We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating between heaven and earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Water Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fire Water Lodge to your Saves list
Fire Water Lodge
311 Broadway, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 tripavisor discount
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Floating between heaven and earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I left the world behind for three days of bliss floating in the outdoor tub in the Eucalyptus room. Between soaks, bike rides along the river, and short hikes around Elephant Butte Lake we reconnected and refocused on each other. The room was clean and neat, staff were friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was a nice addition. I enjoyed healing benefits from the hydrotherapy. As a hot springs devote, I know this is the highest quality water in comfortable and clean atmosphere. Few places in the world offer geothermal mineral tubs in individual quarters, and this is one of the best, in terms of relaxation and pain relief. The only problem is you have to book early.

Room Tip: Sunflower and Eucalyptus offer outdoor tubs. Agave and Datura are my favorite indoor tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    110
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
243
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

To Everyone involved with the up keep and dad to day operation of FIRE WATER LODGE: we spent aug 16-18 at the lodge. The quietness is unbelievable. Rooms are spotless and beds are just the right softness/harness. Room9 needs an up grade on ac or it needs to be turned on early the morning of the arrival. The room was almost unbearable. We purchased a box fan so we could have air blowing a breeze over our sweat ridden bodies. Other than that, having the bathing tub in our room worked wonderfully. I soaked endlessly. My aches and pains are not quite noticeable as before. The fire water lodge is a serene quiet area conducive to complete relaxation. Thanks for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great Room! This was our first visit to the Fire Water Lodge and we loved it! While the property is older and located in the original part of town, we found our room to be outstanding! Extremely clean and well decorated. Dawn, the property manager, was amazing and very helpful. The location is perfect as it is in walking distance of several good restaurants.

I would highly recommend the Fire Water Lodge to anyone who wants a different experience in lodging. Great atmosphere and a very fun place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly renovated Agave Room. Very clean and spacious. The mineral bath was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are from Australia on a road trip around Arizona and New Mexico. We stayed here after reading reviews on TA. From the street this place doesn't look much....... Looks can deceive the rooms are clean, well laid out and the mineral spring tub all I hoped for. We ate at the Italian round the corner and had eggplant parmigiana on Richard's advice ....it was excellent. Plus the coffee at the cafe next door was the best I've had in this country, If ever we return to T or C we would happily stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here because of all of the great reviews. I don't understand it! Why are there so many great reviews of this place? It is run down, the service was horrible, no privacy, it is unsafe and very cold.

The Eucalyptus room was very dirty and falling apart. The floor is made of plywood and was separating from the wall leaving gaps to the outside (see photos I posted). When we checked in, trash was on the counter (empty coffee cup) and there was leftover food and crumbs in the kitchenette area. There was bottle of oil left from a previous tenant too. There is no central heat (see photo). There was one space heater in there and we were freezing cold. We had to ask for two additional heaters just to keep the place warm. There were no smoke detectors. We felt uncomfortable running space heaters all night without smoke detectors at the very least. There was a paper plate taped to the ceiling in the bathroom (see photo). There were huge gaps in the "privacy" fence surrounding our "private" outside 'soaking' area and a man walked by, glanced in, and saw me stark naked. There was an unusable broken chair sitting on "our" patio (see photo). All in all, this was the worst overnight experience of our lives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an amazing place. The rooms are quaint and always clean. Every time we say here I have a life changing experience. Having the mineral spring tubs in the room is amazing! The Italian restaurant is absolutely fabulous. We can't believe it's here in T or C.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main area are more communal. The Agave & Sunflower rooms are beautiful but away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in the Waterfall Room (so named because the soaking tub fills up with a waterfall effect) and found it to be extremely comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever encountered on a vacation trip and I loved the decor of the room (Southwestern/Mexican) with talavera tiles, serapes for window coverings, complete with fridge and microwave, coffeemaker, bottled water, the works! Additionally, the staff was as friendly and helpful as could be. I would definitely recommend this place to visitors to T or C. It has a definite retro feel as it was originally a travel-court/motel and has retained much of the original ambiance, which I found quite charming. The center courtyard has chairs and tables, which I took advantage of while reading and relaxing in the cool evening breeze under a palm tree.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Waterfall Room, both for it's charm and it's immediate proximity to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Address: 311 Broadway, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Fire Water Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Water Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.