We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, a wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ted Turner Suite special
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing, a wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was a great find in our travels across the country and recommended to us by a local. A great setting, with great curb appeal, tucked away on a side street. When we checked in I was suffering miserably from allergies. The staff took note and recommended a mineral bath which was included in our nights stay. We went to our room which was nicely done and comfortable. After dinner I took the mineral bath and again the next morning. This was all in a private area away from other guests. The bath was relaxing and by the time we left I could not believe my allergies were gone. Breakfast was health food, but the scones were absolutely delicious. A nice decorative area is available for guest for breakfast or you can eat outside in comfortable, lovely surroundings. Upon leaving we were relaxed and will definitely recall our stay. When in Truth or Consequences, there is no other place to stay. Pricer than other places, but it is a good value and leaving relaxed after the baths makes it worth it. We do not live in the area, but if we did, it would be a great place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are so happy you were able to rejuvenate and relax in the middle of such a long journey. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences. We hope you will be able to make it back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    111
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
356
45
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a surprise Birthday present for my husband it was an awesome visit, every thing was perfect - especially the staff!! We haven't felt this relaxed in ages and we intend to be back as soon as possible. Tom and Linda

Room Tip: Loved the bacony off of our room upstairs. Beautiful view of Turtleback Mountain and a full moon to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Happy Birthday Linda! We are so so happy you had a wonderful and relaxing time. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Sierra Grande Lodge is awesome. The staff is super friendly and accomdating. This was our first visit to a hot spring, it was more amazing than imagined. We had a wonderful weekend and plan to return.

Room Tip: Reserve a package deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much! We are so happy you were able to come stay and enjoy the Hot Springs. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I visited Sierra Grande for the first time, and we are so happy! The staff is so customer-centric oriented and the Lodge & Spa provide the atmosphere needed to relax. We have decided to make yearly pilgrimage trips to Sierra Grande to enjoy this wonderful place tucked away from all the noise and bustle of big cities. Two thumbs up for Sierra Grande Lodge!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so very much! It was absolutely delightful to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next year.... or before!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was a return trip to the spa for my daughter and I. This year it was extremely important to return to the only location to date were we both had experianced that much needed quite, peaceful setting which allows for the body, mind, and soul to come together in harmony as one, as my daughter is battling breast cancer and she needed this down time between her treatments.

Again, thank you Margaret, Sazy and Robin for making our stay at the Sierra Grand so enjoyable! We will see you again soon!

Cheers,
Debra and Jenn

Room Tip: All rooms are charming. There is not a pool, however why would you need one with the mineral spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
It is truly an honor to have you both stay with us, we are all so inspired and moved by your optimism, strength and courage. We are delighted that this is a place to come for some much needed rejuvenation and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is my fourth time at Sierra Grande, but on this particular trip I traveled with a friend visiting from New York City and she was very pleased with her stay. She was seeking a relaxed atmosphere and that is exactly what she got. I have visited with friends a couple of times and I am always raving about the great service and calm atmosphere of Sierra Grande. The staff are attentive and the rooms and baths are in top shape. Their continental breakfast is a delicious little treat to start the morning off right. I will continue to visit them and will continue recommending this place. I got engaged here and my fiance could not have picked a better place for such an unforgettable night!

Room Tip: The rooms with shared balcony are perfect for a romantic getaway or to enjoy the beautiful southwest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences! It is always wonderful to have you stay with us and we are so happy your friend was able to relax and unwind as well. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Downright wonderful spa and hotel, especially considering that T or C is somewhat of a remote location.

Staff is extremely kind and hospitable; you get the "spa treatment" here 24/7. For example, we came down late to breakfast one day, and they insisted on setting all the food back up, just for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGLManagement, General Manager at Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We consider it a huge compliment when guests are able to sleep in, so thank YOU! It was such a pleasure to meet you and hear about all your wonderful adventures, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Address: 501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places and featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love.' Offering visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the Hot Spring Waters. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary continental breakfast features freshly baked goods that use local ingredients whenever possible Madlyn Rose organic skin care products, crafted locally are featured in our spa and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Grande Hotel Truth Or Consequences
Sierra Grande Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.