We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Save
You added Motel Safari to your Saves list
722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book On-line & SAVE BIG!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My girfriend and I was travel to Las Vegas to stay a couple of days. We stop in here for one night. After a long motorcycle ride we was wiped out. The bed was awesome. The pillows were so comfortable. We did not want to leave. Best night of sleep the whole trip. If your passing through. Stay Here. Friendly people too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    81
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
176
33
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here while traveling Route 66 on my birthday, on the way through to Sante Fe, and I can tell you without a doubt it was our best experience across the entire route! Both of the owners greeted us upon our arrival, and Richard showed us to our room personally, and then gave us tips on dining, the local area attractions and later that evening was kind enough to spend time with us chatting about Route 66. They take a lot of pride in their little motel, and it shows. The rooms were clean, the beds were top of the line, the towels were like something from a nice spa and they even had big flat panel TV's. MUCH cheaper than any of the chains along our trip, at least 1/2 the price, yet in most cases had better amenities and the personal service couldn't be beat! If you're traveling Route 66 or just through Tucumcari - THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My parents and I decided to meet in the middle for a visit in July. I picked this motel based on the reviews. I leave lots of good reviews when deserved, but hesitate to leave a bad one. The fact that I am still bothered by my experience 2 months later finally prompted me to write this. I spoke to Gail making the reservations and she was wonderful. Unfortunately she was out of town at the time of our visit and I got to deal with her husband. He messed up the credit cards and charged the wrong one. When I called him to tell him that he had and to give him the transactions numbers I had from the bank he still said he hadn't done it. When raised my voice and said yes you did and I've got the transactions numbers he hung up on me. When he called back a little later to see if I had calmed down...oddly I hadn't. Gail called later and was professional and apologetic. She even said it was her fault because she hadn't left a note in the system telling him it was going to be paid for with a different card than the one the reservation was made with. I get that except when somebody asks are you running the card the reservation was made with or the one she handed you, you maybe look at the card number before trying it again. Ultimately there was no charge, but I did have funds tied up for about 6 days, my card declined, had to make a transfer from savings and spent a couple hours of my vacation on the phone with the bank. Everyone makes mistakes, it takes a big person to admit it. He wasn't and still isn't two months later. He kept arguing that he hadn't done exactly what he did for two days in spite of Gail having the transaction numbers from their processing system. He never called to admit he'd make a mistake or apologies for the inconvenience or hanging up on me. If he had I probably would have settled for leaving good reviews for the two other hotels we stayed in. As far as the hotel it self goes, if you want remodeled "vintage route 66" this is your place. It is cute, but I highly recommend that you only deal with Gail. I opted for original vintage for almost 30$ less and night and my parents for the same money went for a pool, bigger room, HBO, continental breakfast and rooms with key card locks.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The owner was super nice to us taking us to the room, and showing us all of the neat things in the room. The beds were great. It was clean and smelled clean, too. (The bath tub area needed some tile work, and repair of the baseboads around the floor. Little disappointed there!) The room was quiet. We would stay here again as a rest stop on a long drive west from Texas! Thank you for your personal kindness. Old people like that approach. Loved the music about Tumcumcari, NM. on the CD in the old table radio.
BB

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This motel was recommended by a friend, but we arrived at 3:00 on a Sunday afternoon and none of the local restaurants were open (or much of anything else for that matter). We finally settled for Denny's at the Flying J.

If you are on the road and you are ready to stop for the night, this little motel is fine. I just wouldn't go out of my way to stop here. It is better to drive down the road a few miles if you can and stay in Amarillo (where you might actually have a better choice than Denny's or KBobs steakhouse)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here as part of our route 66 tour. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and showed us the amenities in the room and how everything worked etc. It was great having the wi-fi and flat screen TV and the room was OK, no better or no worse than any other motel that we had stayed in. The room was spacious enough and clean. I had a slight problem with the fact that there was a gap between the door and the ground, with daylight clearly coming through and I envisaged all sorts of insect life coming into the room while we were asleep.

My main gripe, is what is at Tucumcari? We could have completely bypassed this place and not missed anything. So many motels/bars/restaurants/shops had closed down. There was nowhere to go and eat. We ended up going to the supermarket and buying wine/food and eating it back at the motel. Actually, we had a nice picnic outside in seating area. I was particularly impressed by the fact that the owners had obviously planned a private party & BBQ, but they waited until we vacated the area and went back to our rooms before they and their guests started their party outside.

I wouldn't particularly recommend anyone go to Tucumcari, but if they do I would recommend this place to stay - it looks way better than anything else there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater, ok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This motel was our first stop on our "Out West Adventure" this summer on our way to California. What set this motel apart from others we stayed at is the owners: their friendliness, helpfulness, and the "small town" feeling!! Both places they recommended to eat were great! They are most affordable.....the cheapest place we stayed including a Motel 6 stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 55 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Classic motor court lodging with today's modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the BEST beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time and experience road travel the way it used to be, get your kicks on Route 66! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.