We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent Value Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Save
You added Motel Safari to your Saves list
722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book On-line & SAVE BIG!
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Tucumcari
1 review
“Exelent Value Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Good location close to good restaurants and other services

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    83
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
184
36
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We took our three kids on a summer drive along route 66 and stayed at the Safari. I have to say that while nothing can compete with the WigWam Motel in Holbrooke for Route 66 kitsch, our stay at the Safari was the most comfortable of all of the places we stayed. It's easy to find when you are rolling in after a long day's drive and the staff could not be nicer. They were wonderful to deal with. You can tell they are putting their heart into the motel as the rooms were perfectly renovated, the lobby was era-perfect and the place clearly embraces its Route 66 history.

The beds were comfortable, the linens were fresh and clean and the old keys were a nice touch. When we walked in our room for the first time, the retro-radio looking CD player was playing a CD with a mix of songs about Tucumcari. We were able to get connecting rooms so the kids could be in one room and not keep us up watching TV. It was everything we wanted and needed. In every respect, it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Well, what's to say about this place? Start with rooms clean enough to eat off of. Friendly owners and staff. Great retro feel but with a clear wi-fi connection hooking you up to the rest of the world in your little spot of 1959! And saving the best for last, they are not kidding when they say they have the best beds in town. This is my fifth time to stay at Safari and each time I have slept like a log! Couple that to the reasonable prices and why would you want to stay in one of those soulless chain box abominations up on the Interstate? Take the exit (you have several to choose from at Tucumcari!!) and experience what Route 66 is really all about!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Very nice, very friendly, clean, quiet, reasonably priced. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Very stylish rooms with great details. Modern with a retro flair.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We decided to stay at this motel based on recommendations found on the Internet. Everything was Great. Very Clean, new flat screen large TV, great recommendation for eating out (Pow Wow Lounge). We stayed in one of the larger rooms with a King size bed. Our friends stayed in a similar room. If you want a nice place to overnight, you will not find a better motel or friendlier hotel owners and staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I was roadtripping with a friend thru New Mexico and we ended stuck 3 days in Tucumcari as our car broke down. We picked the Safari Motel among a large offer in Tucumcari. Amazing place that clearly stands out from other hotels in town: high quality room furniture (carpet, bed, pillow, comforter, large flat screen TV...), sharp design and colors, great service from hotel owners who CARE for their guests well being! Great value for the price. Don't miss out in case you stay in Tucumcari NM!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 56 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage motor hotel lodging with today's modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic plush pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.