We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional! Just...WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional! Just...WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

You honestly cannot fault Phinda Mountain Lodge. The Lodge is just as breathtaking as the wildlife. From the second the staff pick you up from the airport, to the minute they farewell you, the staff at Phinda were simply gracious, friendly and so helpful - just beautiful! The breathtaking scenery and decor of Mountain Lodge is second to none, and the food is outstanding. I enjoyed every single second of my stay here and often dream about returning. My favourite holiday yet!!! Book with confidence...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: The lodge is unfenced, so if you find this unnerving, be sure to request a room close to the Boma di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I took a 3 day break in Phinda and stayed at Mountain Lodge and Forrest Lodge.

Mountain Lodge was just superb - Thee staff were amazing helpful and friendly. The game drives were great - I managed to see all Big 5 within my72 hour stay!!

The rooms were incredible - Great finishings, beautifully constructed, refreshing plunge pool, all bathrooms and facilities were top spec.

Food was great also - Again, all staff were just very attentive and friendly, which added to the whole experience.

I got the impression that &Beyond literally go that extra step to ensure that EVERY guest has a amazing time.

Thank you to all that made my stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASTER
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the most amazing of all the safari lodges I have visited. Paolo, our guide was so passionate and knowledgable. He brought everything to life and breathed enthusiasm in to every piece of information. He took the time to learn what we wanted to gain from our safari. He set out a tutorial in the evening to help my brother with his photography and allow us time on the drive to get the right shot. He was warm, friendly and super accommodating.
The lodges were sumptuous, luxurious and clean. The staff friendly and keen. My only slightly negative was the meals could have been served a little more speedily and the waiters could have been more attentive to individual needs. All in all the best safari I have EVER been on. I can not recommend it more highly. We saw as many animals as we could possibly fit in to the daylight hours and in to dusk. The trainee guides are also very keen to help and educate.
G & T on the mountain top looking down over a cheetah mum and two cubs whilst watching the sunset- perfect.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We were there at the mountain lodge with a large group of cruise passengers for a all too brief one day. Oh and it rained the entire time we were there. Yet, they did it, they made me fall in love with Africa. The animals were breathtaking, the food outstanding and the staff extraordinary. The lodge and cottages were first rate even though we did not get a chance to have the whole experience. Above all was our ranger Edward and his tracker.... We had an elderly woman, wheelchair bound, and Edward lifted her in and out of the vehicle, made sure her poncho was on her and wrapped her up in blankets. He even went so far as to help her take pictures of the extraordinary things we were viewing. Way above and beyond!
I am saving up for my return, hopefully, next year. Thank you Phinda for the best of your world.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We only stayed one night at Phinda (pronounced Pinda) Mountain Lodge, so I can't give a full report about it. We arrived, after driving from Phinda Forest Lodge, in time to settle into our room before going out for the afternoon game drive.

The room was very big, and the bathroom was huge, also. There is a deck with 2 lounge chairs, and a very deep plunge pool. It was so deep, we couldn't touch bottom, so we always sat on the steps when we went in. Our room was close to the main lodge (as we had requested), and seemed to always have nyalas and warthogs around during daylight hours. The room was very private, as no other rooms could be seen.

After a bit of lunch, we went on our game drive with the very knowledgeable drive Darryn, and the tracker Sifoso. Since the resort was not crowded (we never even saw any children), we were the only guests in our vehicle. We immediately saw a leopard, and then went on to see many other animals.

Much time was spent trying to find some lions near the airstrip, but we were ultimately unsuccessful. Having seen many lions before, this was not a bitter disappointment for us, and the process of trying to track them down was fascinating to observe. They even got out of the Land Rover and went in on foot, with a gun, a machete, and a stick for protection, to try and find them.

Later, we tried to catch up with some fast moving elephants, but it was getting dark, and we didn't see them before we moved on to observe a hyena and her 2 cubs at their den. Following this, we had dinner in the bush, with many lanterns to light the area, including the toilet.

The next day we were up at 5 for our morning game drive at 5:30. (Game drives start early in the African summer). This drive was more successful, as we found elephants (or more correctly, he found us), a black rhino, and in view at the same time, white rhino. We even discovered an African Rock Python. As always, Darryn was incredibly knowledgeable about what we were seeing and hearing.

We would go back to Mountain Lodge again, if we get a chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed with local friends over the weekend at Phinda Mountain Lodge. Service and food is great, staff is very friendly and helpful. The final breakfast in the bush was an unforgettable experience. We had great rangers who gave us a beautiful view on cheetah and hyena cubs! Very pleasant and luxury trip that makes your stay even more comfortable!
Don't forget to close your windows in your villa otherwise the baboons steal your fudge from the desk :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had never been on a safari holiday before and because it's expensive we did a lot of research. We ended up choosing Phinda and we're extremely pleased we did so as it would be hard to imagine having a better all-round experience. First of all the welcome was very friendly and professional with our greeter ready and waiting for us at the car drop-off point having been alerted by the main gate. A small thing maybe, but how few hotels get these basics right... Secondly our cabin was lovely and luxurious. Some may prefer one with more open views but we were more than happy with the seclusion afforded by the trees - we even used the inside/outside shower! Thirdly the dining area had a lovely view across the vlei with animals roaming both near and far, plus delicious food. Fourthly, (and we hadn't appreciated how important this would be) we had an excellent ranger, Devon Myers and tracker Nkisa, plus congenial company in the vehicle. We didn't go with a 'big five' shopping list and liked the informal style of the drives without vehicles scrumming around a sighting, but nonetheless we saw many different varieties of animals, birds, insects, trees and plants. Devon was very knowledgeable about all of these and we were especially impressed by his imitations of bird calls! Some may have a preference for a completely open space across which wildlife can roam, and one can respect that purist stance, but Phinda is a pretty good compromise with the perimeter roads and fences being relatively unobtrusive and containing vast acreages. Interesting to learn that Tara and Jessica Getty are major supporters of Phinda and maybe that accounts in part for the exceptional quality encountered everywhere. http://raisingtheroof.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/04/08/snapshot-private-safari-homes-in-south-africa/ We met a number of other guests who were clearly safari connoisseurs on repeat visits and that's some recommendation. Our travel agency Imagine Africa also deserve praise - they did a great job for us throughout our recent trip: http://www.imagineafrica.co.uk/

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin amongst the trees at Phinda Forest Lodge and loved it, but another couple we me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wraparound views of the ancient Ubombo mountain range, Mountain Lodge balances itself majestically above its panoramic surroundings. The 25 suites scattered along the mountainside offer complete privacy and luxury. There’s no end to the choice of taking in the view – spacious verandas with private plunge pools and layered guest areas each provide their own magnificent outlook. Delicious Pan African meals are enjoyed in the dramatic stone and reed boma, lit by the warm glow of dozens of candles and lanterns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Mountain Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.