We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taos
St Louis, MO
1 review
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was a really nice hotel. The room we stayed in had a king, queen, and a living room. It was very clean, very well maintained, and breakfast was nice. We were pleasantly surprised and felt that this was nicer than other Comfort Inns that we have stayed at in the past. The location is good. It was easy to find and close to the attractions of Taos.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    19
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
24
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We decided to visit this hotel after a suggestion from a friend who lives in the area. We stayed at Santa Fe Suites the night before which was comparable to this hotel. In reading the reviews I was hesitant because of the reports of uncleanliness. At this point when you're travelling in a group of four, you don't need fancy but clean and simple.
According to our friend who lives in the area, the place was recently remodeled and the showers and toilet are newer. I'm not sure why the reviews are so low given the price we paid (under 90) but we're very satisfied. They have plenty of pillows and there are two tvs.
I've stayed at the Ritz, W, and other boutique hotels which are absolutely luxurious but I have to say at the given price point what more can you ask for? I don't like how people expect to pay for a two star hotel and expect five star amenities. You're not paying for ambiance and I'd really wish the reviews would reflect that. This seemed to be the problem I was getting in reviews around Taos and Santa Fe.
The shower pressure is good, the decor is definitely dated and not my taste. I wish they'd put a trashcan in the bathroom. The suites are VERY spacious. There's a separate room for a sofa and TV while the bedroom fits a king and queen bed with space to spare. The bathroom arrangement had the sink outside of the toilet/shower. We have wireless access but only because the we stayed closer to the lobby. The staff is helpful, albeit not the most efficient.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Had a very pleasant 5 night stay over the Labor Day weekend at the Comfort Inn Suites Taos.
We had booked a home through VRBO website, and upon arrival in Taos at 10:00pm, we found out house was not accessible without 4-wheel drive. The home was down a 3 mile “dirt” road with huge divots and pot holes the size of moon caters. The person that rents the home did not mention this to us and unfortunately we were in a compact rental car. We then decided to park the car and try walking to the home, after a 45 minute walk we arrived at the home to find it had no AC...And no ceiling fans, and hot as Hades inside, with this problem and the possibility of damage to the rental car due to the condition of the road, we decide to bail on the house. This left us scrambling for a room at 11:00 PM on an up coming Labor Day weekend, not an east task. We got out the phone book and began calling hotels and motels that could accommodate us, many could only accommodate us for 1 or 2 nights, not the full 5 nights we needed. Finally it came down to Hampton Inn and Comfort Suites which both had a room for the full 5 nights and happen to be right across the street from each other, so we headed that way.
We checked Hampton Inn first as it’s a newer hotel, they did not have a king bed as we would have liked, they only twin beds available but I decided to take a look anyway as we were tired from our trip. …The room was very tiny, with no mini - fridge or micro wave, and not up to the price they were asking, we politely declined the room at Hampton Inn and went across the street to Comfort Suites. The room was 10.00 less and the room was a suite with king size bed, with fridge and micro wave, which for the price was a great deal.
At first glance this motel might not do anything for you as it an older property, but by the end of our stay the Comfort Suites had won us over.
The staff is top notch…very friendly and really seems genuinely happy you are staying with them.
The complimentary breakfast in the mornings was a good way to start the day, nothing fancy, but was good enough for us.
They did have a pool but it was located in the back of the motel and between the buildings, ok for a dip but nothing to look at.
They had resident bats on the side entrance door that hung out there every night, it made coming back to the motel a hair raising experience but didn’t bother us too much as we got in the door as quickly as possible. The bats never moved from the upper corner of door, thankfully.
Only a few negatives, the bathroom fan was very loud,,,and comes on when you turn on the light…the AC is a window unit and could be considered loud but we liked sleeping to the white noise it made so not a problem for us.
The toilets took what seemed like forever to flush, making you feel nervous it wouldn’t complete flush…it eventually did…
Walls are very thin and noise from the hall can be heard easily.
The motel could use a bit more light in the room, seemed very dim inside and the light fixtures were a bit older.
On the positive side, great location…excellent water pressure from shower, nice pillows and sheets. The beds were ok, Ive had better and worse…middle of the road,
I did not smell any musty odors as previous reviewers mentioned.
The lobby is nice, and they have a computer that guest can use. The staff was kind enough to print out a few things I needed for my flight on my return trip.
We only used the housekeeping service a few times and they did a good job,,, we put out a do not disturb sign on the door and when we came back form breakfast a note was under our door telling us they came by but didn’t clean due to the sign and if we needed anything let the from desk know.
I got a newspaper some morning, some mornings I didn’t. When I did get one they seemed to give you what they had at the time, one day it was USA Today, then next day Albuquerque newspaper, no big deal, I read what they gave me.
I was very happy with comfort suites. Yes it’s a bit older and can sometimes show it age, but cant we all from time to time? Doesn’t mean we still don’t have a lot of life left in us and I expect that the case with Comfort Suites Taos…they will be welcoming guest and travelers for years to come.
Kudos to the staff, thanks for making our stay pleasant and fun, we look forward to our return visit to Comfort Suites and Taos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

I have stayed here a few times, much older facility. Staff is very helpful, wonder ig they are ownership, business center is glorified hallway console, rooms are straight out of Brady Bunch era. That said, the facilities are clean and spacious and location is central to some good restaurants. No workout facility can be problematic for local weather but for determined runner I recommend taking highway towards angel fire, very beautiful once you get a mile or two out for shorter routes head away from the main road to small homes in back of hotel.

Pros: Friendly staff, spacious rooms, near good mexican food

Cons: Old facilities, in

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Large suite with separated sitting area with small refrigerator and microwave. Very comfortable king and queen beds. Continental breakfast was better than average since it had a egg choice each day in addition to waffle making. Get to breakfast by 8:30 or so, otherwise the eggs may run out. This was a convenient location for our family as we were skiing in Sipapu rather than TSV. Hot tub was outside and could have been warmer, but it's kept uncovered, so that may explain temperature.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Walked into hotel, and attendant gave us a great rate of 80/night for 3 nights. Room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Only problem was that the entry door was kinda broken. We had to use force to get it to close. Overall, great stay.

  • Liked — clean, spacious room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Great front desk manager (Chris) gave me a rate half of the snooty Hampton Inn manager - smart since it was a quiet weekend and that ment my money went to their hotel rather than anyone else. He was very freindly and knowledgable on the area. Great person to deal with.

The room was nice, large, clean and well appointed. The only downside was no wireless internet in the rooms.

All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1500 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Taos
Comfort Suites Taos
Taos Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.