We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming blast from the past!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Make Some Memories!
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Tucumcari
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Charming blast from the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful vintage Route 66 motel. The neon is great. The rooms are small and charming. Some rooms have attached garages with wonderful murals. The hosts are fun and helpful. This is a great place to stay if you are in Tucumcari.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    103
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
223
425
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Blue Swallow to the above comment from owner Nancy! This being our 4th visit there in as many years, we do feel at home there; Kevin & Nancy being our gracious host & hostess for the past 3 years! We stayed in room 4 this time and as always appreciated the "refrigerated air" after a hot ride from Oklahoma City. We were shuttled to the Pow Wow for dinner and back to the Swallow and enjoyed an evening under the neon with all the other guests.
Another great stay and we're looking forward to our next visit in September :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice retro route 66 motel with old cars, neon lights, etc. The proprietors were awesome and "forced" us to okay the room before we checked in, just to make sure that we liked it...I like that. Room and grounds were nice, we parked our bikes in the garage for the night, sat outside and had a few beers and talked with friends, just a great time. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was really excited to stay at this place during my trip on Route 66. Upon arrival, I was greeted with huge enthusiasm by the owner, and personally shown to the room. Although small, the room was furnished in true 1930s style, mainly because everything in the room was from then.. seriously, our phone was from 1939. That's awesome. My one issue was the bed, which wasn't the most comfortable. Perhaps the mattress was also from 1939? But it's hard for me to say even one negative thing about this place, so I digress..

I think my favorite thing about staying at the Blue Swallow was the community that seemed to form immediately. Maybe this was because it was the fourth of July, but every person at the motel was outside watching fireworks, talking about the trips they were taking, the trips they had taken. It seems like this place attracts people who are interested in "the journey."

My two other favorite things about this place were a) the window in the shower. Seriously, how are New Mexico mornings so peaceful and breezy, even in July? And b) Bessie, the owners' giant golden retriever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and glad you enjoyed your stay over Independence Day. As clarification, the oldest of our mattresses is less than two years old, and generally receive rave reviews. We are sorry the one in your room did not feel as comfortable as you would have liked. We will keep working on that!

Thanks again, and hope to see you on the road in the future!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A charming change from the chain hotels we stay in on our regular cross country trips. The owners were pleasant and really make their guests (including our poodle mix traveling companion) feel welcome. Highly recommend a must-see and stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just wanted to say what a fabulous time we had at the Blue Swallow. We arrived to the retro motel and instantly feel in love. We were transported back in time to a slower more enjoyable pace and throughly enjoyed our stay. We had been traveling across the country on Route 66 from Chicago and had to check out the place. We stayed in the family suite that was just perfect. Our kids 9 and 6 stayed in the adjoining room and ma and pa stayed in the larger room with the adorable kitchen. I have to say the shower was awesome. After 3 family members showered mom still had hot water. Kuddos for having a great shower after the long trip from Missouri!
At night everyone was sitting out by their rooms on vintage furniture enjoying the neon and the beautiful summer evening. The owners suggested Del's Restaurant for dinner which was SUPERB! Best country fried steak and homemade mashed potatoes ever! Bring extra cash for some swanky T-shirts and the oversized coffee mug. Also, if you have a love of Golden Retrievers like my children do they have two beautiful dogs to love.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

what a wonderful stay we had at the Blue Swallow Motel during our journey down the Mother Road! Nancy and Kevin were awesome host and very knowledgeable about the classic motel and Route 66 in general. Would highly recommend a stay to those who venture out this way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E. Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Swallow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Swallow Motel to your Saves list