We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Route 66 Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Save
You added Historic Route 66 Motel to your Saves list
1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates Starting at $41.95
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Jasper, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most comfortable bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We've been traveling since April 5th, so we've stayed in lots of motels. This bed was the most comfortable of them all. Loved the retro look of the decor!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    61
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
64
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kellyville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

For 1 night even more was nice, the coffee shop was great in the morning, the lady was helpful and makes a great capachino. Nice town. Not far off I-40 but in a nice quiet area.

Room Tip: Room on the corner was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had stopped by the Historic Route 66 Motel last year while traveling through Tucumcari, although I did not stay at the motel on that trip. I was given a little tour by the owner though, so I decided then that our next trip through Tucumcari would include a stay here, the former Royal Palacio Motel.

Earlier this month we stayed two nights in adjacent rooms with queen beds: one room for us and one for our teenaged daughter. The rooms were great, very comfortable. Each room has at least some original furniture, as in the 1960s chairs and tables, and each room has a vanity made with petrified wood. It was very unique experience and we loved it!

This motel was built in 1964 (my birth year!) and it is nicely maintained. The owners have added some very nice art, and the mid century modern roots have been respected. We loved the floor to ceiling windows in each room.

We visited in mid-March and nights were cold and days were warm. There is a very substantial HVAC unit in each room which warmed or cooled the room in mere minutes. I can't imagine what the prior reviewer is talking about regarding a lack of heating. I think that person is thinking of another motel, as these HVAC units were in place when I visited the motel last year.

The beds were very comfortable, as were the linens. I really liked the bedspreads, which were a tasteful solid color instead of "chain motel dirt-hiding print". Everything was absolutely spotless. Amenities included bath and hand soap, and shampoo, and nice towels. There was not a hairdryer in the room (that I saw), but we had brought our own so we didn't even ask. The carpet looks to be a little older and a little worn, but I wore white socks to bed each night and they were totally clean after walking about in the room, which was not surprising as the owners obviously take good care of the motel.

Upon check-in we were given instructions for the wireless internet, which had a good signal in both our rooms, and the coffee shop. That was a nice, modern touch.

"Circa" is the on-site coffee shop. During our stay, they were only open morning hours, but apparently they are open later at other times. There was a "barrista" on duty, although we just did regular coffee both mornings. Breakfast options were quick and pre-prepared, but very convenient: V-8 and other juices, sausage and pancake, oatmeal, pastries, fresh fruit. Seating was comfortable and wireless internet was available. Circa was spotless and a great find.

Tucumcari is a great place to stop on a road trip. We stayed two nights because we didn't want to keep our teenager cooped up in the car too long. She loves retro stuff, so she loved the motel. We took in a movie at the Odeon, the vintage theater in town, probably from the 1950s. It wasn't the most recent movie, but we hadn't seen it and had a good time. We also visited the dinosaur museum, which was great. We also visited Ute Lake State Park and did a little Route 66 driving in the area.

I highly recommend this motel. We paid something close to $30 per room per night, plus tax? I'm not a fan of chain establishments, but I imagine the chain places on I-40 charge at least twice as much for a fraction of the passion as these folks put into the place. My advice: get off the interstate and stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, just tell them what matters when you book (or arrive). For us, adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We always look forward to a stop at our favorite motel. Mike and Kathleen treat us like family. We say every time we cross through. (About 6 times a year now for the past 4 years) If we're coming in late they turn the heat or A/C on for us half an hour before we get there. The price is great. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bed is very comfy. They have a nice new breakfast area and specialty coffee house for real good prices. They also keep all the "riff-raff" out so they can maintain their high standards and comfortable homey feel. We try to work out our cross country trips back and forth from Phoenix so that we can have an overnight here in Tucumcari at the Historic Route 66! You should too.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. You will not get a bad room here. Owners would rather leave a room unsold than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Historic Route 66 Motel is a terrific find! The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and thought this was an EXCELLENT value. The coffee shop on site has a variety of breakfast offerings as well as coffee, tea, and cocoa for a reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our second stay at the Historic Route 66 Motel. Enjoyed our first stay there, so we returned when in the area again. Very clean, great bed (in fact our best night's sleep on our trip), and the owner is very delightful and accommodating. Our only complaint is the water pressure in the shower; however, the older facility can account for that. The accommodations provided great nostalgic memories for me, as I stayed in Tucumcari, on Route 66 in '66 & '87 on family trips. The motel was a great value; we would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you like retro, excellent rates, comfortable beds and good location off I-40 then this is the place to choose. We plan of staying here on our return trip home in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#4 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Route 66 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.