We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night trip back to the glory days of travel on old Route 66” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Save
You added Motel Safari to your Saves list
722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book On-line & SAVE BIG!
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A one night trip back to the glory days of travel on old Route 66”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I did a cross country road trip form Glendale, Arizona to Washington DC. My first night out was in Tucumcarri, New Mexico. I had the pleasure of staying at Motel Safari. It is a preserved and remodeled typical roadside motel from the glory days of old Route 66. The room was immaculately clean. The owner is a gem. If you have a chance, skip the national chains in the area and give Motel Safari a chance to transport you back to a better time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    82
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
180
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siam Reap Cambodia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Gail the owner was very welcoming the rooms we very clean and the beds were very comfortables. They have kept some of the old features of the original hotel but made it bright and clean. We would definately stay there again and hope that lots more people do that are on Route 66. Good value for more.

Room Tip: Take a king and spread out on the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Met by a friendly face on arrival. On entering room light and air con were on and a radio playing a local station. Nice touch!
Retro modern decor, beautifully clean. Softest towels and most comfortable bed on our trip from Chicago to L.A. How nice to get out of the shower and have soft fluffy sweet smelling towels. Wish every hotel was as good.
An oasis in what could never be described as the prettiest town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location - off the historic Route 66 - is a bit off the main Interstate 40 highway and the area is starting to look pretty darn seedy. No fault of the hotel, but that's the honest truth. Lot's and lot's of run down and closed businesses.

That said, the room was clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable - and a real value for under $60. The dining choices nearby were pretty sparse as well - again, because of the size of the city and the fact that the old Route 66 has seen better days.

If I was going to stop in Tucumcari again, I'd definitely be back to the Motel Safari.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side offer shade for the outdoor chairs during the evening....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We chose Motel Safari based on tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely throwback decor. Our room was very clean, we were escorted personally to the room and shown how things like the a/c and satellite remote operated. The bed was "truly wonderful" and the price amazing for the value. Tucumcari is a shell of it's past but if you are willing to drive a few extra blocks to downtown away from the chain motels along I 40, you will see how charming it once was along Route 66. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Bev C.
Denton, TX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Motel Safari is a great retro motel on historic Route 66. It's clean and very reasonably priced, the beds are great, and the Egyptian cotton towels are fantastic. I also loved the honey-almond soap and shampoo that was provided. I wish there were more places like this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Don't let the outside fool you. It was very clean and great decorating if you're in to the 50 60's theme. Bed was great. Only complaint was we got there about 6:30 p.m. on a scorching day in August. The AC hadn't been on and even though it might cool it down for some folks, it cycled on and off even though it was set to stay on. SO between the noise and the thermostat set not to cool below probably 74-75, we really didn't sleep well. Any other time of year besides July and August, I think it would be great.
The front desk was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 56 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage motor hotel lodging with today's modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic plush pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.