden and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I were driving through Barrydale on our way to Knysna and found Tradouw Guesthouse on the way. It looked like a decent place to stop and have a quick cup of tea and a bite for lunch and it turned out to be a lovely surprise.

Denis gave us a wonderfully warm welcome! He really couldn't have been nicer and we sat down to a simple and lovely lunch. The outside restaurant with it's beautiful pergola and mural of the western cape on one wall is so charming. It absolutely oozes character! We had quiche and a toasted sandwich with a lovely salad on the side. It's not haute cuisine but it's still delicious and hits the spot! We then had the scones with strawberry jam! MY GOODNESS the BEST scones with cream and jam I've had outside of the UK!

We also then took a little tour of their back garden. Just delightful! My husband and I are both in the landscaping industry and just loved it! Quaint and well laid out. It really did look like the perfect place to kick off your shoes and enjoy the view while sipping on a cuppa and reading a book! Just darling. We've both agreed the next time we're in SA we have to book a room there and stay for a while.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

What can I say?? If you have not been there, you have not yet experienced the best service ever. The warmest fireplace in winter and the coolest river in summer.

I go at least 3 times a year. Valentines being one, my birthday is the other, then just another time because I can. As it is almost time for my birthday again, I will be packing my bags next weekend to go again. Denis makes the bestest Tomato and Cheese sandwich (according to a 20 year old girl - my daughter) I think it is the best place to be and have been going for 10 years almost. I hope there will be another ten more. Pack your bags if you want a real relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Make it a week. You will not be sorry.

Dawn & Jon

Room Tip: Ask for the garden rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradouw Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guesthouse

Address: 46 Van Riebeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guesthouse is a comfortable rustic bed and breakfast. The building dates back to the late 1800s. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 shower en-suite rooms with private entrance four opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two onto a large private landscaped Garden. There is a Guest Lounge with open fire place and a fully Licensed Bar called "McCavitie". Various board games are available including a Patanque court. Relax, unwind and experience our extended gardens accross the road from the guesthouse, find your birth totem in our Native American Red Indian Medicine Wheel Garden and introduce yourself to dear Pricilla our pot bellied pig. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the natural wonders of the Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tradouw Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradouw Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.