We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location w Restaurants near by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Tucumcari
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location w Restaurants near by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is always a great hotel to stay at close to restaurants, gas and the freeway. The breakfast here is really good -- much better than the Holiday Inn Express & Hampton generic breakfasts. It is well maintained. I also feel much safer staying in the smaller towns like Tucumcari rather than the big towns like Amarillo and Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
51
46
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We checked in about 8:30 on 4th of July. Easy check in, very friendly staff and they even gave us a room facing the towns fireworks show. That was an added treat! Breakfast was the best on our 14 day trip. Beds and shower were great. Would stay here again if I were passing through. How can you pass up all the historic "Tucumcari Tonite" signs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stay at Best Western whenever possible and were sadly disappointed with the Tumcumcari property.. The non smoking room we requested stunk of tobacco. When we brought this to the attention of the desk clerk he was non sympathetic and said he could not help what previous guests had done. He also said our room was " previously" a smoking room. I told him guests should be informed of that fact when they checked in because of allergies and sensitivity to tobacco. I spent a restless and miserable night. This location lacks staff with customer service skills and rooms that do not meet Best Western standards in our opinion. Breakfast was marginal and not up to what other locations offer. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked in advance the non smoking roll in shower accessible room. When we checked in we were told oh sorry, the last guest smoked so here is some room freshener. In fairness we were given $10 of the room rate, but this room has been smoked in for years. It reeked! Would ever stay here again, it was beyond nauseating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel decor was a lot nicer than expected in little Tucumcari, NM. The room was great and very clean. I recommend this hotel highly. The entire hotel is non smoking. The free breakfast had a great variety and the room was also very clean. It is conveniently located off the interstate and the gas station near it (it has a Subway) has decent coffee.

Room Tip: This hotel fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Right off of I-40, a little pricey for what it is, but the room was clean, well furnished and roomy. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. They also were very helpful in pointing out where to eat, what was open and overall very knowelgable of the area. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After driving from California with our destination being Dallas TX., I thought I would bed down in NM for the night. I happened to feel the road fatique just as I entered into the town of Tucumcari. Right off the 40 freeway I pulled into the Best Western Discovery Inn. I was with my wife and father-in-law who is wheelchair bound. At that time of night we were able to get a 1st floor room with double beds. We weren't looking for anything fancy, just a place to lay ours heads for the evening. The price was just right and the room was spotless clean. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to get a great night of sleep. The next morning we sampled their delicious breakfast fare. That gave us enough energy to make it to Dallas by that afternoon. The Best Western Discovery Inn in Tuccumcari, New Mexico was a welcomed surprise and the next time I drive to Dallas I'll be sure to chart this hotel as my first stop destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Address: 200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Discovery Hotel Tucumcari
Best Western Tucumcari
Tucumcari Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.