We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good hotel for overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 while traveling across the country, I have nothing negative to see about the hotel except that its a little difficult to find if you are heading east on 40 didn't see the entrance until after I had turned around and was heading back towards 40 to stay at another hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    57
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
58
62
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here one night in March 2013. We stayed in a suite on the 2nd floor, (not sure the exact rm #). I like lots of space for all my stuff (I pack a lot). When I inquired about the suites during making a reservation, it wasn’t a whole lot more $ than a regular room, which made it absolutely worth it just to have a few extra feet of space. The room was very nice, tidy, it had a wonderful shower with lots of pressure (I love that), - entire bathroom was very clean & nice. The bedroom area had a king bed with flat screen tv, plus a sitting room with couch, coffee table and another flat screen tv. The closet was very nice size & the cool part was the entire closet face/front was mirror. I was able to utilize that mirror while hubby was getting ready in the bathroom.
Lobby area was very nice & spacious with friendly people at the desk. Each time we walked by they would acknowledge with a friendly hello. We didn’t have time for sit down breakfast nor do we usually eat breakfast, however hubby grabbed a pastry on the way out the door & said it was fantastic. We rolled in late & left early so cannot review anything like pools, fitness ect. Did not seek anything out so don’t know whats all here.
This HIE has a nice large parking lot which we like, as opposed to parking lots where cars are packed liked sardines and you worry all night about getting door dinged or worse.
The elevators and those cart thingy’s provided in the lobby came in handy for carrying in all my stuff. (I travel with my own towels, bedding, coffeepot, you name it). I know I’m neurotic lol.
The only thing that wasn’t up to par was the curtains, they very obviously needed laundered. When I went to look out the window of our room, I noticed right away the window coverings had what appeared to be brown stains in several places on the sheer inner curtain. It reminded me of a kid that just finished eating spaghetti’os with his fingers, and then grabbing the curtains. They were roundish stains,- like fingertip size. It wasn’t just one either, these brownish-red spots were in several places on the curtains. Made me feel icky, like I wonder what else isn’t washed in here,..
Because of that, 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were exceptionally pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of this hotel. I really loved the warm indoor swimming pool and hot tub - great way to unwind! There are several restaurants within walking distance and we enjoyed a good sit-down meal after all the fast food meals. This is a convenient and comfortable place to stop.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable. Don't know about the others. We were in the middle of the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My fiance and I were driving cross country and stopped overnight here. My fiance did most of the planning and when we pulled off the highway I must admit I was slightly concerned. There really is not much here and it looks a little sketchy. Although I can't speak much for the area, my concerns regarding the hotel were unfounded. It was actually a really nice place, and considering the area and my expectations, I'd even say outstanding. Very clean, modern, comfortable, and roomy. We did not use any of the "facilities" (pool, gym, lounge area, etc.) but they looked pretty good.

The free breakfast was a really nice treat and a good surprise. Lots of options and not bad at all really. The eating area was very roomy and nicely set up, with lots of food options.

One recommendation I would make is to try to figure out a dinner option before you arrive. There is not much at all in the vicinity of the hotel. So if you show up hungry, you will largely be screwed, unless you want to eat at McD's or KFC. I am sure the hotel has room service options, but I cannot comment on that as we didn't try it, but just know in advance that you will have very limited food options once you get off the highway and check into the hotel.

Browsing through the options listed here on tripadvisor, of hotels in the area, I'd say this is likely the most modern, clean, contemporary hotel in the area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wasn't quite sure what to expect when I rolled into this little spot but was quite impressed
The hotel is very clean quiet and comfortable.The front desk are very helpful just like any other Holiday Inn the breakfast is the same ,However this is one of the biggest breakfast areas I have seen.They have a very nice indoor pool for the kids or adults nice workout room and even a huge room with a very nice pool table in it.Like I said very impressed if I have to return to this area for work I will be staying here..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have stayed here previously and the place has aged a bit since our last stay a few years ago but is still meets the standards. It was clean but the mattress was not nearly as good as most every other HI Express we have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed on 12/23/12. both night & day staff were pleasant & courteous, although didn't acknowledge me as a priority club member on check-in. an earlier reviewer probably said it best when they described the hotel as good for Tucumcari, but just average amongst other HIE properties. hotel had all the standard HIE amenities (free hot b-fast, indoor pool, fitness center, fridge & micro in room). room was clean, bed was comfortable, carpet could probably use replacing. was pleasantly surprised to find that the room seemed to have better sound-proofing than many other hotels (including most HIE) that I've stayed at. while in the hall, could hear some noise from people in their rooms (in particular a teenage girl singing along to her mp3 player -loudly), but once my door was closed, I could hear nothing - not even doors opening or closing. that was a pleasant surprise considering my exhaustion from the drive. sad to see that Tucumcari is kind of a dried up little town now, from what I'm sure was its hey-days of Rte 66.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear cwiamy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.