We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Nice Common Areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Tucumcari
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Extra Nice Common Areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on our way back to ABQ. The common areas are very nice - the breakfast eating area is spacious and has a very high ceiling and there is a game room with pool table on the ground floor. And this is the only hotel I have ever visited that had air conditioned stairwells between floors.
The room was quiet even though it faced the nearby interstate. However, there were a few problem areas - the bathroom floor tile grout was falling apart and the bathroom door would not fully open because the tile was too high. The desk was only 3 feet square and lacked an office chair - only two dining type chairs were provided.
The front desk personnel and breakfast attendant were attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive experience. Your continued satisfaction is our top priority. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    24
    3
    7
See reviews for
53
57
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marmora,nj,usa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 evenings as we were in town for a family party. The facility is very new and clean. Nothing fancy but up to par for the chain. the front desk staff was very friendly, and our room was spacious. Refrigerator also a plus !
The only down side was the breakfast. The food was decent but the woman replenishing it was not keeping up and quite frankly seemed annoyed by the fact that people were actually eating the food! Clearly a staffing issue that the manager needs to address, the parking lot was packed so they should have anticipated a steady flow at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We strive to make your stay a pleasant one, please note we have
addressed your concerns. Hope to see you in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed only one night. The receptionist were very friendly and helpful.

The King suite was roomy and very comfortable. For this area,I found it cozy as if I stayed in a major city hotel.

They have an inside pool and an shaded gazebo when the breakfast lounge gets to busy.

The only problem I found was the view of the parking garage.

Room Tip: Aim for Queen or King beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We appreciate
your comments, you have many choices in your lodging
needs and glad you chose us. Hope to see you in the future.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Three huge problems. First is they leave a young girl all alone at night to watch over the whole hotel. There was no support for her at all. Kinda felt bad for her when the following issues came up.

First of all wifi stinks. Worst I've ever seen in a hotel. Kept dropping..then wouldn't connect...we finally gave up after so many tries.

Not sure why a hotel would put a basketball court in the the hotel courtyard right next to all the rooms. What do you think happened? Well someone was out there bouncing the ball all night making it impossible to relax or sleep. Come to find out they weren't even guess to the hotel. Contacted the front desk but nothing was done.

We asked to be moved to the opposite side of the hotel as far away from the basketball court as we could possibly get. We had to go downstairs to get the new room keys because she couldn't leave the front desk because there was no one else to help!! Unacceptable!

This was the second time we had an issue with Holiday Inn Express on our vacation this year. We will not use in the future. I would not recommend using this hotel.

Room Tip: Use the Best Western next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we strive to make each stay an enjoyable one.
We are working to meet your concerns and hope to see you in the
future.


Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was ok, nothing special, the breakfast bar area was dirty, I never saw anyone who cleaning up after the guests. The staff at the front desk did not care. For a Holiday Inn, the hotel was ok, but the breakfast disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we always strive to make every guest stay a pleasant one.
We have addressed your concerns with out staff and have spent time
retraining them to meet the needs of our guest. Hope to see you in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

2 beds, 2 lcd tv, couch, nice long room. Better make reservation the town is small & motels fill up fast. Lots of people travelling. Free breakfast. $156. after tax & all. I think couch makes into bed, has own tv. 4 or 5 could share room pool + gym. Was driving from Dallas, Tx to Las Vegas, tired of driving, could not make it to Alburqurque.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate each our guest and our pleased that your stay was
comfortable. Hope to see you again soon.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel Valley, So. California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the reasons we had selected this hotel was for the promised amenities, including, specifically, the exercise room. Much to our dismay, the room was unbearably hot, with no air conditioning. When we queried the front desk, we were told, sorry, they don't have the ability to turn on the ac in there (there were 2 large vents in the ceiling), that the owner controls the ac for the public areas & doesn't have it turned on in there & they don't have a key to change it, they suggested we open the window, which was ridiculous, it was already opened & likely part of the reason for the unbearable heat/humidity in there, as it was near 100 degrees outside with about that amount of humidity! So we propped open the one door to the hallway, which at least had some amount of ac (it was set to 78 on the thermostat in the hall in the locked box) & proceeded to try to utilize the equipment. The recumbent bike I tried, as well as the treadmill my husband tried, neither worked properly & the heat was unbearable; we had no choice but to retreat to our room, put on our swimsuits & try to get some exercise in the pool. Indoor pool was about 90 degrees, warmer than bathwater, again, pretty unpleasant to try to utilize for exercise. Husband wanted to use the sauna, it was off, so we turned it on when we got in the pool, 25 minutes later, still not heated enough to use...the pool room was hotter & steamier from the overheated pool & open windows. All in all very dissatisfactory for features that were supposed to be included & usable for the not inexpensive price we paid to stay at this hotel. The room was okay, bed reasonably comfortable, room fairly clean, less than ideal towels, stained washcloth.

As stated in the title, just okay, not great, certainly not worth the price we paid, no plans to stay here again on any future road trips unless there is a change in management with improvements to making all of the facilities functional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay;
we strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
However this time we fell. We apologize that you were not
able to enjoy the amenities. We hope you will be able to return
to the hotel in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.