We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like a Mini-Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1043 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taos
California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Felt Like a Mini-Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our third night of a 9 day vacation with friends. This was the best night of the trip -- We actually got to the motel early so we could enjoy Taos and just relaxing. It really was really nice. The rooms was decorated very nice. The staff got us checked in quickly. Amenities -- dollar off coupons for the bar (drinks were reasonbly priced to begin with) They had popcorn, chips and salsa. At 5 pm they had complimentary soup -- it was excellant. The lobby was spacious as we hung out as a group and then moved to the on site restaurant for the soup. Dinner had some specials. The special I had was excellant (Mexican steak and my wife had the pork chop) Some in our group did not enjoy their meal as much. The drawback we found was in the cheese cake -- it seem dull and freezer burned. Breakfast was quite good -- you had choice of 4 different complimentary ones and they were ample portions. Over all the value was excellant and I hope I can make a return trip to this property.

Room Tip: all rooms were off the street -- you could get a room that will open to where your car was parked or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    79
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
48
83
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While it can't compete with the pricey B&Bs in Taos for charm or convenience, this is a reasonably priced alternative when the budget won't cover one of them. While not "downtown," it's a short drive to the historic center of Taos. It's right on the main highway to Taos, but did not hear road noise in rooms at the back. Rooms were decent size, in good condition, clean; comfortable beds and pillows and better quality towels than I expected. Breakfast was substantial, made to order (eggs, bacon, etc)., and good - a lot of locals appear to drop in for breakfast, which is a good sign. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice enough.

Room Tip: No elevators, so ask for first floor to avoid stairs if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Who gives these hotels their star ratings? I have a bone to pick. This place lacked everything. There was only one ice machine, very far away and it was broken the entire week. There was also a completely empty, perhaps also broken vending machine in the same area. To find a vending machine that contained snacks, I had to walk clear to the other side of the long building. The hot breakfast was good, but choices were limited and if you are in a hurry, forget it. I would have preferred a continental breakfast bar. This place is quite old and not well updated. The carpeting is worn thin in spots and the rooms are due for an update. They still have the wall heaters / air conditioners that don't work very well and don't have thermostat, so you have to guess at the temperature. The local TV stations were so fuzzy they were impossible to watch, and I absolutely could not pick up any wifi signal in my room. What a joke, "free WiFi" but you cant get the signal. I obtained this room through Priceline Express Deals, and my experience with 2 1/2-star rooms through Priceline is generally much better. After I booked through Priceline, which keeps the name of the hotel hidden until after you confirm and pay, I looked up this hotel's rating on Tripadvisor and was very disappointed. However I still went there and with an open mind, but appear to have had the same bad experiences that many other guests have reported.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you like chinzy 80's Southwestern decor, you will like this (low) Quality Inn. Many things disappointed us with this visit. From the lack of wifi signal in the room, stonewalling from the front desk, and completely useless off-site tech support, to the out-of-order ice machines, out-of order hot tub, and uncomfortable mattresses, we felt ripped off. The outdoor courtyard and pool are lovely, but they were not enough to make us want to ever return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lock on bathroom door didn't work, hair dryer wouldn't stay on the wall in it's mount, bathtub didn't drain during the shower, had a stain on a towel the first night we got there, could hear the upstairs room above us making noise (stomping) and we had to slam the front and back doors to the room in order to shut them.

Pool was nice as they had toys and such for the kids available, but the hot tub was closed all but one day of our 4 day stay.

BREAKFAST ROCKED!! Great servers, great food and fast!

Management lacked as they wouldn't work with Orbitz to fix the issue of being placed in a Smoking Room. Originally had booked the room myself but wanted to change the check out date. The manager made Orbitz cancel my original and re-book the room instead of adjusting my booking. Something got messed up and they placed us in a smoking room and after that the hotel took no responsibility or even tried to make it up to us even though they made us cancel the original booking. At least Orbitz did worked with me.

If I stayed here again it would be because of the breakfast, the outdoor pool and that's it.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a back door access so it's convenient to get to your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The beds were comfortalbe and the entrance and lobby area were impressive with Southwestern style furniture. Complementary breakfast was in their restaurant, everything in the room worked, and the staff were very competent. The building is rather large, so it may take a while to walk to/from car to room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Room was musty. The hallways dingy. Rooms for smokers directly across the hall from our non-smoking room. Fortunately the air system, such as it was, didn't circulate the smoke into our room, but the hallways stank. I might have forgiven all that if the Wi-Fi worked. However, we barely could get a connection from our room, and it constantly dropped. We were able to get a marginal connection in the bar. All in all, I recommend you try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1043 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Taos
Quality Inn Taos
Taos Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.