We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whitten Inn to your Saves list
Whitten Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Waterflow, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night over spring break on our way home. We had 2 rooms, one for my family and one for Grandma and Grandpa. I was annoyed that the credit card machine was broken, so we had to go find an ATM and pay in cash.

This is obviously an older hotel, but it's just fine. We just needed a place to crash overnight for not too much money and this place fit the bill. Internet was free and fast enough for my needs. Breakfast was ok; waffles, cold cereal, orange juice, fruit, etc. Pool was fine, and the hot tub was really big. I liked that.

If you are looking for a clean place to sleep, try this place out. If you are looking for a resort experience or something fancy, you are better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    29
    22
    29
See reviews for
50
34
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We thought we would try the Whitten Inn in Taos after having a very nice stay at the Whitten Inn in Vanhorn, Texas. What a mistake! The property has not been maintained. The entrance door to our room looked like someone took a crowbar to it. We decided to look at one more room and decided not to book with this motel. Unclean..no soap, shampoo, etc. the complete opposite of the Whitten in Vanhorn. They need to close this place. Drove down the road and stayed at the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Used a coupon to get a reasonable rate. Started well with friendly staff. Room was not the cleanest and a little worn. Had to collect coffee for the room machine from the foyer. Not had that before. It was a cheap price but perhaps an extra $10 could be invested in better cleaning and improving the breakfast (perhaps staffing it to keep it topped up and cleaned). A shame as it looks good from the outside and has a nice sized pool so it has the potential to be better. I remember staying here three years earlier and after three rooms which were unready we were eventually given a room with a large fire. I guess there must be inconsistencies between rooms/cleaners given the range of reviews. I really wanted to like the place given the good rate but things need to improve.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place came with some nice "extras"--coffeemaker, fridge and microwave. Room size was standard size. Room and furnishings were okay but seemed to be a little worn. Room was clean upon arrival and maid service did a good job with daily cleaning. Coffee supplies had to be obtained from the check-in staff unlimited supply; coffee maker brewed only one cup at a time. A continental breakfast came with the room.

The building had a different kind of layout and without an elevator. Even number rooms were on the front side, odd numbers on the backside of the building. So if you had a second floor room with an even number, you had to go through the downstairs inner room up the stairs, through the inner room and around the corner to get to your room. This could be quite a trek with a big baggage drill. It would be better to park your car in the back of the building close to the stairs. Ice machine was conveniently located.

It was a very comfortable place to stay and I would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Staying on the first floor is best, especially if you have a lot of baggage to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is an older hotel, with doors that open to the outside. This makes the room noisier and brighter at night. It is fine for a single night or two, but I wouldn't recommend it for an extended vacation stay. The rooms are large, but dated. Ours was relatively clean, but the bedspreads are old and we removed them for sleeping. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I am sitting in the parking lot at 3:20 in the afternoon because " we are really full and haven't been able to clean the room yet". Even though the website says check in at 3? Not off to a great start.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My company( Usic) uses this dump because it's the only clc logging in the area. The rooms are filthy. The rooms are pet friendly and my room was full of fleas and was a very unpleasant stay. The beds are like sleeping on concrete and the breakfast served in the morning is a joke. The building looks nice from the street but that's not the case when you drive around to the rear and see this disaster they call a hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 615 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly owned, operated, and renovated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitten Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.