We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern stylish refurb of an amazing classic route 66 motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book On-line & SAVE BIG!
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Tucumcari
1 review
“Modern stylish refurb of an amazing classic route 66 motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

We drove route 66 on our honeymoon and found this the best motel we stayed at on th whole journey!! Tucumcari is a lovelylittle town..so much history! And this motel was so well restored...modern styling with a retro feel! Incredibly comfy beds, all sheets etc were so clean and new...wish we could of stayed there longer..can not recommend enough!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
160
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Don't pass up this motel, due to it not being a known chain. Very nice Motel and the staff is very friendly. Personal service, wow I didn't know that still happened. :-) The clerk personally walked me to my room, showing me the amenities.

The bed was very comfortable, plenty of places in which to eat close by. Near route 66, so you get that ambience.

I will definitely stay again if I am every in that area. :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We travel from Arizona to Kansas City at least once a year. Tucumcari is at the halfway point of our trip but we only stayed in this town once due to our disappointment in accommodations. We decided to give it one more try and we are so delighted that we found the Motel Safari on TripAdvisor plus the online rate was beyond reasonable for these rooms.
The previous post said it all so I will not be repetitious but I must add that the bath towels are some of the plushist I have ever used. Keep in mind this is an updated 50's motel so there is no spacious vanity and in fact the only electrical outlet at the sink was in the overhead light. Just like when I was growing up! This is not the type of motel I would ever have considered in the past if I were driving down the road but I'm so glad we gave it a chance. In fact my husband stayed there again last night on his solo trip home....a welcoming place to get refreshed and start back on the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Safari is now one of our favourite places to stay on Route 66, but whether you're traveling the Mother Road or not, Motel Safari is the place to stay when you're in the town of Tucumcari. A classic 50s motel that has been thoughtfully, lovingly updated, the Safari retains a fantastic sense of 50s MCM swank while still being comfortable.

The proprietress was friendly and showed us directly to our room, which was clean and fresh with smart decor. The beds are comfortable, there is a desk for your things, and you can even open the windows if you like fresh air and birdsong. We were given great advice regarding where to eat and where we could find wine (it had been a long day on 66!) if we wanted some. Guests are welcome to sit on provided chairs outside their rooms. I imagine if you get the right crowd here all at once, it could be quite fun!

For the price and ambiance, I don't think you can do better in Tucumcari. We had a wonderful stay and next time we come through town, we'll definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have stayed there twice and will stay again. Excellent motel at a moderate price. The beds are super comfortable, plush bathtowels and room is VERY clean. Had a little problem with wifi on our 1st visit but it was remedied on our 2nd visit. Owners bend over backwards to make sure your stay is the best. There's a coffee pot in the room which is very handy. We also recommend eating at Del's. Delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you're driving the Mother Road, make it a point to stop here. The proprietors are very interested in meeting every traveller, ensuring the comfort of their guests, and guiding pilgrims on to future stops. The hotel is built in the DooWop architectural style and is very unique among classic hotels.
I prefer to stay at classic hotels because the owners are home town forlks trying to make a go of it among highly advertised competition. If you would like to see small town America survive, these are the places to stay.
Route 66 is a Community where word of mouth sales are honest and informative. While in Tucumcari; you should try "Del's Restaurant" for dinner and "Kix on 66" for breakfast. I highly recommend this place to any and all travellers, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This place was the most amazing bargain during our trip along Route 66. We were checked in by Gail who was very pleasant and adds a personal touch by being inquisitive just enough about your travels. Just a warning to future guests, the office is not open all the time and the best time to catch someone is first thing in the morning or around 3-4 pm in the afternoon. The office will be closed depending on errands or things that they have to do!

Our room, though basic, was spotless. Also, it was very spacious, which is hard to find in these old motels. The King bed was a new pillow top and extremely comfy, plus topped with plenty of soft pillows. Sheets were surprisingly high end as well as the thick, fluffy towels and Vanilla Pro Terra bath products. Wifi was fast and like a previous reviewer said, it depends where you are located as well as the device that you have. It was extremely warm during our stay and the A/C worked quite well.

Slight improvements that could be made to the rooms are a second bedside light and end table (there is only one on one side of the bed which is odd and inconvenient for a king bed) plus maybe a luggage rack or two. It was fairly awkward having to lay our suitcases on the floor. On a couple of occasions there was no hot water. However, we were paying $49.00 a night so these things in reality are no big deal.

This is a definite stop if you want a character motel and retro feeling of an overnight stay on Route 66 plus enjoy your creature comforts as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 55 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Classic motor court lodging with today's modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the BEST beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time and experience road travel the way it used to be, get your kicks on Route 66! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Motel Safari to your Saves list