We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location w Restaurants near by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location w Restaurants near by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is always a great hotel to stay at close to restaurants, gas and the freeway. The breakfast here is really good -- much better than the Holiday Inn Express & Hampton generic breakfasts. It is well maintained. I also feel much safer staying in the smaller towns like Tucumcari rather than the big towns like Amarillo and Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    51
    26
    9
See reviews for
86
108
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in about 8:30 on 4th of July. Easy check in, very friendly staff and they even gave us a room facing the towns fireworks show. That was an added treat! Breakfast was the best on our 14 day trip. Beds and shower were great. Would stay here again if I were passing through. How can you pass up all the historic "Tucumcari Tonite" signs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stay at Best Western whenever possible and were sadly disappointed with the Tumcumcari property.. The non smoking room we requested stunk of tobacco. When we brought this to the attention of the desk clerk he was non sympathetic and said he could not help what previous guests had done. He also said our room was " previously" a smoking room. I told him guests should be informed of that fact when they checked in because of allergies and sensitivity to tobacco. I spent a restless and miserable night. This location lacks staff with customer service skills and rooms that do not meet Best Western standards in our opinion. Breakfast was marginal and not up to what other locations offer. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked in advance the non smoking roll in shower accessible room. When we checked in we were told oh sorry, the last guest smoked so here is some room freshener. In fairness we were given $10 of the room rate, but this room has been smoked in for years. It reeked! Would ever stay here again, it was beyond nauseating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel decor was a lot nicer than expected in little Tucumcari, NM. The room was great and very clean. I recommend this hotel highly. The entire hotel is non smoking. The free breakfast had a great variety and the room was also very clean. It is conveniently located off the interstate and the gas station near it (it has a Subway) has decent coffee.

Room Tip: This hotel fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Right off of I-40, a little pricey for what it is, but the room was clean, well furnished and roomy. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. They also were very helpful in pointing out where to eat, what was open and overall very knowelgable of the area. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After driving from California with our destination being Dallas TX., I thought I would bed down in NM for the night. I happened to feel the road fatique just as I entered into the town of Tucumcari. Right off the 40 freeway I pulled into the Best Western Discovery Inn. I was with my wife and father-in-law who is wheelchair bound. At that time of night we were able to get a 1st floor room with double beds. We weren't looking for anything fancy, just a place to lay ours heads for the evening. The price was just right and the room was spotless clean. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to get a great night of sleep. The next morning we sampled their delicious breakfast fare. That gave us enough energy to make it to Dallas by that afternoon. The Best Western Discovery Inn in Tuccumcari, New Mexico was a welcomed surprise and the next time I drive to Dallas I'll be sure to chart this hotel as my first stop destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Address: 200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Discovery Hotel Tucumcari
Best Western Tucumcari
Tucumcari Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.