We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Hills Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Hills Inn to your Saves list
Indian Hills Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Clarkdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is withing easy walking distance to the Taos Plaza and is easy to find. The front desk person was great in finding me a room that I could park my motorcycle near. However, the hotel is definitely 2nd or 3rd tier. It was clean but rough, and there seem to be some permanent residents in the building. I was travelling alone so it was OK, but I know my wife would have been uncomfortable. The price was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for your business and review. We're making some management and staff changes to better provide a clean and comfortble room for travelers to enjoy. Sorry we didn't exceed your expectations. See you soon again in Taos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    23
    15
    33
See reviews for
29
33
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a very reasonably price lodging, just a couple of blocks from the Plaza yet very quiet and
pleasant, with a lovely courtyard featuring a massive, ancient willow tree. My room was extremely clean, the bed was excellent. I will always stay at the Indian Hills on future trips to the area.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room facing on the inner courtyard - very quiet and nice to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Malcom, thanks for your gracious comments. We appreciate your business! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We looked for an affordable place close to the downtown area and this fit our requirements perfectly. The price was 56$ plus tax, and the service exceeded our expectations for this price. The room was nice and spacious, with a beautiful view of the green inner courtyard where we would enjoy our coffee in the morning under the big, old tree. The breakfast was decent especially in comparison to some other similarly priced motels in New Mexico we stayed at. The staff was nice and the atmosphere peaceful and relaxing. The bed was comfortable. It would be great if the room had a fridge. I agree with other reviewers who said that although the room was a non-smoking room, one could still feel the hint of the times when it was a smoking room, or at least that's how it felt. But the windows were large and the room could be aired well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We've been working harder to meet the Guest's needs and appreciate your taking the time to post your review. See you next trip and we ask for your referrals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

came to visit a friend. This place is gross. The lady in the front was just so mean to us (Anna). They should just turn this place into apartments. Their are so many local people that live there. the 2 night we were there was a party and cops. We left and stay at the El Pueblo which was cleaner and the people were nicer. And get this as we were leaving we saw blankets just tossed out on the ground as they were cleaning. Don't they have cleaning carts?

Room Tip: This Place is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Sorry your visit was not up to your or our standards. We appreciate all comments and will work towards improving our service. In any event, thanks for the time you took to alert us to problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The reason we stayed here was because the place at which we would be skiing (Sipapu) was offering a deal on their website. If you buy your lift tickets through this hotel, you could stay at a very reduced rate. The deal claims to be free, but there is a service fee and the continental breakfast must be purchased by each person staying. Even with these required expenses, it is still a great deal. The hotel needs updating in many ways, but if you consider what you are paying, it is just fine. If I was looking for a place to stay, I would not pay full price for this place. With the discount, it is a great place to stay. On it's own, it is acceptable/average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We've always worked towards providing a great value. We're also working atproperty maintenance to improve Guest comfort. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We rented two room here over the week between Christmas and New Year's through an Internet re-seller (Kayak) for $123/night. When we pulled in, the hotel had a sign advertising a free room for those skiing at Sipapu Ski resort (a small ski area 20 miles southeast of town). We were skiing Sipapu, but the front desk "could not" adjust our rate since it was resold inventory. Had we booked directly with the hotel they exchange free rooms for guest that ski at Sipapu ($44/day lift ticket for adults) and they honor the promotion over Christmas!! I don't know if they do, because I offered to cancel my reservation and go buy lift tickets, but it is worth a call. (575) 758-4293.

On the hotel, it's a room. Ours was non-smoking but it was very obvious smokers had used it. There were no other rooms to trade with, so we opened the windows and went to eat. Housekeeping left a can of Fabreeze on our room door knob when we returned. We closed the windows and the heater worked well. Beds were average and our rooms were quiet. We left for the slopes before most guests around us were up, and our rooms had been cleaned by the time we returned from skiing. I heard complaints in the lobby about parties being split up on different sides of the hotel, and our two rooms were not adjoining, but close. The front desk seemed well intentioned to me, but not used to having the hotel at or near full occupancy.

Room Tip: The hotel is sort of triangle shaped. It seemed congested to me near the front of the hotel and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Unfortunately, the online travel agents always cost both the Guest and the property a large percentage of the room charge. I encourage all our Guests to usethe online systems to compare price (always when the travel, anywhere) and then call the hoteldirectly if they seek value. We'll almTaos trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place has real potential: great location, large site, good parking. But it is very run down and the public spaces are poorly designed. Lumpy, soft beds that are miserable. This caused me to check out after two days. The front desk girl (& I mean girl) looked more like a hooker than a hospitality professional: shiny purple shirt off the shoulder with eye shadow to match. She got sarcastic when I asked if they had any rooms with firmer beds. I was booked for 7 nights but moved to El Pueblo - Great Place! What a difference professionalism and $20 makes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Sorry your visit didn't meet your needs. Hope you'll give us a chance in the future. Thanks for the positive parts of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Hills Inn

Address: 233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Indian Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hills Hotel Taos Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.