We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunkeld Country Estate

Save Saved
You added Dunkeld Country Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunkeld Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days here as part of a Go Touch Down tour. The hospitality of the entire staff was great. The staff was extra attentive to my wife who had a broken ankle. Thoroughly enjoyed the fire in our room each night. The cook-out with the Gum Boot singer and dancers was a special treat. Recommend a visit if you are on your way to Kruger.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights (Nov 2013) at the Dunkeld Country estate lodge (note that other accommodation options are available - this only applies to the 'lodge' option).

This is NOT a 4 star establishment, and I certainly would not recommend anyone to pay the 4 star rate that they charge. The rooms are not luxurious - cigarette burn in my blanket, very poor finishing in the bathroom, old furniture & carpet and a rather basic breakfast! Worst of all, I arrived in my room and found the toilet dirty (without going into other details, I'll just say that there were yellow urine marks). I informed reception and the toilet was clean when I got back to my room (though I could not help wonder if they cleaned the rest of the bathroom before I arrived). Most of the staff were friendly and at least said I should let them know if they can help with anything. Unfortunately I can not say the same for the managers - they seem not to know how to be friendly to guests.

The surroundings are nice - nice water features with a few ponds, and the views from the hiking trail are amazing.

Lastly, this establishment has a policy to add a 'conservation fee' to your bill (R160 per vehicle at the time). The reception staff confirmed that this is NOT a regulated charge or a government conservation levy, but this is charged by Dunkeld Country Estate. Since this was charged in the name of 'conservation', I asked reception whether Dunkeld Country Estate ever publicly disclose (on the website, or a one page document) how all the collected conservation fees are spent. Response was "No, but it goes to green plants and animals." This struck me as a revenue stunt, all in the name of 'conservation'.

Definitely other places in Dullstroom to offer you much better quality and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a really great long weekend at Dunkeld Country Estate. The location is amazing and sitting in front of a log fire sipping red wine and whisky is something special. Our cottage had a great view down the valley with wild buck and zebra - that's when we could see down the valley because on a few occasions the Dullstroom fog added to the cozy atmosphere.
The entertainment centre was sufficient and the reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the indoor pool was bright, lime green. You could not swim in it. And the staff seemed to be full of excuses.
When the presence of an indoor pool is used as a selling point then it is quite disappointing when you get there and can't actually swim in it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The management of Dunkeld provided firewood and matches for their do-it- yourself heating system. Waking to cold at 2:00 a.m., wrestling with dilapidated fireplace equipment and screens, sustaining a bad burn on my arm and stuffing a towel in the gap between the front doors must have been part of my responsibility for maintaining that heat. Those before us must have been inept fire builders too because the worn and stained carpet had numerous burn holes.

But, alas, the bathroom floor was heated, perhaps we should have slept in the tub. But we are up and ready to face the day, jump in the shower, turn on the hot water, oops no water at all from the hot spigot. Jump out call the manager who has kindly given us a cell phone because the landline is down, something about copper being stollen. He arrives; they forgot to turn on the second tank. Now we are rolling. After breakfast, a buffet for which we were very thankful, because the previous night's dinner had been woefully slow, we were off to Dullstrom which had
been touted as a fine place to shop. It wasn't, but Mrs. Simpson's is a fine restautant there.
After two hours we returned, went on a horse walk for an hour and watched a couple people
fly fish in ponds. The property has a couple zebras and a herd of kudu. We were supposed
to have a guided tour of the Panoramic Route, but it was deemed too windy. Our second night at Dunkeld we opted to eat in the bar which had a little atmosphere, the dining room is devoid of ambiance. The food at Dunkeld was good, the personnel in the wait staff very personable
and helpful. If they would advertise as a rustic lodge, it would be helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff was unfriendly and unhelpfull.We could not eat in the restaurant due to a bring and braai happening there. The staff of the spa was rude when we were not satisfied with the treatments. The chalets are in poor conditions. The carpet is burned due to fire from the fire place. The kitchen is not well equipt and all the knives need sharpening. Terrible experience. Would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This venue is completely overrated.

It looks a lot nicer on the web than it is in real life:

1. Staff were generally unfriendly and unaccommodating (including reception staff).
2. Bedding had cigarette burns in it.
3. Wooden furniture in the chalet was shoddy and worn.
4. There is no shower in the family chalet - just a 3/4 bath (which the hot water ran out after the first bath) - hand shower was too short to hold up as a shower.
5. The bath tap was faulty.
6. We had to request chairs for the outside table - and when they were delivered they were from a completely different set,
7. The front door lock to the chalet was faulty.
8. The heated indoor pool did not work properly - we were told that the heating element had been replaced with one that was too small and could not cope with the cold weather - the logic of this evades me - and it was one of the primary reasons for choosing this venue over others.
9. The lock to the door for the indoor pool was broken - not very safe with children
10. The main pool is not fenced off - not safe for children.
11. The shop does not have card facilities - yet the bar right next door does?
12. The card facilities to the bar were offline !
13. Paint was peeling off of the whole ceiling of the patio at the chalet - and had dropped all over the floor.
14. There were exposed wires / cables in the kitchen.
15. The garden (flower beds) in front of the chalet were scrappy and unkept (and mostly just mud / sand).

Generally the impression is of a venue in disrepair.

It has all of the "ticks" when it comes to family facility - but somehow it just doesn't come together. There is no attention to detail or guest experience at all.

Overall experience was poor, and left the impression of it being over priced for what it delivers versus what it portrays to deliver.

Was told by a restaurant owner in town that lots of other guests were unhappy with the venue as well.

Won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This review is extremely late but maybe it can help!

I stayed here is June of 2008 and I really enjoyed it!

First off, as you drive in the property is similar to a forest, which is great! Immediately you feel relaxed.

We stayed in a self-catering unit just off of the main building and it was very good value for money! The only problem is that it didn't have the greatest kitchen equipment and there is no supermarket in town, which we hadn't anticipated. So if you are planning to take advantage of self-catering I would suggest shopping at home first.

The staffs were good, the bar in the hotel was lovely and cosy and the actual estate was beautiful.

I would definitely stay here again and I would suggest the self-catering units for anyone on a budget who would like to feel as if they are at an upmarket estate.

Room Tip: Self-catering units close to the main hotel are good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunkeld Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld Country Estate

Address: 80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty lodging in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld Country Estate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld Country Estate is a luxury trout-and-game lodge.Situated in the highly sought after town of Dullstroom, the area boasts the spectacular Panorama Route offering magnificent views of remarkable landscapes featuring many breathtaking highlights, including Blyde River Canyon, Echo Caves and Pilgrims Rest.The resort boasts many well-stocked dams filled with Brown, Rainbow and Golden Trout, offering fly-fishermen enthusiasts the enjoyment of quality angling time in pursuit of that perfect catch.The heritage of the estate has been preserved with the conversion of the old farmhouse into a restaurant, which was more than a hundred years old.The Estate consists of a Luxury Lodge which offers 13 spacious rooms as well as 4 private self contained family suites and 20 comfortable self-contained chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Dunkeld Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkeld Country Estate Hotel Dullstroom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunkeld Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.