We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs Simpson

Mrs Simpson
194 Teding van Berkhout Street, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
0132540088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

mrs Simpson is a must if you are in Dullstroom. food is really super, nice selection of wines as well. service is very good and friendly.

Note you must book as the restaurant is nearly alway booked out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    34
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Grossly overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a break from Egoli and have a restful weekend at Dullstroom's Rose Cottage.

My girlfriend had the lamb shank and I had the Malay Oxtail. Both choices were disappointing for the lack of flavour. They need a chef in the kitchen and not just a cook. We wondered whether the cook tastes the food daily to get a sense of the flavour. Probably not.

The Italian chocolate cake and ice cream was nothing to write home about.

The wine selection was large, but few well known labels.

The table service was simply too fast. As this type if resto one wants to relax and not feel rushed. We had an apéritif and were half way through it when the main course arrived. When we ordered dessert it was there eithin two minutes. Ditto for the cappuccino afterwards.

I woukd describe it as boarding house food at resto prices. Dinner was R550 without having an entrée. We might go back there but not in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“They've still got it....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

As usual, excellent attentive service, delicious food, great atmosphere, awesome wine. Book well in advance, especially over those long weekends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Charming and eccentric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have visited this quirky place twice, the most recent being a lunch stop en route back to Johannesburg from Pilgrim's Rest in November 2012 with a friend visiting from the USA.
I have the feeling that while I thought it might be a fun stop, he didn't share my thoughts. He made no negative comments, but didn't rave.
It was a quiet midweek day, and fairly empty, but the food was tasty and the unusual atmosphere always prevails. It is worth a stop when in Dullstroom, and you can judge for yourself if it suits your tastes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once again, a lovely evening at Mrs Simpson's. Food excellent - the strawberry and feta samoosas for dessert are out of this world! Staff are like family. Stephen and Bryan never fail to impress with the hosting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Simpson also viewed

 
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Mrs Simpson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs Simpson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.