We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Quick stay on my drive to Texas. Arrived late and went to a weird Pizza Hut down the street for dinner. The hotel was nice but area is weird not nice or bad. Staff was friendly and always there to help the room had a strange stain on the floor other than that it was a great pleace

Room Tip: Not bad rooms it looked the best place in that city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    80
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
70
76
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Tim did a good job getting us checked in quickly. Had to change our room though because the wind was whistling through the window, sounded like a haunted room. Room was clean and comfortable but the AC wouldn't keep the room cool. HIE advertises a great breakfast but that was not so. The milk was out, eggs eventually were replenished. How hard is it to go across the parking lot and get milk from the convenience store. Juice was warm, buscuits were out. Hostess said truck hadn't come and they were out. Manager wasn't in to talk with. If we'd paid a budget price for the night, we could have blown it off but being a priority club gold member we expected more. We could have stayed next door. As expensive as it was to stay there, you would think they would provide good service without excuses, or at least a partial refund. We'll stay next door next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear TAO58,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our hotel. It is great to know that you had a pleasant experience at check in. I apologize though for the inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast and if the room did not meet your expectations. These points will be addressed and I hope you give us another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Again, thanks for the candid review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were planning on spending the night in Santa Rosa but he reviews of the holiday inn there really turned me off. So, we kept on driving and by tucumcari could go no further. Didn't have any Internet connection so we couldn't check reviews... Crossed our fingers and checked in. Don't think I could have expected any better. Rooms are modern and clean and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was typical. Also the rate was reasonable .. $113.00 for a Weekend night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel room was fine - not the reason for the 3 rating!!! Room was clean and nice!!

My daughter called to make this reservation because she is a long time Priority Club Member. When she asked for the best rate he said $129.00 and she questioned him about that really being the best rate and he asked if we had AAA or AARP. Well, I am 69 years old but I don't like AARP and don't belong to it. She mentioned Priority and asked if there were any special for members and he said "Priority doesn't get you anything except points!!!" She asked if they had a lot of rooms available and he said "No, that they were going to be pretty full." Okay, so again she asked for his best rate and he finally said $113.99. She took the rate because I was ready to rest after a long day of driving. Then on to arriving at the hotel, this is what really upset me. While I was signing in with the same young man she talked to (not very pleasant) a man and his young son came in and asked if they had any rooms. The young lady that was waiting on him said, "Oh, we have lots of rooms tonight." Bad enough, right? Gets worse. The man was maybe 30-35 years old. He asked for the best rate and she said $129.00 and he said "I want the AARP rate." and without batting an eye he got the $113.99 rate. AARP for a 30 year old and my daughter who is a priority member had to beg for that rate!!!!! Really? Do those managers not understand that we patrons pay attention to what goes on at the front desk? I was appalled. I had been on the road since May the 8th and other than staying in California for a week, I stayed at HI Express 6 nights and Candlewood 1 night. Good thing this didn't happen on my first night or I might have switched to Hampton Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear sallieb321,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced with your reservation. I have taken note of your comments regarding the service you received from one of our front desk staff and have shared these with our Front office team for review. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark Mo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you need to stay in Tucumcari NM, be sure to stay at the Holiday Inn Express on South Adams. It is a beautiful property and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were very comfortable!! The breakfast buffet included fresh pancakes as well as eggs, toast, English muffins, and a whole lot of other yummy things. It was a great experience. To add to the greatness is the fact that it is easy access to I-40 so you will not have any trouble finding it. It definitely is the best hotel off that exit. I highly suggest you stay here if you get the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room was very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Lot's of fast foods within walking distance. We asked for a quiet room for our hearing sensitivity issues and were rewarded with a perfect. Stay here again for sure!

Only had two minor issues.

1. The breakfast room had serving hours from 6-9, which is fine. However, the breakfast room has doors and a sign was hung on the door indicating no early entry. When we are up early, we usually grab some coffee and juice and go back to our room. This option was not available until I caught one of the workers, and they said it would be okay. Since we travel a lot, it is unusual not be able to get coffee almost anytime it is ready.

2. No newspaper. I asked and they said they can only the the local weekly on Wed and it's a 4 pager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very easy access from highway to this hotel. Our room was very clean & comfy, with usual bathroom amenities, coffeepot, fridge & microwave. Bed was very comfortable, with great linens & pillows. Good value for the price. Breakfast was the usual and breakfast area was kept very clean. Front desk lady was very pleasant and friendly, and made a great recommendation for dinner nearby. We'll be staying at HIE's again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 23 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#8 of 23 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#12 of 23 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucumcari
Hampton Inn Tucumcari
#10 of 23 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#4 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.