We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with friendly atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Save
You added Blue Swallow Motel to your Saves list
815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Montoursville
1 review
“Great experience with friendly atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Bii & Terri were great. We were traveling through and unforunately could only spend one night, but it was very good and comfortable. Bill & Terri are working very hard and are very accomodating. The rooms are restored to great detail - we could almost hear Elvis singing in the middle of the night!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    117
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
258
488
89
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Hubby and I stayed here last week. It was EVERYTHING and more that I had hoped to find on Route 66...nostalgia and hospitality! Bill and Terri were so warm and friendly it was like dealing with old friends...room was beautifully decorated, and neat and clean as a pin! loved the beautiful quilt on bed and the old sewing machine cabinet that served as TV table!! room smelled so fresh and clean..bed was very comfortable. Bill and Terri gave us great advice re: where to eat dinner that night as well as a more scenic route for getting to Santa Fe. It was an incredible trip that we would have missed without their advice. We felt like we had stepped back in time to when we used to go to "Mom and Pop" motels with our parents back in the 1950's...very cool....we were on Route 66 for 8 days and this was our favorite place to stay! Bill took our picture under the Blue Swallow Neon Sign. Terri makes some awesome coffee that they have in the office in the am as well. Totally LOVE Blue Swallow. Route 566 travelers...do NOT miss this motel on your journey!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Arrived early and the owner very kindly let us book in early which we were very grateful for tucumcari is extremely quiet not a lot happening historic motel cheap but basic you get what you pay for but the owners friendliness exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The Blue Swallow Motel is a great place to stay when visiting Tucumcari, New Mexico. I highly recommend staying here if you get a chance. Bill and Terri went out of their way to make all of us feel at home. Motorcycle friendly as we had 14 motorcycles during our stay on May15th. Bill made sure we all had coffe in the morning before we left. Bill had a van come pick us up to go to local restaurant so we did not have ride our motorcycles after drinking beer after a long day of riding.
Thank BIll and Terri.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The proud owners of this hotel made it a real pleasure to stay here. Beautifully maintained with most of the neon in working order, a sight to behold @ night. Traveling with my 11 yr old grandaughter on a motorcycle, the small garages were a great security comfort. Free breakfast at the Pow Wow Restaraunt where I had some of the best bacon and FLUFFY pancakes in years!(my grandaughter had the breakfast taco and it was also delicious) I would highly recomend this to motorcycle travelers as well as anyone who wants to get a taste of what it was like to travel Route 66 in it's heyday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Blue Swallow Motel was our second motel stay of our Route 66 trip and it was definitely a great choice. Like everyone else that stays at the Blue Swallow we were immediately greeted by Bill when we arrived. We were traveling the route in a '57 Chevy and Bill made sure to help us grab the best pictures that night with the Blue Swallow sign all lit up. We also asked him about what stops along the route that we should make sure to see with the little amount of time we had to travel. By the end of our trip we were calling Bill our "tour guide" because his advise had helped us to get the most out of our time. We loved the Blue Swallow so much we arranged our travel on the way back around staying at the Blue Swallow for a second time. The Blue Swallow overall was wonderful and really makes you feel like you are on the old Route 66.

-DN

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Thomas, Ky.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Experiencing Route 66 is about icons like the Blue Swallow. Clean, comfortable and nostalgic accomodations....you just can't ask for more. Bill and Terri make you feel like a friend of the family so it was like a homecoming when we stopped by again this year for our second vist. If you are on the road west this is a must stop.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Swallow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.