We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop at end of long day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Tucumcari
northern california
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Stop at end of long day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Had a nice room, restaurant on property was convenient. Room was nice, clean and provided us what we needed. Location is good, right off the highway, but room was quient and we didin't get highway noise. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    36
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
53
46
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Traveling on the road can be tiring, but we came across this older, but remodeled
very clean and stylish hotel. It was a good choice for us, as we enjoyed the clean
larger room, good TV, free wifi, comfortable bed with good quality sheets, clean bathroom,
good quality towels, etc. We felt right at home, very relaxing. Nice new modern decor, very styish and make for a comfortable stay. Could hear some voices on TV
through the wall of neighbor but it was not an issue. Noticed many snowbirds selected
this hotel while on the road. AC/Heat unit was a little loud, but doable.
Location was good, right off the interstate, could park infront of your hotel door which is nice,
as well as the wonderful breakfast that is included in hotel rate. A better than average breakfast with omlettes, sausage, hashbrowns, potatoes, pastries, cereal, hot oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, juices, coffee, teas and other items. Tables cleaned and replenished food items promptly by two ladies. Easy check-in and check-out.
Able to walk to K-Bob Steakhouse Restaurant next door, which is fairly good for typical meal and salad.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room was very large - I've had smaller apartments when I was single. The room was quite and comfortable. There is a steak restaurant next door, a McDonald's near, and I had a great cheese and green chili burger. The hotel is easy to get to and easy back on the highway, but there was no highway noise.
Met the owner at breakfast- very nice people who were eager to show off their property. The owers and the manager made the overnight stay enjoyable.
Nice hotel and enjoyable staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired Traveler
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Older motel, but clean with large rooms. It is just off the freeway. Nice exercise room with weight machine. Free hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in a 2-week period for a total of 5 days. This was a great hotel in a small New Mexico town. The room(s) were very clean and roomy. Each time we came, although the outside temperatures were above 100, the rooms greeted us with cool air! So nice to come into the room! The breakfast is served near the check in area and was nicely handled by two ladies that kept the coffee coming and food neat and full. We have stayed at 2 other hotels in Tucumcari in the past and would not return to them as this one was perfect! Best hotel within 30 miles of Conchas Lake/Dam area. There is a K-Bobs restaurant right in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This was a great hotel for the price. Room was comfortable and clean. Nice to find a good hotel in a more out-of-the way place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

A fine place to stay while passing through Tucumcari.

The room was your typical motel layout, with two double beds, TV, bathroom, etc. It is just off I-40, along with several other motel properties; we picked this because when we called ahead from our cell phone, they said they had a ground floor room available (which was important with all our luggage and Christmas packages) at a decent rate.

We slept very well; in fact, we woke up too late to take advantage of any breakfast offering, so can't comment on that. However, if we were needing a place to stay in Tucumcari again, we'd be happy to stay here.

Tucumcari itself was a bit odd: clearly still alive but with many vacant lots and old abandoned Route 66 motels in the center of town. There is some kind of civic art project to paint murals on city buildings; we got a map in the hotel lobby and spent an hour or so driving around town to check them out before moving on towards Texas. Some are very interesting and creative, we recommend it if you have the time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Address: 200 E. Estrella, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Discovery Hotel Tucumcari
Best Western Tucumcari
Tucumcari Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.