We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a lot of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Save
You added Blue Swallow Motel to your Saves list
815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place with a lot of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Loved the nostalgia of this place. Rates were very reasonable, we had a garage for our bikes, and the staff was 100% friendly and accommodating. Will definitely visit again! Would recommend this place FOR SURE if you are looking for an authentic Rt 66 experience. Just remember to bring bug spray to ward off the mosquitos so you can enjoy the evening outside!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    117
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
258
489
89
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This trip was our second visit to the Blue Swallow. I made the reservation 8 months in advance after talking to Kevin on the phone. He explained the many changes they had made in the motel since taking ownership. I was convinced.
It was absolutely wonderful driving up and being greeted so warmly and the ease of check-in was delightful.
After we got checked in, we went to run some errands and came back to share a beverage with Kevin and Nancy as we sat outside in the courtyard.
The bed was everything Kevin said it was, very comfortable and the bedding was superb.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially the comfortable beds. We continue to look for the best and make improvements and upgrades to comforts and amenities here, while preserving all of the historic character and charm.

We hope you will be able to join us again sometime in the future!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I agree with the majority of reviews on this motel. If you are expecting to stay in a cookie cutter big box this isn't for you. If you want tremendously nice people, clean rooms that are unique and a fun atmosphere . . . book now!

This motel also attracts people who are looking for something different and a throw back in time to when you knew who your neighbors were. Get there early, enjoy the motel, and get to know the other guests who are passing through. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and sitting outside sipping a "66 Route Beer" . . . yes it was root beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My mom and I stayed in the family suite for one night as we were traveling to Santa Fe. We both enjoyed the hotel very much, especially my mother who tends to easily pick up on the old energies of a place. A few hours into our stay she told me that she really loved the hotel and felt it had a very hospitable, welcoming feel to it. I couldn't have agreed more. When we arrived there was a group of film students from UT Austin (I think) shooting a movie on the premises, so there was a little confusion about where and how to park my car. It was pretty interesting and I was more than happy to oblige, but the owners allowed me to park in front of the room anyway as the film crew appeared to be wrapping up. The rooms were clean and cozy, with great mattresses / beds, televisions, and nightstands stocked with very old National Geographic magazines. The bathroom was true to its original self, perfectly functional, and clean. The real delight, however, were the owners who obviously invested their heart and soul into restoring the hotel and keeping all that neon glowing. It can't be an easy task, They were more than happy to answer our questions about where to eat and made great suggestions. I'm glad I told them we were headed to Santa Fe because they suggested a route I hadn't considered before, and that beautiful drive was one of the highlights of our trip. The resident cat and dog are sweet too. I am very grateful for such a unique and pleasant stay and look forward to returning in a few weeks.

Room Tip: The family suite is great for 2 people or couples who might enjoy a little more privacy, but note th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my favorite stop on a coast-to-coast roadtrip with my Mom. The owners couldn't have been nicer, the room was spotless, and I enjoyed the quirky charm. My Mom was less thrilled, and missed the bix box hotel amenities (central heat and air, coffee maker, etc) and wasn't happy with the temperamental toilet. So, it all depends on what you're looking for. I was looking for a bit of authentic Rte 66 history, and couldn't have been happier with our decision to stop here.

If you're looking for nostalgia, charm, and a step back in time with delightful hosts, stay here. If you consider yourself even the slightest bit 'high maintenance' choose one of the big box hotels instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice, clean, friendly little place to stay. I would stray again in a minute. My regret was not getting there earlier to enjoy the company of other guests visiting on the front patio's of each room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yes, it doesn't have the glitz and amenities of the corporate lodging chains, but they don't have the history, magic, charm and Nancy and Kevin Mueller (Blue Swallow owners/custodians). Staying at the Blue Swallow a step back in time and you enter a "bubble" that somehow removes you from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the world. This feeling is enhanced by the owner's dedication to keeping the motif true to the age of the motel. The rooms are small for the most part, but that's the way it was in the early days of motels. The motel has a special story, as does the Lillian Redman room - read the history on the Blue Swallow web page or better yet ask Kevin and Nancy when you register to stay. There is wifi that is acceptable, coffee and homemade muffins in the morning, and great chairs to just sit in and watch the world go by on Route 66. Bessie will probably be the first to greet you, unless she's taking a nap in the shade. Perhaps you'll be lucky to stay a night when Kevin gets the "Hot Rod Grill" going for the world famous (at least they are to those of who have had them) S'Mores. Great photo ops at night of fabulous New Mexican sunrises and sunsets and of the neon signs of the motel and the TeePee Curio Shop. We've stayed here 4 times in the last couple of years and will stay here again whenever our trips pass through Tucumcari.

Room Tip: Ask Nancy and Kevin about each room's view. Room 1 has a great view of the motel's neon sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Swallow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.