We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum

Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum
222 E Laughlin St, Tucumcari, NM
(575) 461-3466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Tucumcari
Type: Museums
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Although smaller in size this museum was a very neat thing to stop and see. Customer service was awesome and we had fun shopping in the gift shop after.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“If I could give it 6 stars I would, amazing stop in Tucumcari, kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was by far one of the best parts of our Southwest trip. The kids area here is just wonderful, they gave the kids lots of hands on activities, the exhibits are well designed and organized, and you can see a real working archaeology lab, how awesome is that! They have a fair priced gift shop as well, and the price of admission is really reasonable. I would have never none to stop if not for TripAdvisor, thanks so much, this was just a wonderful 2-3 hour stop that helped keep our trip moving along.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OLD BONES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is quite a nice surprise. We were given a backstage tour of the museum where we watched students at work. They were fantastic teaches as they gave us a show and tell of different archeological and geological finds. It was fun to actually touch and sometimes hold prehistoric bones and foliage. The museum is great with lots of exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“If you love dinosaurs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

...or even if you don't...this is a place to stop! Admission is cheap and you can easily spend an hour in here.

I really love that they have exhibits that you can touch...actually touch dinosaur bones!....and even dinosaur poop!!! They also have the world's largest collection of bronzed dinosaur bones in the world...amazing!

Most of the relics are from the southwest, but there are still many from around the world. Loved learning about the dinosaurs here most of all.

Love this place! Would love to bring the grandkids here!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a nice surprise. This dinosaur museum had excellent displays and explanations of the displays. Good narration of the dinosaur habitat in New Mexico. Worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.