We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best staff ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Kwazulu-Natal, Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best staff ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had 4 nights at Forrest Lodge being looked after by ranger Mark and tracker Prince.The wildlife is amazing, the food is first class and all the staff are 2nd to none. The accommodation is based in lodges spread throughout the bush and each morning you wake up to animals roaming around your lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
93
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Superb welcome and beautiful Lodge accommodation. Private Lodge with glass walls on three sides, own veranda, minibar, bath, shower and sitting area. We stayed three nights, one night there was bubbly hanging in the trees on our game drive, another a magic barbeque in the bomma with fire pits and fantastic food followed by a hot bath, bubbly and a candlelit bathroom on our return to our Lodge.

Food was excellent with decking overlooking a local waterhole with Impala, Nyala, Duikers and Giraffes wandering through.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and even organised us a picnic to take on our transfer back to Durban airport. Everything was done to go the extra mile.

Game drives were good and we saw all the top five but not as much enthusiasm as we had hoped. The park is large so finding the game is more difficult but at times we felt the guide was on his own agenda rather than ours but he did find some leopard cubs but we spent most of our time looking for leopards when we would have been just as happy seeing more lions, black and white rhinos. elephants etc. However we did see a fabulous group of four Cheetahs lying together and had a wonderful experience following a group of four Lions. There are no guarantees that you will see anything so it may have just been our luck and no way would it stop us going back.

Room Tip: Some Lodges are more private than others- 5 & 6 looked good and I expect there were others but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay and still in awe with such a great place to be. Rooms with glass walls, where you can see antelopes and vervet monkeys. The restaurant is like a gourmet high-end place than a savanah lodge cantina. Rangers are very qualified and knowledgable about animals , plants, trees and the savanah. Service in general is dedicated, corteous and exceed expectations. Unmissable.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just back from 4 days at Phinda Forest Lodge and still full with excitement. The lodge is beautifully situated in a sand forest. It's like walking a beach covered with trees. The rooms are nicely spaced apart so lots of privacy. Decorated modern and with all luxury needed to make your stay pleasant. Well stocked bar on the balcony was a great surprise! Only thing we missed was an outdoor shower or plunge pool. But didn’t spoil the fun or experience. Games viewing was the best ever as well as Martin our ranger the most knowledgeable I’ve been exposed to. The hunt was for the elusive leopard which in 15 years of safaris I had only seen a few times at a distance or skittishly on the move. Well at Phinda we spend 20 minutes almost on top of half sleeping massive male leopard, what a creature! I would go back today if I could….

Room Tip: had 5 with nice deck view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A great break from the rat race of city life. Forest lodge is quiet and tranquil and allows one to just reconnect with nature. The Kwa Zulu Natal weather creates a more humid condition than the typical bushveldt which we found very pleasant. The rooms are luxury and cater fore all you need and the in room yoga massage is a wonderful spoil. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and make your stay memorable in every way. We felt like we were leaving family when we left. Our game ranger Dumi, was very knowledgable and made our every wish come true as we saw all the game we wanted to and the sighting were so unique and special. We were also blown away by the unexpected surprises that were presented through our time for dinners breakfasts and sunsets. May be a bit pricy but well worth the money paid for the spoil. We will most definitely be return visitors.

Room Tip: All the rooms have privacy, some are just further away from the main guest area than others. Our fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What stunning architecture--beautiful cabins hidden among forest with sand paths connecting them. Windows plus for great views onto the meadow. Relaxing seating on our own veranda with well-stocked bar with munchies (must keep cabinets closed so monkeys don't steal). The pool is on the path to the dining/lodge area, but frankly, we could hardly be dragged away from the popular watering hole visible from the dining deck. An amazing variety of animals--wart hogs to baboons--frequented this area.
A very nice shopping store--small--was at the entrance. We had a wonderful nature walk in the sand forest itself between game drives.
Accommodations were exception as we were celebrating a special occasion, we returned to our room one night to find candles lit throughout and a bubble bath drawn for us! That's the level of service to be expected.
It's a fairly short drive from this lodge to the Mountain and Rock properties.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin that fronts the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Phinda Forest Lodge – KwaZulu-Natal
We arrived at the lodge and were welcomed with some nice cold refreshments and hand towels. The lodge suites are scattered throughout a sand forest, so each feels very private. The simple elegance of the rooms contrasts beautifully with the wildness of the wooded forest. The entire suite is sheathed in glass, and surrounds the guests in tranquility. Nyala, petite red duiker, wart hogs, all wove their way outside around the rooms. A pesky elephant came frequently to drink from the pool; it is kept out so it does not destroy the fragile forest and some of the rare trees that live there. This is the largest lodge we stayed at on our safari so it felt very different to us. The meals were more boisterous but fun, although it seemed more challenging to meet guests other than our Rover companions. Fortunately, we had good companions on our drives. We had a surprise brunch in the bush with everyone; the chef and staff managed once again to prepare and present amazing food for us. We really enjoyed the simplicity of the rooms, the walls of glass and the entire lodge experience.
As was true in all of our camps, the care by the staff was exceptional. The night there was a dinner in the boma, my husband was not well enough to attend, so I asked a staff member if someone could bring some soup and rolls to our room. Now, our room was about a quarter mile from the main dining room, but sure enough, soup, rolls and salads for both of us were soon delivered. It seemed as though nothing was too much trouble.
Benson was our guide and provided us with insights, vision and knowledge based on over 20 years at Phinda. He had a delightful philosophy about life, and we appreciated his sharing stories of his life and the customs of the Zulu and their land. With our tracker, he found so much game that I can’t begin to recount it all. Again, because Phinda is a private reserve, we were able to off-road and get quite close to the animals. Two highlights were a mother cheetah and her very young cubs and two cheetah brothers stalking an impala, beginning the chase and moving so fast we couldn’t keep them in sight, but when we rounded some large bushes, there they were, already having killed the impala. Amazing speed! Since one brother had a bad leg and couldn’t travel as fast, the healthier one took the lead and began the kill, while the injured brother arrived and joined him. Great sibling teamwork. This was an interesting time for elephants since the bulls were ready to mate and there were not many females ready. So, we encountered some very frustrated bulls on our drives and Benson knew not to get too close to them. We encountered a couple of lions and a freshly killed nyala and saw some vervet monkeys playing and eating berries around the lodge. I guess they are a true nuisance, but I rather like them. We did see the big 5 a couple of days as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in #14, about 1/4 mile from the main area on a sand path. If walking is difficult, I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge

Address: Kwazulu-Natal, Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of a rare and beautiful dry sand forest, the award-winning Forest Lodge fuses architecture and conservation. The lodge was hand built by local artisans, with a minimal footprint on the forest floor – not one tree was felled during construction. An exquisite contradiction, floor-to-ceiling glass walls invite the forest inside, while the dense tree canopy shelters and provides privacy. Floating on stilts above the forest floor while dainty suni graze below, the 16 Zulu Zen suites blend harmoniously into the dappled shade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phinda Forest Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.