We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Route 66 establishment at a very reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckaroo Motel

Buckaroo Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckaroo Motel
Save
You added Buckaroo Motel to your Saves list
1315 W Tucumcari Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Classic Route 66 establishment at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as part of our Big 2013 Road Trip. Great neon sign. Spacious & clean room - not fancy or new, but decent, with original furniture (only minor complaint - A/C took a while to cool the room). Very reasonable price. Friendly people, & a friendly cat too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This has been the best place we have stayed throughout our trip. Friendly hosts checked our family in quickly and hassle free. Our room was spotless and had alot of character. It was very quiet and the ac worked great. At less than $35 per night, this is absolutely a great deal. Way better than a chain hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're going to stay in Tucumcari, for goodness sake, don't go for the Super 8 or Hampton Inn. Instead, get a little taste of American history and spend the night at a motel that travelers might've visited during the heyday of Route 66. The Buckaroo fits this bill very nicely indeed. A quiet, clean, motor court, as they used to call them, with friendly office and housekeeping staff that are a pleasure to talk to. The rooms are basic, but clean and appear recently refurbished. You'll still get a key instead of a plastic card. Plus, you can't beat the nightly rate.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Buckaroo. You'll want to take a photo of the neon sign, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellville, Arkansas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

OK, this place is the best. I never spend big bucks on overnight when crossing the country and this place is killer. Really nice owners, cheap rate ($25), quiet as heck, clean and solid value. I will always stay here, not enough of these places left on the map anymore. The rooms do not stink either. Budget but great budget. No chocolate candy on the pillow but totally great American value. The Blue Swallow down the street charges 10 bucks to turn on the neon lights for a photo opp. who needs that ripoff route 66 hospitality????

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

After a long days drive north from El Paso, I arrived at the Buckaroo not looking for much. Just a room, secure with the basics, and quiet. And that's what I got. A very basic room, old school Route 66 60's era crash pad. The rate was around $20 (a bit more now, in 2008). The owner, a nice woman, had just bought the place and was trying to make a go of it.

Once I unpacked and checked out the room and hotel a bit, I watched tv for awhile on a rather old tv. The bed was full size, with the standard issue small pillows and bedding, but ok for me. The washroom was clean, had somewhat worn fixtures but overall ok. The hotel was quiet, and nearly 1/3 full. Outside the managers office several Route 66 buffs, in town for a 66 event the next day, gathered and shared stories in metal lawn chairs. The owner joined them for a bit as well.

Rested up some, I headed off down 66 a short hop and had dinner at Del's. Del's, much like the Buckaroo, offering solid but basic food. I forget what I had, but it was ok. Better than any fast food joint. After eating I took the tour of Tucumcari, driving up 66 in town, then driving around the town proper. The town is one of those places I often wonder what it would be like to live in. Set in the same geographical area as the Texas Panhandle, the town has that ranch area feel about it.

That night I had a good, quiet and fairly unremarkable stay. The kind you appreciate when spending several nights on the road. Getting up early, I grabbed a coffee and headed out of town just as a long line of Route 66 celebrants were pulling in with old cars, forming a parade route. Feeling like I had just left a time warp of some kind, I was back enroute east, to Clinton, Oklahoma, and my next stop.

  • Liked — Location, price and history.
  • Disliked — A/C
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I have been staying at the Buckaroo Motel for about eight years.
I was first lured in by the fetching neon sign with the captivating buckaroo. Route 66, neon or no neon, you don't return for as long as I have without the finer touches: Cleanliness, a respect for the 1960's decor albeit with new beds, bedding, towels, etc., owners who care for and maintain the place with real heart. If you don't stay at The Buckaroo Motel you are missing out on one of the Jewels of Tucumcari.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Clean, quiet and a very friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckaroo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckaroo Motel

Address: 1315 W Tucumcari Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Buckaroo Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckaroo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.