We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sipapu Ski Area

Sipapu Ski Area
5224 Highway 518, Route Box 29, Vadito, NM 87579
800-587-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Vadito
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Mexico’s fastest growing resort, Sipapu is home to the state's longest ski season and the best deals in the Rockies. Surrounded by the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and Carson National Forest, the resort has over 40 trails, five lifts and three terrain parks. On-site amenities include slopeside lodging, a full-service ski shop, ski school and New Mexico's best riverside dining experience.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sipapu is a good ski mountain with slopes for everyone from a beginner to advanced. My kids learned to ski at Sipapu and ask to return each year. We have been fortunate to have good snow every year. The prices are good and the staff is very friendly and responsive. Skip the big mountain and enjoy family friendly Sipapu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun spring skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I didn't want to go to Sipapu, but my husband insisted. This time, I'm glad I listened to him. We had so much fun, and for warm spring snow conditions, they did a good job keeping the mountain groomed and easy to ski. We're coming back next year and bringing the family, and friends!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Family Memory Builder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Unbelievable prices, Unbelievable snow conditions, Mountain crews keep mountain groomed and in tip top condition!! gone to other, bigger, more expensive mountains and would rather ski here

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good value! The kids loved the slopes. They were a little narrow for my liking and the bunny slope is steep. But you can't beat the fact that even on Spring Break there was hardly no lift lines.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sipapu is a nice little ski area with short lift lines. It is a short walk from the parking lot to the lift. it is easy to keep track of people in your group/kids. It is a great place to sharpen beginner to intermediate ski skills. I ski bike and this resort is very ski bike friendly. On this trip the weather was on the warm side and the snow was a little icy; however considering the weather the snow conditions the snow conditions very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipapu Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Sipapu Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipapu Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.