We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies from Georgia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Fernando de Taos to your Saves list
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
“Ladies from Georgia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visited in early November and stayed at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos. Management was excellent and very helpful with assisting us on booking a room at our next stop. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    27
    32
    45
See reviews for
56
52
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Capitan, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After reading several negative reviews, I was leery of booking a stay at Hotel Don Fernando. With two parents and four teenagers in our party, and a planned stay of three nights, we needed adequate space with an affordable price. I contacted the hotel, and Joshua, the Manager, responded quickly with a suggestion that we book a suite featuring a king bedroom, separate living area, and an adjoining double bedroom. This space worked perfectly for us! The living area featured a fireplace, sofa, chair, fridge, micro, bar sink, tv, desk, bathroom, and plenty of space for our coolers and food. Our king bedroom had a comfortable bed, large dresser, and tv. The adjoining double room housed our four teens. It, too, was very roomy, and included a table and chairs, tv, two double beds, dresser, and spacious bathroom. There was a lot of closet and storage space in both rooms which was great for our snowboarding gear. Bathroom vanity areas had lots of room, and our showers had good water pressure with abundant hot water. Our rooms were clean and smelled fine. As for amenities, we enjoyed our cooked-to-order breakfast each day. We were offered four meal options: cheese omelet with potatoes and toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and french toast. Cold cereals, milk, coffee, and orange juice were also available. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub each night. Our teens enjoyed the pool table. There are arcade style video games, books, and board games available to guests. The hotel looks more like an apartment or condo complex with several rooms located in each two-story building. Parts of the exterior and interior are in need or repair or updating. During our stay, workers were updating and repairing various parts of the hotel with more updates and upgrades planned. The atrium housing the pool and hot tub needed heat as the air was very cold while the water temp was warm. They are taking bids for the heating system, so once it's working, swimming and sitting in the hot tub will be even more enjoyable. All of the staff members we encountered were helpful, friendly, and smiling. Our experience warrants five stars, but I'm awarding a four star rating because the facility isn't yet perfect. We would like to see: the addition of meat to the breakfast offerings, expanded cable tv channels (HGTV please!), improved function in the hot tub (repaired jets, more bubbles), and some furniture and product replacement or upgrade as the sofa in our room had thin cushions and worn upholstery while pillows and towels were thin and small. These are trivial, unimportant details for us, but may be of concern to other travelers. We are expecting to see good things happening at Hotel Don Fernando, and will stay there again the next time we visit Taos.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and had a corner room with an adjoining room. I believe all rooms are access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Had issues with the first room I checked into but was assisted by a lovely and caring front desk person named Melissa. Not only did she get me a excellent room but she accommodated my entire stay. Over all Hotel Don Fernando knows how to treat there guests right!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaos, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comment about Melissa and her care of you.

You are so thoughtful to comment; we will pass this on to her of course.

Many thanks,
Eric - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived to Don Fernando a lot earlier than the scheduled check-in time. We were welcomed regardless by the nice manager, Josh. My boyfriend and I had a lot of misfortunes before we arrived and Josh was sure to leave his card in case we needed anything. We were happy with the staff and accomodations. Go support a local business in Taos!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaos, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for including our GM Josh in your review. He is here to help.

Yes, we are a local business and all the money that we make stays in NM.

We are under new management and have begun a renovation of the all the facilities. The hot tub is back, the restaurant is back, we have a games room with both electronic and board games, a small library, jigsaw puzzles and as always our free hot breakfast.

Thanks for staying,
Guest Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised when we stopped here. We wanted to stay in an affordable place where the atmosphere wasn't so sterile. We had stayed at the Super 8 on our previous trip, but wanted something with more personality. Hotel Don Fernando was priced so reasonably that we thought there had to be a catch. While we were inquiring at the desk the manager came out and said we could have a suite for the same price. We were a little dubious and asked to see the room. It was charming, with a living room with a fireplace (complete with Duralogs) and a very comfortable king bed and an updated, large bathroom. We could easily have driven home for the night, but were delighted to spend the night. In the morning there was a complete hot breakfast, even with garnish! The dining room was beautifully decorated for the holidays and had the old Taos charm. The manager said that they are updating furniture, etc, so we expect that it will be even better when we get a chance to stay here again! A great find! Very friendly staff, too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaos, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

Yes, we have so many of our fireplace suites suites (22) that we frequently upgrade our guests.

Many thanks for staying,
Guest care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have frequented Hotel Don Fernando de Taos for a number of years for the Taos Annual Wool Fest and have always found it to be among the best in Taos, with friendly, helpful staff, excellent amenities and a good location. While not in the center of activities, the hotel is close to everything and has easy access to Taos areas without going through heavy traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaos, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

We are under new management and have begun a renovation of the all the facilities. The hot tub is back, the restaurant is back, we have a games room with both electronic and board games, a small library, jigsaw puzzles and as always our free hot breakfast.

Thanks for returning,
Guest Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel/motel five or six times. Before we always reserved a king room which as been very adequate in size. This time we reserved a two room suite which is convenient because I can get up with the dog early and let my wife sleep in. And obviously the property is pet friendly.

I think there are eight different buildings, each with two floors. The lay out is great and the hotel is on Pueblo del Sur, the main road through Taos. The rooms are in need of remodeling including new carpets and new furniture. You might say everything is well worn.

The landscaping is in need of maintenance as the lawn had not been mowed in over two weeks, weeds were everywhere, and volunteer Siberian elms were in many of the flower beds. The bar in the main building was closed, supposedly being updated although there was no sign of activity. Breakfast was provided in the restaurant. The food was fair. This was apparently the only use of the restaurant.

The property could be great with the location and layout. But the owners need to invest in it or it will be gone before long.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center buildings are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaos, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We have just taken over the management of the hotel and have started work on giving it warmth and vitality as you rightly comment it needs.

The lobby has been re-done, the lounge and adobe fireplace are being re-done and the restaurant is now OPEN for breakfast and lunch, with dinner coming along shortly.

The indoor pool is being rejuvenated, the hot tub will gain be operational for the ski season . . that is a big win for us - finding the parts!.

The rooms are all being deep cleaned and detailed.

We are moving pretty fast . . . we wish we could move yet faster.
Thanks so much,
Josh and Andy - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Address: 1005 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.