We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tucumari Inn

Tucumari Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tucumari Inn
Save Saved
You added Tucumari Inn to your Saves list
1700 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 hotels in Tucumcari
Purcell, OK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We thought we were going to tent, but decided instead to opt for a hotel.

The positive:
My wife and I got a hotel room for less than $30. Check in was quick.

The rest of the story...
Clerk would not accept my credit card - said their credit card machine was not working. Room smelled poorly. Bed was rock hard - and this comes from someone who backpacks and sleeps on the ground a lot. Pillows were flat. Bottom sheet on bed was not fitted, and after a night of rolling around on a hard bed, was completely untucked leaving us sleeping on the mattress. Heat/AC unit was very loud. Light in the bathroom only flickered and never would come completely on. Didn't try shower or bathtub.

However, I was most intrigued by the bathroom fixtures. I've never seen a purple toilet or bathtub before. And the use of a white toilet seat on the purple toilet is a style that I'm sure will catch on. I've noted it here so that after Martha Stewart steals the idea, we'll all know where it came from.

Overall, next time I'm in Tucumcari, I'll pay a little more somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

(To put the review in context) Tonight I was looking for the $15 motel I had seen in Tucumcari in the past, but things have changed in the last six months. There were no (open) motels for under $20, there used to be at least three. A couple of the motels no longer had prices posted and look like they have gone to ‘monthly rates.’ Four other motels have closed since my last trip through so there is less competition. I did see three other motels for less than the $25 I paid here.

The room was clean, the water was hot, the room was warm ... that's all I need. Plus FREE WiFi. And a block from the Rockin' Y's Roadhouse (food).

The room is basic, no frills so I was trying to think of what to post and started comparing it to other resent motels.

WiFi - The night before I stayed here, I paid $50 for a room and their WiFi didn't work most of the time. The night after I stayed here I paid $35 and they wanted another $5 to connect to their WiFi
Hot Water - I recently paid $70 for a room where it took 15 minutes to get hot water.
Heat - I've paid $50 for motels where either the heat was either on/off (no controls) or the gap around the door was so big the heater couldn't keep up

... so yes, this is a great motel ... for the price. (After I checked in, I remembered I've stayed here before)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed here for three nights. I thought what I got was fair for the price. The rooms was clean, not pristine in there where scratches in the paint and on the toilet seat that could make it look dirty, but no dirt. The a/c worked fine, the room was decent size and had HBO. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. If you are just looking for a place to stay this is it. If you want a splurge or romantic weekend you are probably better off with one of the chains. I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

the price should have been a clue. i think it was $30 for 2 people c/ a coupon. it look like the room hadn't be cleaned before our visit. a few odd bugs in room. no toilet paper, when i went to the front desk the male clerk acted like i interrupted his evening. the bathtub would drain when i tried to take a shower. would have been better off camping

avoid
At all Costs!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Desert
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

The new owner is very rude. Key to room would not work (regular key, not a key card) I could not easily check out room condition, directly, that another member of our travelling party found.

At dinner, another member of our travelling party told me, that:

Dust puffs up in a cloud when walking on carpet.
Hole in walls.
No air conditioning (or cooling)
No water in pool (May in Tucumcari is not winter.)
He described the room as filthy.
He described the owner as nasty and rude.
The member did not stay.

I refused to stay and the owner refused to cancel my credit card charge.

This owner needs to either completely rework his business model or get out of the business.

I Absolutely Don't Recommend Any Consideration Of Staying At The Tucumcari Inn Under The Present Ownership!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude owner, filthy facility
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

I just read the other review from July 2007 and would have to agree - to some extent. The front sign said "American owned", but there was a language barrier we definitely had a great deal of difficulty with. The room we found to be fairly clean, non-smelly, beds so-so comfy, shower worked good, not to noisy and no bugs to be found, and the pool was found in decent condition. And after some difficulty communicating with the front desk, we were able to use the internet that was advertised on the front sign. We did not take part in the breakfast that was advertised - when I turned in the key at 9AM all the containers in the lobby were empty. Definitely not worth what we paid - the sign said $26.95 when we pulled in and we were charged much more when we booked online. Front desk explanation was that the $26.95 was for a single person/single bed. Would not recommend if staying for more than12 hours.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisville, texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This motel is under new (non-American) ownership. The experience is far from what previous travelers have had now that the property has changed hands. I'll keep this short and sweet, I booked two rooms, both non-smoking smelled strongly of smoke, sheets did not appear changed, bugs on the ceiling, dirty bathroom, dirty, dusty, smelly A/C, bathroom window would not latch, shower/bathtub would not drain, when asked for a room that didn't smell like smoke we were given a bottle of spray, continental breakfast consisted of a piece of toast and a small cup of orange juice doled out by the attendant/owner?. I could probably go on. Hope to save future travelers from visiting this property.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucumari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucumari Inn

Address: 1700 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Tucumari Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucumari Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;