We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here during the arts festival. Omar at the front desk was exceptional. He was so nice and accommodating. The rooms are a nice setup, as I was working and my boyfriend was relaxing. The pool is heated and very inviting. The cleanliness and upkeep could be better.

Room Tip: Ask for Omar to help you, he will take care of you. First floor rooms have sliding doors out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    19
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
24
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sapulpa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were pleased with our choice of hotel. The front desk was friendly and helpful; the room was clean and spacious and the help for the breakfast area was the most congenial, accommadating and respectful we have ever experienced. Every part of this hotel was clean. Even housekeeping personnel was friendly and went beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is obviously a chain hotel, so you expect a rather generic experience, and that's what you get. The room (2 Queens) was spacious, with a separate area for sitting and watching TV or doing work on a laptop at a small table. The bathroom configuration is a little strange in that the wet area is separated from the sink and place to hang your clothes (not a closet) by a dresser and TV. It's minor, just weird.

The furnishings and finishes are basic. The feel is a little bit sad and dated, but they are in the middle of a long-term renovation, so it will be interesting to see what it's like in a couple years. The front desk person said they had just put in a small gym and were soon to replace all the bedding, then this, then that...

My room key was very temperamental and took several tries to open the room every time I used it. (I should have gone back to get a new one but kept forgetting.)

My room was on the second floor, right off the main lobby atrium, so I was worried about noise, but it was quiet all the time.

I never ate there because I was attending an event at the neighboring Sagebrush Inn, which provided both breakfast and lunch, and I ate out for dinner every night.

The people were nice enough to transact business.

I chose the place for the convenience to my event and plan to stay there again. I'm only there to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were going through Taos, NM when my motorcycle broke down. The staff at Comfort Suite went well out of their way to assist us. They let us use there conference room to sit in why we waited for the bike to get fixed. When it took another day they went of their way to make our stay the best possible. When the gentlemen at the motorcycle shop would not call me back Jennifer Matsuzaki actually went to the softball fields to find him. Jennifer was the greatest hotel manager in the WORLD!!! Jennifer and the staff made a terrible situation much better. The rooms are incredibly clean and the hotel in general was the best we stayed in all week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Used a CS in Hot Springs..very nice. Decided to try here...worn out...needs paint and a redo...nice size room. Helpful staff...pool area pathetic. Settee in room hard as a rock to sit on
Just skip the place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstsville, AL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Comfort Suites is a great brand. Their hotels are top notch and they are clean and upscale. This hotel, clearly something else prior to Comfort Suites, has large rooms, but they're not suites by a long shot. They are large rooms with a little extra area for a couch. The rooms are out of date. The decor is a dinghy color scheme of olive green and burgundy. The lobby is attractive but the halls and stairwells are dreary. The room was out of date but clean. The bed was uncomfortable due to too much padding under the sheets with those fake pillow stop covers. That said, the rooms were quiet and cozy. The pool and hot tub are afterthoughts, stuck in a concrete space between two wings of the hotel. There was no elevator available so the dank, dark stairs were utilized to get from one floor to the other. This hotel is also far from the wonderful center of Taos, where you can walk anywhere for art galleries and restaurants. This hotel is at the furthest southern edge of town, requiring driving to go anywhere fun in Taos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

WE were attending a family reunion and had made reservations months in advance with the understanding that all our family members would be able to stay on the same floor in close proximity to each other. At the time my other family made reservations at the Comfort Inn, there were no rooms for myself so I booked across the street at the Hampton Inn. Two days before one of my brothers was unable to attend the reunion, so I jumped on his reservation and was told no problem, and assumed his confirmation number with no problem. However, before assumping the confirmation number, and cancelling my cheaper rate hotel, I wanted to make sure that this would mean I would be in the room contingent to my other brother. I was told no problem and booked the room. On the day before I was contacted by the manager who was very rude from the minute I answered the phone, I was told that they could not honor my request because the people who were in the room that I requested had decided to stay another night and that I would be placed in another wing, on another floor of the motel. They have a policy of not moving a person from a room in they are in if they decide to stay another night. I told her this was unacceptable as I cancelled my reservations at the Hampton at a cheaper rate because I understood that I would have a room next to my family. The manger then told me she didn't think it was a big deal, all i had to do was walk across the hotel to be with my family and I told her that was not the point. I could have walked across the street from the Hampton Inn if that was the case. She then told me to book a room at the Hampton Inn (!!!!). I told her if it was possible I would, but the fiestas were in town that weekend and all the hotels were booked solid. After some prolonged silence and more rude exchanges she proceeded to hang up on me. To add injury to insult (and I can't help but wonder if it was retaliation) our room was not cleaned that day and we came back to the motel to find towels on the floor, overflowing trash cans and unmade beds. When I pointd this out to the desk clerk he told me all the cleaning staff had gone home and all they could offer were clean towels. When I addressed this with the manager the next day she offered me a 15% off stay on our next visit which is worthless because I will never go back there again!! To be fair I called corporate office and got a 10% refund but very much disagree with a policy that puts a customer who at the last minute decides to stay another night above someone else who had resevations for this two months in advance. It is just plain unfair. At the very least, good customer service would after I was told that I couldn't be in the room next to my famly, that a portion of my room cost would be comped because of the inconvenience, instead of being treated like I was breaking some sort of law by that manager. The only bright light was Omar the clerk who did his best to be helpful and was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1500 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Taos
Comfort Suites Taos
Taos Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.