We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1043 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Taos
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The rooms were quiet, large, and well decorated. Fridge and micro were a bonus, as was the made-to-order breakfast: 4 choices including one that had 2 eggs, bacon, hash browns, toast, tea/coffee and oj.

They have the biggest pool I've ever seen at a motel, and a really nice GRASSY area with cafe type picnic tables that are shady in the morning and late afternoon. You get a lovely view of the mountains...I watched the sunrise over the Sangre de Cristo.

It's on the edge of town (if you're coming from Santa Fe), within walking distance of the Visitor Center. You have to drive into the historic district but there is plenty cheap and even free parking available down there...we never had trouble finding a spot even during peak hours.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    41
    23
    19
See reviews for
45
73
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington, d.c.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My options were limited, as I was traveling with my dog, but the Quality Inn did not disappoint. Free breakfast, free internet, free hot tub (perfect after a day of skiing!), and only a nominal pet fee. The room was comfortable, the food was good, and the service was great. They even accommodated my early check-in and late checkout requests. If I'm ever in the area again, I would definitely stay at the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odessa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Initial impression was average. Maintenance was very prompt to remedy a situation when sink flooded because the hotel was at full capacity and sewer had nowhere to go but in our room. Mgmt seemed a little bit insensitive about the inconvenience of us having to relocate to another room. We had a lot of ski equip etc. to move but the maint guys elped us to relocate. My son forgot a souveneir in the room and it disapeared after the room was cleaned. Food is ok with a good salad bar. Breakfast is a bargain. I'll look for another place for same price before I go here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa and Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel appears to by a "made-over" older Holiday Inn, as are many Quality Inns -- and it is better than other similar hotels in which we have stayed. Our room was clean, large and nicely decorated with shade trees and the swimming pool in a park-like setting right outside our door. The bedding, microwave, refrigerator and TV were newer.

The location is good -- not in the historic area, but closer than some of the newer hotels -- and the price was right.

A complimentary full breakfast was served in the dining room, but the service was a little slow. The food was served to us (not a buffet) and it was a veery good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We had never been to Taos, so I just went with this hotel chain because it is familiar. Now that I know more about Taos, we would stay at a smaller, locally owned hotel closer to the center of town.

Pros:
Hot tub: large and hot.

Free breakfast pros: cooked-to-order breakfast, plenty of food, you get an insulated pot of coffee (see breakfast cons, too).

Wireless internet in room: available and it works.

Room decor: punched-tin mirror frames, tilework in vanity, and southwestern furniture added a lot to the hotel ambiance.

Cons:
Cleanliness: the carpet felt dirty underfoot, and there was a ceiling vent in the hot tub room that made me gag when I looked at it - covered in dirt/dust/mold.

Pool: completely unheated and about a foot low on water.

Vanity/bathroom: the door to the shower/toilet room opened out into the vanity area, leaving two options: either leave the door open and cover the closet nook in the vanity area (which is where we hung our toiletry bags because of zero counter space around the sink), or keep the door closed and the bathroom stays unpleasantly moist from showers (no fan).

Free breakfast cons: you must come down to breakfast as one group, so we couldn't take our daughter breakfast in the room (she slept in one morning and, thus, missed breakfast); the hash browns and eggs were fairly greasy; the waitresses were borderline rude with their brusqueness.

Location: far from the center of town, so you need to drive in and then deal with parking-in-town issues.

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend because there are many more "Taos-y" places to stay that would be nicer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

This place needs a makeover very badly. Not sure if the sheets were changed as we found spots on them after we woke up the next morning. Room was very dated. Hotel looked as if it was falling apart. Had a non smoking room and the hallways smelled like smoke (from the workmen - not sure as it smelled the same the next morning). The towels were very thin and worn and rough. Room felt stale and stuffy. The free "cooked to order breakfast" was okay except that my husband's bacon was burnt. The breakfast room was in their lounge so it was odd eating in there. They had only 2 servers running around for a ton of people. (Felt bad for ours as she was very nice).

Overall, this hotel was pretty gross and I would never recommend this to anyone. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

This hotel is a madhouse. The hallways seem to act as the "community hall". Parents let their children run up and down the hallways from room to room at all hours; the housekeeping staff keep their radios turned up while they work; one morning the maintenence staff was drilling in the walls in the hallway; the walls are thin enough that you hear normal conversation and television from neighbors' rooms; the towels are frayed and worn to rags; the buffet of eggs, hash browns, pancakes, and sausage was cold; one evening there were happy-hour locals in the lobby that were drunk and obnoxiously crude. If you are looking for quality--Quality Inn is not the place!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1043 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Taos
Quality Inn Taos
Taos Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.