We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express isn't the nicest I have stayed in, but was a very pleasant stay. Lots of amenities, quiet and comfortable. They are one of the few hotels in the area that take CLC cards which helps discount the price a great deal. I would stay here again if I find myself in Tucumcari again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    27
    5
    8
See reviews for
60
67
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is on historic Route 66 which is also, at that point, I-40. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express with no surprises of either the good or bad type. The room was quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was a bit disappointing in that the egg dish, an omlettey sort of thing was quite dry and tough and the sausage was also a bit dry. There is a reasonable number of breakfast items to choose from including the pancakes from the pancake machine. All in all it was a reasonable place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our drive out west we stayed at this hotel. The hotel staff were great and we met many firefighters that evening as they were in the area working on the fire boundaries. The breakfast was excellent with lots of hot choices. As we continued west we decided that on our return trip we'd definitely stop there again.

Our return trip a few weeks later was just as great as our first experience and the staff remembered us so that made it even more memorable to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington IL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

To put things in perspective, the drive from Amarillo to Albuquerque is very long and very empty. Finding a hotel brand that you trust is an advantage. The HI Express in Tucumcari is among the best hotels in this stretch of I-40/Route 66, but that doesn't mean that it is among the better HI Expresses. They provide what you expect from a HI Express but you learn to do without this far from major services. Don't expect a newspaper in the morning. You are too far from any news printing facility. Maintenance items that can wait, do wait. In my case they added my bathroom to the list of rooms that needed tiles and grout repaired and replaced. But compared to what little Tucumcari has to offer, you get a safe, comfortable, good night's sleep. It is sad to travel Old Route 66 and see the condition of the motels and 100's of rooms in Tucumcari. The Blue Swallow looks nicely restored and is worth the visit but the rooms looks small. The HI Express rooms rates were high especially compared to the $20-40 range on Rt. 66 but I unless I were chronicling old Route 66, the savings may not be worth it. Staff at HI Express was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of Pleasant Living
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Clean, fresh property just off Interstate 10. Definitely no reason to be there other than a stopping point going somewhere else. Helpful staff, good breakfast, well appointed room, no complaints at all. The staff even warned us to beware of scorpions and tarantulas when we went outside for a smoke! Would stay there again if my travels took me through that godforsaken land known as New Mexico. Drove though the town the following morning - how sad. So much of it is shuttered. Even had a tumbleweed blow across our path on old Route 66 right in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on my way home to California from Chicago. It was one of the highlights of my trip. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Clean room, good breakfast, particularly compared to some of the other hotels on my trip. Tucumcari is a tiny little town with not very much going for it except the remnants of Route 66, but all the people I encountered were so friendly. I went to the Tucumcari Mountain Cheese Factory and initially they said they were closed, but then let me in. I got some of the best cheese ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was nice and clean, cookies upon arrival in the eating area. The hotel is conveniently located next to the freeway, is a sister to the neighboring La Quinta Inn. Our only complaint was poor Wifi. Not conducive for business travelers who need reliable internet access. Good hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 South Adams, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#5 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.