We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp
D1849, Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was hesitant to book this location because I couldn't really find much out about it - but I can tell you it was fantastic. If you are looking for a beautiful beach, great diving, wonderful accomodations and people, this is it. Regardless of whether you are a honeymooner (plenty of romance, quiet and seclusion) or on a family trip (traveled with an 11 year old) there was plenty to do and plenty to see. We spent almost a month in Africa visiting other destinations and this was a highlight! I would return in a nanosecond. Gary and Ellen were fantastic camp managers and Mokkoran Dive center was incredible. We scuba'd and petted a giant grouper, swam with dolphins and turtles in their own habitat (not in some pretend boxed in area). Spent hours on the beach fighting waves and chasing crabs. It was an AMAZING trip and an experience I will never forget. Only hope I can get back again someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights coming from Mozambique with our son (9 years). I went scuba diving, snorkling and was lucky enough to swim with the dolphins (very rare) and had a very good massage. Lodge is in contemporary style, nice spacious rooms, lots of privacy and personel was very friendly and helpful. The food was very good, lots of dishes with new creations and not main stream at all. For one of the guests that could only eat gluten free, they backed special bread and prepared separate gluten free dishes. Chapeau!
The lodge is situated a 15 min. walk from the beach and not directly on the beach itself and eco friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Superb four days at Rocktail Beach Camp. Gary and Ellen couldn't have been more helpful and organised our days so that we were fully occupied; snorkelling, walking, visiting the crocodiles at a spectacular lake and spotting hump-back whales from a fast RIB - even swimming with them!
The tented accommodation was very private, beautifully fitted out and comfortable with great views across the forest to the sea. Watching the monkeys from our terrace was great fun. Food and drink was excellent - plenty of it, varied, very well cooked and presented. MB our guide and driver was informative, very considerate and great fun. All the staff had a ready smile and were quick and willing to help. Pretty close to paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rocktail bay beach camp is an awesome place!! From the moment you leave your car and get picked up promptly, in the jeep which takes you where your car can't travel, you know you're going to have a great time!! The guide points out lots of interesting things and creatures on the way and be prepared for a bumpy but fun journey (when you need warm clothes if its winter......we went in June 2013).
When you arrive you're given a talk and a drink and then shown to your tent.........more like glamping than camping though!!! It's a well equipped tent decorated brilliantly with everything you need, and very clean and tidy, with a lovely welcome note!

When we went to the beach we were gobsmacked!! Totally gorgeous, amazing for running down sand dunes, relaxing with a book, boogie boarding or for a lovely quiet walk!! We were on our own for the whole time we spent there and we said no one would believe we'd had it to ourselves all day!! Lunch was also brought to us on the beach and again we were gobsmacked.......fresh fruit and salad, freshly made quiche and chicken and lots more......all for a fantastic price.......and all served on a table on the beach!! Brilliant!!

Our group consisted of 2 adults and 3 children aged 9, 11 and 13 and it suited them all. The managers were fantastic, organising films for them to watch at night and making sure they were well stocked with popcorn!!

The trips from the camp were good fun, especially LaLa Neck, and the pool, although cold when we went in the winter, was lovely!!

The managers were extremely friendly and helpful, but not overbearing at all and the staff were smiley and courteous, especially GuGu who was brilliant!!

The food was great and they went out of their way to accommodate vegetarians and food allergies in our group. All in all we had a fantastic visit and would highly recommend it to everyone!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are far away from each other so no problems with noise etc.......not sure if tents up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just spent 3 days at Rocktail Bay, couldn't have been made to feel more welcome from beginning to end. All the staff were excellent and went out of their way to go the extra mile. The Indian ocean in winter was very warm, but the breakers did dump so you needed to be careful. We saw a hippo in the lake and sadly didn't go on the whale trip as it was too rough. We saw a Gabon Adder, as thick as my thigh! The food was good and wine good value. having spent 2 weeks prior in S. Africa, the friendliness of all the staff was exemplary and that was off a very high base. thoroughly recommended. Going to sleep with the sound of the ocean is still ringing in my ears. Transfer from Coastal Cashews is recommended in the winter as the road does get skiddy after rain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place had been on my 'bucket list' for some time so I was very pleased to finally visit in April with the entire family from The Netherlands. The weather wasn't great so I was a bit worried about the 40 minute four wheel drive with my 8 months old baby. No need to worry though. Our driver was so attentive, pleasant and professional, Rosie was just smiling at him the whole way :).
Rocktail Beach Camp is a wonderful place for a family holiday. We only stayed 2 nights which is too short for the amount of activities on offer. You will experience true Zulu hospitality which is one of its kind. The first afternoon we went down to the endless unspoilt beach which is about a 15 minute walk. A welcome exercise after all the driving we did. The next day we took a trip with our driver through the rural villages and he explained all about living in the rural areas. Just a humbling experience. The food was very good and a babysitter was quickly arranged by camp management when they noted that I was about to stay in my tent for dinner. The cherry on the cake was the cute baby bath they put in my shower. Rosie had a bath with a view of the beautiful coastal forest.
On our day of departure we had to leave very early to catch our flight from Durban. Again, all staff was ready and helpful early in the morning and we even could have a quick cup of coffee. The only regret I have, is that we didn't stay 2 nights longer. A magical place to recommend to my clients.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the hill have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed five nights with our four adult daughters and a couple of their partners. Arrival is interesting with a 40 minute four wheel drive through the eucalyptus plantations with the odd stop for advice on the local flora and their medical uses- quite fascinating.

The tents are well equipped and have some lovely views particularly if you choose one of the ones higher up the hill. More practical than glamorous but loads of hot water and great showers plus 24 hour electric.

The welcome was terrific and the staff so friendly and helpful- they could not do enough to help.

The beach is a good 20 minute walk but is amazing and stretches for miles, terrific surf and little undertow. Two of us went diving and the rest did an ocean safari. Amazing experience with the humpback whales rising around us and diving underneath. Everyone baled out with snorkels and watched the whales 10m below- a one off lifetime experience...wow!

The food was great, good quality and plenty of it. The camp manager was so helpful and sorted us out when one of us was sick and had antibiotics brought in.

One day we had a trip to the local beach Lala Nec with a picnic and some snorkelling- all to ourselves a truly fabulous experience. This must be one of the worlds greatest wilderness beach experiences.

This is more a family, beach and wildlife experience than a luxury or romantic location but don't miss it!

Thanks to all the team at Rocktail for an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Go for the higher numbers if you want the best views. You may get some animal noises at night from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp

Address: D1849, Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for fun, adventure and a place to put your feet up then you're heading to the right place. Rocktail Beach Camp, beautifully set within a lush region of forested dunes, is the launch pad to some of the most beautiful beaches and pristine coral reefs in the world. What's more, Rocktail has exclusive access to this area! Your charmingly rustic en-suite accommodation is hidden within the tropical shade of this woodland sanctuary and only a short walk from the main area which includes a dining room, lounge with a large wraparound veranda, children's playroom and swimming pool. With extraordinary diving and snorkelling, turtle encounters and other beach activities this breathtaking ecosystem is waiting to be explored. Did you know? Rocktail closes for a short period each year to host Children in the Wilderness camps - a programme dedicated to helping local children build life skills and a love for the environment. Coastal forest interspersed with grasslands and waterberry/palm savannah side by side with pristine beaches characterise Rocktail. Unspoiled reefs form part of the protected Maputaland Marine Reserve. As well as diving, snorkelling and seasonal turtle excursions, we offer cultural visits, guided walks (on request) and quad biking. Considered one of the best dive sites in the world, whales, dolphins and sharks are found here, while the smaller critters include butterflyfish, clown triggerfish, surgeonfish, fire-goby and scissortail. Birding is outstanding, with a number of special coastal forest species. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocktail Beach Camp Hotel Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp South Africa/Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Beach Camp to your Saves list