We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but a little Disageeable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pow Wow Inn

Save Saved
You added Pow Wow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pow Wow Inn
801 West Tucumcari Boulevard, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
durant ok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun but a little Disageeable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Pow Wow Inn for the nostalgia, but the Blue Swallow is a much better bet. The pricing is good, but there is a reason for that. Not too clean or comfortable. We probably won't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is not plush but it is clean and very comfortable. My sister and I enjoyed our stay there. We loved the courtyard. The young people running the motel were very friendly and accommodating, handling our requests in a polite and swift manner. We would most definitely stay here again. From reading previous negative reviews of this motel, we feel it must be under new management and encourage you to give it a try. It is quaint and atmospheric and it was fun to stay here. Patsy and Phyllis Crawford from Missouri.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been staying at the Pow Wow Inn every year for the past 5 years. They have recently changed owners, we won't be back the rooms are filthy, hair dryer didn't work, half used shampoo bottles in the bathroom. Very disapponting!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonopah, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Asian front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. We were merely looking for a pet-friendly, cheap hotel and this fit the bill. However, the carpeting was old and needing replacement and the toilet didn't flush correctly. I would rate it 'below-average' if it weren't for the lovely young lady up front who also had the housekeeping responsibilities. The adjoining 'Lizard Lounge' is a comfortable place to eat. This hotel has so much potential! It was quiet (almost deserted) and for the price, acceptable for this weary couple & their critters. If the owners read this review....give the hard-working lady up front a raise! :-)

Room Tip: The parking for our room was in the deserted looking back of the property. When we first arrived 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Route 66 trip. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The pricing wasn't too bad for what was on offer. It's the sorry of hotel that's good for a stay on route but not a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was on a cross country drive alone so I wanted a place to just lay my head for the night. I chose the pow wow inn over the chains as I wanted to see what a rustic old Route 66 motel would be like. I didn't have any reservations but my room was only about $40. Okay - the room was odd with a door to the parking lot and one to the other side where the pool was.

The stay was fine and the wi-fi worked fine - I was able to watch a couple of movies online with no issues. I think I was almost the only one staying at the hotel as the parking lots were empty. The grounds are in desperate need of repair - the photos you see online were taken when the place was in better condition. The pool was empty and looked like it needed repair before they would be able to open it. The grounds hand't been mowed for some time and only half the lights in the parking lot worked at night.

I wouldnt recommend the hotel to families or single women - just a little too high risk with noone else there and the grounds being very dark at night.

Room Tip: Stay close to the office so your wi fi works better and you feel a little more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

They charge your card a different amount
Than rate. No heat, space heater, no English! You need to speak chinese ?, no movie channels- we are reporting to BBB for fraudulant charges and fire department for no heat and space heater

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pow Wow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pow Wow Inn

Address: 801 West Tucumcari Boulevard, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Pow Wow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pow Wow Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pow Wow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;