We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filled with history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucumcari Historical Museum

Tucumcari Historical Museum
416 South Adams St, Tucumcari, NM 88401
(575) 461-4201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Tucumcari
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Filled with history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a great place. It's an old schoolhouse, unless my memory is wrong, and it's flanked by outbuildings with more great collections. Inside are something like four levels of eye-popping Tucumcari/Route 66 memorabilia. The guides were very helpful and they really appreciate visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“This place is just stuffed with great antiques!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Every time we tried to come see this museum on trips through Tucumcari, it was closed (Sundays and Mondays), so we were so excited to finally see what was inside those doors! What a great assembly of historical pictures and items from Tucumcari's history. Made me nostalgic for those days and I am not even from the town! Great little museum!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treasure trove of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had to keep telling myself, "this is a museum, not an antique store... you can't take this stuff home!" If your in Tucumcari this is a must stop. The place is a treasure trove. Stacks of interesting relics, stacked on top of more stacks. The entire property is interesting, and the building itself is an old schoolhouse. if you're an antique person or a history buff, just go! Don't think about it, just get there and plan on spending over an hour at least.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A treasure !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

This was a wonderful museum. Had to take a lunch break because there was so much to see. Very unusual musical instrument and so much else. Wonderful people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Enjoyed the Museum. I thought it would have been bigger but the Museum was very nice and very interesting.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucumcari Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tucumcari Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucumcari Historical Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.