We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions are hard to shake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tucumari Inn

Tucumari Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tucumari Inn
Save Saved
You added Tucumari Inn to your Saves list
1700 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“First impressions are hard to shake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I’ve stayed at this location a few times before and have reviewed it before in Feb, 2011.

But tonight when I went to unlock the door with the old fashioned key, the door pushed open, it wasn’t latched. And the first light I turned on looked like the light from a 15 watt bulb. The door did close and lock, it just took a really good slam. Buy then I had an uneasy feeling that I just couldn’t shake.

HOWEVER, everything was clean, quiet and the water was hot … right away.

The sink, toilet and tub were all fairly new and clean, no dirt, no chips, no water stains. The sheets are old and maybe not even the right size for this bed, but they were clean.
Over the next week I have stayed at $100 a night motels that have had water stains on the tub, paint ‘bumps’ in the sink, 15 watt lights and a tub that wouldn’t drain. Those things all make this place look pretty good.

The Tucumcari Inn also has food next door something the east end motels no longer have now that Denny’s moved to the Flying J. Big rig parking is where you find it here, lots of open space.

The sign out front says ‘American Owned,’ the sign at the motel next door says ‘Genuine American Owned’ and is $34. The Tucumcari Inn has dropped it’s price from $26 in 2006, to $25 in 2010 and now $24 in 2013.

This is one of the few towns where the old motels haven’t been dozed to drive up the prices for the major chains. The number of motels is going down and most prices are going up, but there is still one motel for under $20, five more for less than $30 plus another 10 old motels that are not posting prices.

Sorry, no photo’s from any of the four motels from this trip. Someday when I have a smaller rig, I am going to stop and take pictures of the dozen old motels in this town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Room was clean and cheap. Everything worked but swimming pool was not working...plus was on the side of a main road so wouldn't have wanted to use it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The primary issue I had was the fact that they double charged my credit card. I called, and through one hang up, and a second call, finally understood that the woman (they're from India and speak broken English) was telling me that they had returned the second charge. Interestingly, she "knew" that the charge had been returned, this a week later, yet she had no idea who I was, nor when I stayed. The charge was not returned, so entering a dispute with my bank.

You get what you pay for, the beds were ok, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet, and the toilet needed a new flush valve. I'd have been ok with it for two adults and one child at $43, but not so much at $86.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Couldn't believe I got a decent room for $30 a night including taxes!! I work in Northeastern New Mexico a lot and this place will get my business again. No silver spoons, no mint on the pillow, no silk sheets, just a room that was clean enough to sleep in until work the follwing day and all at a price that will bring me back again. I didn't think in this day and age where motels want $50 a night and up that bargains like this were available anymore, what a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, OK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We thought we were going to tent, but decided instead to opt for a hotel.

The positive:
My wife and I got a hotel room for less than $30. Check in was quick.

The rest of the story...
Clerk would not accept my credit card - said their credit card machine was not working. Room smelled poorly. Bed was rock hard - and this comes from someone who backpacks and sleeps on the ground a lot. Pillows were flat. Bottom sheet on bed was not fitted, and after a night of rolling around on a hard bed, was completely untucked leaving us sleeping on the mattress. Heat/AC unit was very loud. Light in the bathroom only flickered and never would come completely on. Didn't try shower or bathtub.

However, I was most intrigued by the bathroom fixtures. I've never seen a purple toilet or bathtub before. And the use of a white toilet seat on the purple toilet is a style that I'm sure will catch on. I've noted it here so that after Martha Stewart steals the idea, we'll all know where it came from.

Overall, next time I'm in Tucumcari, I'll pay a little more somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

(To put the review in context) Tonight I was looking for the $15 motel I had seen in Tucumcari in the past, but things have changed in the last six months. There were no (open) motels for under $20, there used to be at least three. A couple of the motels no longer had prices posted and look like they have gone to ‘monthly rates.’ Four other motels have closed since my last trip through so there is less competition. I did see three other motels for less than the $25 I paid here.

The room was clean, the water was hot, the room was warm ... that's all I need. Plus FREE WiFi. And a block from the Rockin' Y's Roadhouse (food).

The room is basic, no frills so I was trying to think of what to post and started comparing it to other resent motels.

WiFi - The night before I stayed here, I paid $50 for a room and their WiFi didn't work most of the time. The night after I stayed here I paid $35 and they wanted another $5 to connect to their WiFi
Hot Water - I recently paid $70 for a room where it took 15 minutes to get hot water.
Heat - I've paid $50 for motels where either the heat was either on/off (no controls) or the gap around the door was so big the heater couldn't keep up

... so yes, this is a great motel ... for the price. (After I checked in, I remembered I've stayed here before)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed here for three nights. I thought what I got was fair for the price. The rooms was clean, not pristine in there where scratches in the paint and on the toilet seat that could make it look dirty, but no dirt. The a/c worked fine, the room was decent size and had HBO. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. If you are just looking for a place to stay this is it. If you want a splurge or romantic weekend you are probably better off with one of the chains. I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucumari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucumari Inn

Address: 1700 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Tucumari Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucumari Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.