We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ted Turner Suite special
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Room was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Willing to accommodate difficult schedules and dietary restrictions. We felt very pampered.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    111
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
358
45
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Excellent staff. Simple and nice room....european style...lovely. Very good experience with the mineral spring bath. Healthy breakfast with organic, fresh ingredients as well as home made bread and pastries. Very good services. We had very good massages. Well worthwhile a visit to Truth or Consequence to stay at the Spa.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

The spa and massage were first-class, but the room was just one step up from a renovated motel--not worth the exaggeraged price! I had a room with two small beds--about the width of an Army cot--and a sink about the same size as the one I shared on board my U.S. Navy ship. Although the bathtub was a newer-looking, jacuzzi-style, my room featured only a telephone and very small television, placed on an equally small cabinet at a level that prevented viewing unless I moved the bed and brass frame which obscured the television. There were none of the other amenities one usually associates with a room costing over $150!! [e.g. coffee maker, refrigerator or microwave] I'm sure many/most people don't check into a lodge in the desert in order to watch television, but I had to drown out the voices in the hallway and the room next-door as the walls are too thin to enjoy any solitude. Enjoy the spa--it's first class--but save your money and stay at a motel near I-25 for half the price!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

From the minute we walked in it was a pleasant surprise. Everyone went out of there way to take care of us. They made sure we had everything we needed, took us on tour of the spa and scheduled all the activities that we wanted to do. The reason I only gave the room 4 stars is the bed was too hard for me.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The staff was awesome, the rooms were clean, the breakfast good. Great place to stay.
A bit of a mix up on the spa services. We were well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I drove down to T or C from Albuquerque for a one night anniversary celebration. We arrived to the small, quaint town of T or C without any preconceptions of the spa other than a recommendation from my parents. What we experienced was a first class spa in a quiet and romantic setting. The service was impeccable. The staff helped us to book our hot tub soak, schedule a massage, and were available for any need, such as wine glasses. The natural hot spring tubs are fabulous and private. We had three separate soaks in different tubs for over 30 minutes each and all were included in the room stay and/or the spa services. What a deal! Several local restaurants are in walking distance and have extensive menus and wine lists. We were pleasantly please and plan to go back as soon as possible. For those who are looking for a quiet, secluded, and romantic getaway, we recommend Sierra Grande.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The staff was quite amiable and upbeat but there were several disappointments in the accommodations. The downstairs hot spring fed tub we had in our room was very small. Two small people (such as my partner and myself) could not even fit into it comfortably nor is it possible (at least in Winter) to fill it with all hot spring water since it takes too long for the water to get hot.

The Feng Shui of the room is very bad with the door near to foot of the bed and the headboard at the window. It has the feel of this having been some dead space in the architecture of the building that was crammed into being a guest room. Huge mistake from a design perspective.

We had noise from the people above us. Floor joists creak at a huge pitch and the staff failed to quiet the rowdy guests above us who made noise till past 2AM.

For 129 dollars you are much better off going to the Black Stone which requires some forethought since they book well in advance. There you get triple the room space with a real hot spring tub in your room and generous kitchenette as well as actual peace and quiet.

I go to T or C quite a lot and this was sad for me since it was my partner's first time. Even the Bel-Air is more generous and comfortable for the money in spite of its location on the main drag.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Address: 501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places and featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love.' Offering visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the Hot Spring Waters. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary continental breakfast features freshly baked goods that use local ingredients whenever possible Madlyn Rose organic skin care products, crafted locally are featured in our spa and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Grande Hotel Truth Or Consequences
Sierra Grande Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.