We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tswalu Kalahari Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tswalu Kalahari Reserve to your Saves list
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Southern Kalahari | Kuruman, Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve 8460, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you have the chance to go to Tswalu Kalahari Reserve don’t miss it. The Kalahari is a beautiful region, that reserve is amazing, with a lot to see, from suricates to lions, antelopes, white and black rhino…
The lodge is beautiful, staff very good. If you have the chance spend the night under the stars it is worth the experience. They have a platform with beds, shower under a tree….

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
95
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our family arrived at Tswalu (Jan 30th for four nights) after many hours of flying from Toronto and we were not disappointed! This setting is stunning! The service .... meals, towels after safari drives, laundry service etc were all outstanding. The staff really made our stay fantastic by exceeding our expectations. The food was also amazing and we appreciated some flexibility when it came to feeding our kids. Our guide Phil Stephanie and tracker Will were amazing! Phil was so entertaining and my kids loved all the stories and knowledge that he passed on. So many special memories... this trip will not be forgotten and we hope to return! Also special thanks to Phil for helping me make the most of my camera settings...my pictures only improved as our holiday continued! Thanks again to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our visit to Tswalu (the 3rd lodge on our trip) got off to a rather fine start at Jo'Burg when we found that we were the only passengers on the executive plane transfer. The sheer size of the reserve is staggering 90 kms north to south x 60kms east to west.
Others have given fulsome descriptions of the reserve and their experiences, so rather than attempt to describe it over again a few highlights - the lion, the meerkat colony, the dreamlike landscape, the sunsets, sundowners and dinner high in the dunes, breakfast at 'The Lookout' and so much more.
Our guide Jaques was great and knowledgeable company and David our tracker I swear could spot at ant at 100 metres. Thami is warm and outrageous and deserves a TV show. Waiting staff Ernest, Louis, Betty & Rosy made every meal perfect and Stephanie was always warm and engaging.
At these price levels one has fairly high expectations but you will not be disapointed - the entire experience is extremely polished, very relaxing & totally geared to guests' individual wishes and tastes.
Having spent a lifetime in business I know that problems can occur in even the best establishments but it is the recovery that separates the great from the also rans. Early in our stay we encountered a small but important problem but I have so say that Joe (Lodge Manager) dealt with it in a way that not only solved the problem but exceeded our expectations - thank you.
Yes, we would (and I hope will) return

Room Tip: They are all of a wonderful standard and a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having just returned from South Africa, my family will never forget the time we spent at Tswalu. The lodge was beautiful, the staff could not have been more attentive and friendlier and the safari experience was extraordinary from the minute our guide picked us up at the airstrip. Seeing baby lion cubs play was the highlight of all our safari experiences across South Africa. The opportunity for a horseback safari as well as a beautiful walking safari in the desert were all special. Our guide was knowledgeable and highly enthusiastic, engaging the kids completely. The food was excellent as well. I cannot imagine a better venue for family or a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our trip to Tswalu in the Kalahari was the jewel in the crown of a month in South Africa. If you get the chance to go absolutely take it. You will never regret it and the 'tswalu family' will ensure you get memories that will be pure magic. Everything is perfect and nothing is too much effort. My daughter has travelled extensively in Africa for work and pleasure and says its the best safari so far....and she's 30 of them and counting! It's got amazing wow factor and it was truly a privilege to spend time in such a fabulous place. Their dedication to conservation and desire to share it with others is tireless. There really aren't enough superlatives to do it justice but everything is perfect.
Thank you Tswalu for the opportunity to visit such a place. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A truly unforgettable stay. The location is unique, pure wilderness, but the accomodations are gorgeous, the food is great and the service is stellar from start to end.

A marvelous experience! We highly recommend Twsalu.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I recently took an fairly extensive trip to South Africa, and found Tswalu to be the very best of our experiences. The Kalahari Desert location is breathtaking, the lodge incredible, the staff friendly and helpful. Our very knowledgeable guide and tracker were top notch. The emphasis on conservation was an added factor to appreciate. Although it is quite expensive, it is well worth it. Food was great, at the lodge and on the various cookouts.

Room Tip: All rooms are in separate large thatched bungalos looking over a watering hole where wild animals co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tswalu Kalahari Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tswalu Kalahari Reserve

Address: Southern Kalahari | Kuruman, Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve 8460, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tswalu Kalahari Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the luxury and beauty of this magnificent malaria free 100,000ha private game reserve, the focus is on flexibility and privacy, outstanding game viewing, gourmet cuisine, indulgent spa treatments, and getting to do the things you've only ever dreamed about.The uniqueness of the safari experience begins with a flexible itinerary, which allows you to dictate your own programme of games drives, bush walks and horseback safaris; and continues with the interactive game experience. With a dedicated vehicle, tracker and guide, you can tailor your Tswalu safari to include whatever appeals to you.Bond with the meerkats before they go foraging or spend the morning tracking the desert black rhino. Witness the sheer size and power of the Kalahari black maned lion. Experience the magic of star gazing and the thrill of sleeping under the night sky. Indulge in boma feasts and bush dinners, sundowners, wine tastings and dune picnics. And whatever you do, make sure you have enough time to experience it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Escapio so you can book your Tswalu Kalahari Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tswalu Kalahari Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.