We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rte. 66 Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Save
You added Blue Swallow Motel to your Saves list
815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rte. 66 Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Swallow Inn on July 18, 2014, and what a wonderful experience it was! Cameron and Jessica couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating! First of all, our room, No. 10, was wonderful - everything was immaculate and brought back memories of travels with my parents on Rte. 66. The chenille bedspreads, the furniture, the rotary phone, etc. were perfect! Also, Cameron kept the gift shop open late for us so we could shop, and shop we did! Wonderful remembrances of times past were plentiful! If you are ever in Tucumcari, or anywhere near, the Blue Swallow Inn is a treasure that shouldn't be missed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    139
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
304
584
110
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very sweet motel! Makes you feel like you've gone back in time. The rooms were clean and classically decorated and we loved sitting outside on are little porch relaxing. This hotel has been renovated but be aware it is still very quaint. The rooms are small and cozy, and the bathroom is 1930s true with updated hardware. I loved the antique door handles, old windows, and basic architecture but it won't be right for everyone. This is not a luxury hotel or reliable old Hampton Inn. But if you want the experience of stepping back in time, I couldn't recommend a more charming place!

Room Tip: The family suite connects room 7 and 8 if you want separate bedrooms. You can also request a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great stay in a quaint little town. Nothing fancy but clean and welcoming. Ate at Del's Diner which was very good as well. Would definitely recommend! Owners are great people and fun to visit with. Beds were comfortable. The only negative was low shower pressure but all in all, great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is one of the nicest places on Route 66. It has working antique phones and all the touches that make it comfortable and nostalgic. It is exceptionally clean with luxurious beds, linens and towels. They've added a guest services area with a washer and dryer at a very fair rate. Nancy and Kevin frequently host s'mores get togethers and their dogs are sweet greeters. They whole family is passionate about the hotel and it's place in Route 66 history. The chenille swallow bedspreads make the rooms, giving them a feel of home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great trip down memory lane! The chenille swallow bedspreads are iconic! Very clean, lovely family run business, Cameron was fabulous with my 3 year old grandson. The couple running the motel could not have been more friendly or helpful. Worth the stop! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were very excited to stay here, given the history and nostalgia of this town. The owners are excited about their guests, willing to help out with questions and other concerns. We had a package sent and they were glad to have it picked up from the post office and ready for us.

The motel itself is a step back into the past, with vintage mid-century accoutrement. To that end, visitors need to understand that the facilities were built many years ago, and will not be like large rooms at hotels today. They are cozy, comfortable, and pleasant.

The neon of the hotel is in excellent working order, unlike many other places in town, and it is beautiful.

The room prices are higher than most others, but for the care, quality, and service, it was worth it.

We will stay here again on our way through in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Linda and Kevin were great hosts. They welcomed us, showed us our room and told us about the history of our room and the motel. I wound up with a flat tire after dinner and Kevin helped me get air back in the tire and to a service station the next morning, only a few blocks away. The gift shop is great too and the coffee is always on! A wonderful place to visit and relive part of the not so distant past! We will definitely stay here again when we travel Rt. 66!

Room Tip: Book Early. The Motel is in demand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Swallow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.