We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading home from Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Route 66 Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Save
You added Historic Route 66 Motel to your Saves list
1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates Starting at $41.95
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heading home from Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and thought the price couldn't be beat. While the property is old it is clean and u can tell the owners are doing things right in the way of improvements while keeping the original character of Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    61
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
64
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you want a 4-star motel, you probably won't want to stay here, but if you want some of the charm of the past for a great price, this is a great place. The owner was very friendly and helpful, but could tell she was worn out also. The bed was very comfortable. The room was fairly clean. There was good shower pressure. The best feature was the bathroom counter with inlaid stones. There was not clock, iron or hair dryer in the room, although there was a microwave and fridge. The location is great, right on the Historic Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great example of the way the Motels once used to be on Rt 66.
This is a nice clean motel and the price is right. The staff is friendly too.
Most of the town is dying but there are great reminders of how the town used to be. Thanks to some die hard Rt 66 Fans for keeping The Historic Rt 66 from being abandoned and buldosed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a really cute motel along Route 66 that exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. It has some retro features (wood paneling on the walls, etc), but the room was clean and well kept. The windows are a neat feature too

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After looking at the coupon booklets that you can get at gas stations and not caring for the options, we looked on tripadvisor.com for recommendations. We pulled in off the Interstate about 10:30 at night. The parking lot was full and I got one of the last rooms available. A suite with 2 queen beds. The room was huge!! We loved the décor. I think the room may have been recently remodeled. The carpet is new, the bedspreads and sheets are nice. The bathroom is a bit small, but what do you expect from a vintage bathroom? I didn't have anything to wipe down with the provided towel, but I think its a great idea (i.e., a towel to clean shoes or car windows or what have you, so you don't use one of the nicer towels). We stayed in Room 124 which doesn't have the wall of windows, which I personally liked better. It was really quiet that night. The refrigerator and microwave worked nicely and there were plenty of electrical outlets to plug in my various gadgets. The price was excellent. I could have had a cheaper priced room, but wanted the luxury of a refrigerator to keep my picnic basket contents cold. I like that the office stays open until midnight. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The ice machine is in the office and the office staff already has ice bagged for the guest's con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my second stay at the Historic Route 66 Motel. I love the atmosphere; not only the retro feel of the motel, but the hospitality of the owners, too.
This time, we grabbed some smoothies to go (yum), from the coffee house on the property. I took advantage of their on-site computer to verify route details and check the weather forecast. I had a lovely chat with the owner and I was on my way. I will always choose this hotel when I travel. No frills, but a locally owned, well-cared for property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here on our drive to California. Pulled in late, and the innkeeper had everything all ready to go within 5 minutes. We had a 2 double beds, and I tell you what. I have never slept better. They were sooooo comfy. The water from the shower head came out full force, but it felt awesome. Kinda like a massage after a long day of driving. Very cute nostalgic furniture, our family of 4 had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#4 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Route 66 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.