We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Joint on Rt 66!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Route 66 Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Save
You added Historic Route 66 Motel to your Saves list
1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates Starting at $41.95
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Joint on Rt 66!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The owners are super friendly and genuinely nice- they care.
The place was built in the '50's and reminds me of any number of old Miami Beach joints. Art Deco/ Empire/ Modern maintained nicely. The room I stayed in was pretty authentic with just the right amount of turquoise Naugahyde, cheesy varnished piñon pine and horribly gaudy lampshades your favorite aunt Goldie used to have in her Coney Island beach bungalow encased in made-to-fit plastic sheathing.
The rug is perfect wall to wall and didn't feel like animals were living in between the warp and weft. Great pillows, mattress and clean starched sheets.
For the price, ALL chains ought to come take a look because this place is FABULOUS for the PRICE!
Book it now!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    61
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
64
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North America
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The price was right, but it is very noisy with the wall of glass that shakes any time someone closes a door near it, and you can hear every word that is spoken outside. When we drove in on "route 66" it looked to be a skid row/slum road, most buildings have been abandoned long ago with windows broken and boarded up. This hotel looked okay from the outside, and was a bed to sleep in, but the bathroom tile were askew and the drain looked like it needed lots of love and just wasn't up to our standards.

The bed was okay, the pillows were 3 inches thick and hard.

We shut off the lights, tv and were able to hear, not only the tv in the next room we were able to clearly hear all dialog from the tvs in both rooms on each side. It would be nice if when traveling with pets people had the option of staying in more modern rooms in nicer chain hotels.

We will keep driving next time. Sorry, driving Route 66 is depressing and the dilapidated buildings should be leveled and hauled away - at least in Tucumcari.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcfulton, Owner at Historic Route 66 Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
I find it almost incomprehensible that you have continued to negatively attack our small independent hotel over the months. While this hotel, like all hotels regardless of price or brand, is not perfect, I would gladly challenge anyone to find a superior hotel that is even remotely similarly priced - and that includes the chain motels. Furthermore, your party had reserved two rooms and as you prepared to check-in, I personally allowed you - at our expense and loss of income - to cancel both of your reservations and then stay in a pet-friendly standard double queen room with four adults and your animal. Why did I do this? I think you probably know - it was because your father (I presume) said that since your entire party was leaving early the next morning all that was required was "just a bed to sleep in for a few hours" because he wanted to save money. He repeated this nonsense about "only wanting a bed to sleep in for a few hours" while also asking for a discount the ENTIRE time I was personally trying to simply register your party into the hotel. It is absolutely bizarre that you entitle your negative review “If you want just a bed to sleep in for a few hours” when that is the exact same statement repeated ad nauseam by your father. Additionally, you stated later that you were "slumming" and would have rather stayed at the La Quinta Inn. Well, you could have, there is a nearly new La Quinta Inn (that offers pet rooms) less than a mile from us in Tucumcari that would rival many urban downtown hotels in terms of quality and amenities. It's a beautiful hotel. Its room rates are also - of course - about four times more than our room rates.

Michael Fulton, Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Mountains
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We rolled in late at night and had a very pleasant stay. We did a 5500 mile road trip, stayed at chains, much more expensive hotels...but this was one of our favorites! LOVE the decor and the room was very clean. Would stay here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I wanted to stay in Tucumcari on the way back from Tucson to K.C. I checked reviews before I left and came up with three possibles: The Blue Swallow, Safari and Historic Route 66. Blue Swallow only had two-person room for $79+tax (traveling solo - too high). Safari was $59+tax and wanted a credit card. I don't use credit cards, so on to the Historic Route 66. $39 with tax! This was a great place! Room was attractive, clean and quiet. Perfect! The Circa coffee shop across the parking lot had just what I needed (caffeine and sugar) the next morning to start the long pull back to K.C. I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed in a pet friendly room that had a bit of a smell. The bed was a bit uncomfortable. Overall the experience was good. Don't miss the lobby ..beautiful retro furniture.

Apart from some noisy truckers..good deal. I was surprised that that had semis park right in front like a real low class motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century time capsule of a thriving Rt. 66 in the good ole days. Our clean room offered comfortable beds, spic-n-span bathroom, finished with details of its original decor, details evident from the lobby to the coffee shop - Circa. Look for the airplane parked under the sign.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I think Tucumcari on a motorcycle trip. We picked this hotel based on web reviews and were not disappointed. The owner check as soon, and provided excellent service and some good tips on places to eat. He offered to share his covered parking and allowed us to park our bikes in the carport.

The room was nicely decorated and was comfortable. The beds are outstanding, and the pillows superb. Tucumcari is a gasping little town on route 66, but worth a visit. If you go, this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#4 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Route 66 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.