We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Tucumcari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Tucumcari to your Saves list
Days Inn Tucumcari
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2623 South First St./I-40, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“O.K. stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Days Inn was a decent stay. We had a 2nd floor room that was a inconvinience because we had to carry our lugguage up the stairs (no elevator). It was neat that you could enter your room from the hallway or enter the other door from the outside. No complaints about the service or our room. And the location and view from Days Inn was nice. close to hwy 40 and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    97
    50
    14
    4
See reviews for
79
82
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This place could be nice with some repairs. I rated this place as poor because there wasn't anything between that and average. Seems to be people living there permanently like it was an apartment building.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Not one of the great motels since it lacks the advertised air con. and internet facilty. But breakfast provision is generous – and is generously timed, too, from 5.00am to 9.30am. Also, the welcoming smile and greeting I received on arrival went a long way towards making me feel comfortable 4,000 miles away from home and, of course, inclined to make this favourable comment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Our family of five spent one night at this motel. Although we had paid online for our room, we were charged an extra $10.00, bringing the total to about $85.00. The interior of this place has a strong unpleasant odor, and the apple juice offered at breakfast was spoiled, actually fermenting! Surely you can do better. We won't stay there again, it was the worst Days Inn we have visited.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Staff was pleasant, hotel is just off i-40 in the small town of Tucumcari in eastern New Mexico, nothing much here but a few fast food restaurants, gas stations, and a couple hotels. If driving through and need a place to sleep over night, this place is just fine. Not much more than that though.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthShore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

Clean , average Days Inn room but smaller bathroom. Wifi, very weak signal.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We had spent the holidays in Oklahoma and were driving home to Albuquerque when we were held up by a winter storm. We had spent the previous night in Amarillo. Snow, ice, and road closures limited the next day's travel to less than 100 miles in 6 hours.

Early in the day, it became apparent we may not make it from Amarillo to Albuquerque. We began phoning hotels in Tucumcari. All were booked but the Days Inn where we were able to reserve a room.

When we arrived, we were thrilled that we truly did have a room. The hotel could have very easily given our room away to any of the hundreds of travelers that were also stranded and in need of lodging. The couple operating the front desk were very pleasant in spite of the stressful situation of the storm. We were given the non-smoking room we had reserved by phone.

This property is definitely dated, as are most properties in Tucumcari. From outside appearances, the two hotels that seem the newest are the Hampton Inn and Microtel Inn. While I was grateful to have a room, I was concerned about what condition the room would be in.

We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, well-maintained room. Furniture was dated, but the bed was comfortable with clean sheets. The bathroom was spotless--including a new bathtub/shower and new shower curtain.

The wall unit heat/ac did a good job of keeping us warm.

We had only two complaints: the walls and ceilings are threadbare. We heard every noise made by other guests. It was very difficult to sleep through the night. The rate supposedly included a continental breakfast. On New Year's Day, we appeared in the breakfast area a bit before 9:00 to find a staff member putting away the last of the breakfast food. I asked if we could still have breakfast, and she said she had been serving breakfast since 4:30 and it was time to put it away. She was incredibly rude--quite the opposite of the staff we had met the previous evening.

In a bad situation, this hotel turned out to be a gem. Better to have heard the other guests all night rather than to have been stranded in our car on I-40.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tucumcari

Address: 2623 South First St./I-40, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Tucumcari 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucumcari Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.