We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kix on 66

Kix on 66
1106 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401
575-461-1966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Tucumcari
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
Roswell, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had breakfast at the recommendation of a local person, and was expecting better, especially with the prices charged. The restaurant was clean, waitress friendly, and quantity of food fine. Quality was about average. The "special" with coffee, tax and tip was $11. Biscuits were overcooked, although the gravy was fine. I was told to try the sausage next time, as the bacon was a disappointment. It was wafer thin, and no attempt was made to drain the massive amount of grease. The cook may have been new, as the waitress was chewing him out for not remembering things. That's okay, but should not be done where customers can hear it on the other side of the restaurant. Based on other reviews I might try it again some time, but not for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    77
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Best choice in Tucumcari?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Lunched at Kix on 66. Service was good....although a little perfunctory. We had Mexican dishes, which were average, reasonable quality. Burgers might have been a better choice.

Prices are low and food quality fits the setting. Modest recommendation. Possibly the best in Tucumcari?

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food & Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a typical roadside diner. Counter and tables, friendly waitresses, good food and a bottomless cup of coffee. I had biscuits and gravy with a side of scrambled eggs. The order came with THREE fresh biscuits instead of two and enough delicious gravy in a bowl to cover my eggs also. My coffee cup was kept full and the waitress was able to chat about local attractions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Route 66 Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We happened upon this place on our way to AZ, and we're glad we did. It's a cute, clean diner with friendly servers, hot coffee and killer Huevos with homemade green chile sauce. Definitely worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Homestyle cooking and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The waitress was friendly and attentive. The food came in a timely manner and was delicious. I had the salad bar and it had an excellent selection along with several different Mexican style salads. The prices were quite reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kix on 66 also viewed

 

Been to Kix on 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kix on 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.