We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Los Arcos Steak and Lobster House

Los Arcos Steak and Lobster House
1400 N Date St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
575 894 6200
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were told this was the best restaurant in town, but have to disagree (Bella Luca is the best). The service was fine, but the food was merely adequate. We had the calamari as an appetizer. It was fine, but a little heavy on the breading. My steak was good, but gristly. Not what I'd expect for such a high, almost exorbitant, price. The side vegetables were clearly from a Bird's Eye frozen mix. I would give the a 3 (average) rating, but the menu prices were way too high for what it offers, so overall, I have to go with a 2.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    63
    30
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, very pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The menu is extensive as is the wine list and bar offerings. They have years of experience and the food is very good, but you need to sit on your wallet because it's going to cost you plenty. If you're OK with that, Los Arcos is a great place for steaks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice restaurant with separate 'rooms' for eating in which created a nice ambience with subdued lighting. Food was good. Service was discreet and efficient.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SO SO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The steaks are cooked properly but the side dishes like vegggies seem overcooked, flavorless.....It does have one of the few full bars in town and keep regular and predictable hours...RARE for Truth or Consequences businesses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good service is the most outstanding feature here. I wanted to see whether dinner at this place was truly worth the price. It's not. The food is just average (I had blackened prime rib) and would have benefited from some vegetables that weren't overcooked. I'll give it a pass on future visits to T or C.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Arcos Steak and Lobster House also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to Los Arcos Steak and Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Arcos Steak and Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.