We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good but Room 2 Improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ted Turner Suite special
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good but Room 2 Improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I think this lodge has the potential to become outstanding! The rooms were cozy however, the housekeeping wasn't the best. We found stains above the headboard area that appeared questionable... That was a little gross!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and also taking the time to let us know something that needs to be addressed. We strive to provide excellent cleanliness throughout our entire property and we will address this immediately. We hope you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    111
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
357
45
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I drove out to T or C from El Paso for a relaxing weekend. The hotel was easy to locate as the town is quite small, yet it stood out like an oasis. We checked in and imagine our surprise when we walked into the room and the room was obviously not ready. The bed was unmade and towels were strewn about on the floor. We immediately went downstairs to complain. The front desk staff apologized profusely and asked if we'd wait a few minutes for the room to be prepared. The room was spotless and ready for us within twenty minutes! The second-floor room was roomy, comfortable, clean and inviting. We reserved one of the outdoor tubs for the afternoon. I cannot tell you how AMAZING the experience was. Soaking was rejuvenating, relaxing and simply out of this world! After our soak we went out to dinner to an incredible restaurant (Bella Luca) down the street. We were stopped by the front desk staff on our way back. Again, they apologized profusely for the oversight during our check-in and offered us a voucher for a free one-night stay whenever we choose to return, even offering for us to use it for this particular stay. Amazing attention to detail! The next day we scheduled another soak early in the morning and a leisurely breakfast at the hotel. The entire stay was wonderful, relaxing and we will definitely be returning. Even without them offering us a voucher for a free stay, we had already decided we would most definitely be returning soon. Loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we appreciate your patience with us. We are happy to hear you will be returning. Please let us know how we may assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was our second visit to the Sierra Grande Lodge and Spa because our first time was absolutely perfect. This time........not so much and only because they have changed out the mattresses that are hard as a rock. I asked one of the gals that works there about the beds and she told me they had changed out the mattresses on the Queen beds. We visited during the Summer of 2013 and wanted to stay longer because it was so wonderful there. Everything else is great and the breakfast choices have gotten much better since new ownership. The soaks were great and the atmosphere very relaxing, but if you can't sleep comfortably, there is no point. We left early and didn't even spend New Year's there as we'd planned because we both had sore backs. Was also told that they were going to upgrade to King beds, which would be great, although the rooms are small with the Queens in them. I just hope they don't use the same mattress company/style. We were both bummed!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for returning to our beautiful property. We are upset that you did not sleep as well as you would have liked and take pride in our comfortable bed and bedding. We are unaware of any changes to the mattress or bed spring since you last visited with us, but will certainly closely inspect the mattress in the room in which you stayed in an effort to ensure absolute comfort on your next visit. We very much appreciate your business and your willingness to share your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Sierra Grande is the best hotel with mineral baths in T or C! Their rooms are clean, comfy, and the beds are high-end. Room had a spa-tub for two with tap water or mineral water option. But, the room also came with two "soak times" in their beautiful stone and tile mineral baths (just a walk across the lobby). One is large enough for 5-7 people but we used it for just two. What a delight. Their smaller, two-person baths are really nice two and come with a shower in the room. Robes and towels provided. Continental breakfast was included and was fresh and varied. Lots of great options in their rooms for two, two + two, or a group, including a two bedroom casita.

Bring an extra blanket in the winter (their windows are still old-style and leak). But each room has a powerful air conditioner with remote control for summer.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony access are warmer in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the balcony twin room and had an amazing time! The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The baths are wonderful, both inside and out with the magical mineral water making me feel so good. We are planning a sisters retreat next year! I love this place!

Room Tip: La Casita is perfect for a group room plus have your own soak bath. The balcony rooms were nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for starting your 2014 year off with us. We appreciate your stay and your feedback. We look forward to your return with your retreat. Please feel free to contact us anytime and let us know how we may assist you in planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been going to this lodge for 8 years now. Every time we go we have the same
excellent experience. It's like a home away from home. All of the staff is very friendly
and willing to do anything to make your stay wonderful. It is very clean, beautifully decorated.
The spa therapist I had, Dietrie was excellent. I selected the Ashiatsu treatment which was
just amazing. The private springs they have on their property are all different but so relaxing.

Thank you all again for a restful, peaceful stay.

Lisa Bauer, Santa Fe, New Mexico

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for returning for your 8th year! We are glad you had such an excellent experience with your stay and your spa treatment with Dietrie. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I found the Sierra Grande Lodge and Spa to be a little hidden oasis. There's not much to the town but this little lodge and spa are so relaxing, clean, updated, and beautiful that it makes up for it. The building is beautiful. The rooms are lovely. The spa is amazing. The mineral baths are magical. The front desk staff is accommodating, professional and very friendly. The house keeping staff was so friendly and polite. The spa technicians I had the pleasure of booking were both amazing at what they do. I had some particular issues and both of them were very knowledgeable on what to do and didn't mind working on me even in the midst of illness, which was so unexpected and aided in my healing greatly. My sessions were both extremely relaxing and effective. Relative to big city spa prices, theirs were very affordable and I was able to upgrade and add services easily.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGrandeLodge, Front Office Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are very happy that you found us. Thank you for taking the time to review us and let others know about your experience here. We look forward to being able to provide a wonderful experience each time that you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Address: 501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places and featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love.' Offering visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the Hot Spring Waters. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary continental breakfast features freshly baked goods that use local ingredients whenever possible Madlyn Rose organic skin care products, crafted locally are featured in our spa and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Grande Hotel Truth Or Consequences
Sierra Grande Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.