We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
San Gabriel Valley, So. California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the reasons we had selected this hotel was for the promised amenities, including, specifically, the exercise room. Much to our dismay, the room was unbearably hot, with no air conditioning. When we queried the front desk, we were told, sorry, they don't have the ability to turn on the ac in there (there were 2 large vents in the ceiling), that the owner controls the ac for the public areas & doesn't have it turned on in there & they don't have a key to change it, they suggested we open the window, which was ridiculous, it was already opened & likely part of the reason for the unbearable heat/humidity in there, as it was near 100 degrees outside with about that amount of humidity! So we propped open the one door to the hallway, which at least had some amount of ac (it was set to 78 on the thermostat in the hall in the locked box) & proceeded to try to utilize the equipment. The recumbent bike I tried, as well as the treadmill my husband tried, neither worked properly & the heat was unbearable; we had no choice but to retreat to our room, put on our swimsuits & try to get some exercise in the pool. Indoor pool was about 90 degrees, warmer than bathwater, again, pretty unpleasant to try to utilize for exercise. Husband wanted to use the sauna, it was off, so we turned it on when we got in the pool, 25 minutes later, still not heated enough to use...the pool room was hotter & steamier from the overheated pool & open windows. All in all very dissatisfactory for features that were supposed to be included & usable for the not inexpensive price we paid to stay at this hotel. The room was okay, bed reasonably comfortable, room fairly clean, less than ideal towels, stained washcloth.

As stated in the title, just okay, not great, certainly not worth the price we paid, no plans to stay here again on any future road trips unless there is a change in management with improvements to making all of the facilities functional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay;
we strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
However this time we fell. We apologize that you were not
able to enjoy the amenities. We hope you will be able to return
to the hotel in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    27
    5
    8
See reviews for
60
67
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Finksburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our stay was from June 10th to June 11th, 2013. We stayed in room #205. The room was very nicely decorated and extremely clean. The mattress was very comfortable with full size pillows. The FREE continental breakfast has Belgium waffles, hot and cold cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage patties, assortment of fresh fruits, Danishes, bagels and breads along with coffee, tea, milk and yogurt. Wouldn’t hesitate staying here in the future and would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Did not reserve a room. Arrived around 10:30pm to see if a room was available. Excellent and very friendly front desk gave us a two-queen room for $111.99 including tax. When we checked into the room, I noticed a sign in the bathroom indicating toothbrushes, toothpaste were available at the front desk. We did not want to unpack the car and our little-ones were very ready for bed. Went to the front desk, were given the items, and went to bed.
The room was not very clean and there were hairs in the bed and shower. The AC was very loud. It was good for a quick "rest-your-eyes-so-you-don't-get-in-an-accident" stay.
Breakfast was quick, filling, and fast. Little ones enjoyed having pancakes, bacon, and juice.
Best thing about the hotel: Nighttime Front Desk Staff and Morning Manager/breakfast staff
Worst thing: was the room even cleaned or did someone make the bed and wipe the sink?

Room Tip: Check the internet rates to make sure you are given a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear walkerexpat,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear about the compliments you give to our hotel staff and breakfast service. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am truly sorry about the conditions of the room you received. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here on our last night of a 2 week trip and it was one of the nicest HIE we stayed in. The room was overly large, very clean. The hotel was very quiet. The breakfast room was very busy and the staff did a good job of keeping it stocked. There was a microwave and fridge in the room which is always a plus. There was an indoor pool which was warm, I do not like cold indoor pools! They have a sauna and a hot tub as well. Oh and they had a "game room" with a pool table, we didn't use but also a nice touch. While in Tucumcari be sure to visit Route 66!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Tucumcari, we are happy your stay was a memorable one. We look forward to any future visits with us.

Thank You Again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On a cross-country drive, we stayed overnight at HIE Tucumcari. Very helpful staff, convenient parking, safe, clean. We picked a suite with 2 queen beds. Two flatscreen TV's. Comfortable bedding.
Free breakfast was actually quite good. If you're a family on a long road trip, this is a great place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: The suite was only $14 more and it was nice to have the extra space, extra TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older clean hotel, but the beds were so soft (not great if you prefer a firmer bed for your back), the elevator was so slow, the air conditioner unit in our room didn't have a continuous option for fan to run to mask the noise. We only stayed one night, double queen bed for $120 w/ tax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we strive to make each and every stay a memorable one. However we fell short; please accept our sincerest apology. We hope you will give us an opportunity to have you stay with us in the future.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way through from Arizona to Texas. Even though this is probably one of the more expensive hotels in the area it was worth it for us. The hotel was elegant. The rooms were clean and comfortable! The pool, sauna and hot tub were nice after a long drive. My husband liked that they had a fitness room and game room with a pool table! Breakfast was above the usual hotel breakfast. Pancakes, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy! Unlike many of the other hotels/motels in the area this did not have the rt. 66 charm but that was ok with us. I recommend for anyone not looking for nostalgia and wanting more of the creature comforts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Tucumcari.
We are glad your stay was a comfortable one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#5 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.