We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Hills Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Hills Inn to your Saves list
Indian Hills Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The reason we stayed here was because the place at which we would be skiing (Sipapu) was offering a deal on their website. If you buy your lift tickets through this hotel, you could stay at a very reduced rate. The deal claims to be free, but there is a service fee and the continental breakfast must be purchased by each person staying. Even with these required expenses, it is still a great deal. The hotel needs updating in many ways, but if you consider what you are paying, it is just fine. If I was looking for a place to stay, I would not pay full price for this place. With the discount, it is a great place to stay. On it's own, it is acceptable/average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We've always worked towards providing a great value. We're also working atproperty maintenance to improve Guest comfort. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    23
    15
    33
See reviews for
29
33
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We rented two room here over the week between Christmas and New Year's through an Internet re-seller (Kayak) for $123/night. When we pulled in, the hotel had a sign advertising a free room for those skiing at Sipapu Ski resort (a small ski area 20 miles southeast of town). We were skiing Sipapu, but the front desk "could not" adjust our rate since it was resold inventory. Had we booked directly with the hotel they exchange free rooms for guest that ski at Sipapu ($44/day lift ticket for adults) and they honor the promotion over Christmas!! I don't know if they do, because I offered to cancel my reservation and go buy lift tickets, but it is worth a call. (575) 758-4293.

On the hotel, it's a room. Ours was non-smoking but it was very obvious smokers had used it. There were no other rooms to trade with, so we opened the windows and went to eat. Housekeeping left a can of Fabreeze on our room door knob when we returned. We closed the windows and the heater worked well. Beds were average and our rooms were quiet. We left for the slopes before most guests around us were up, and our rooms had been cleaned by the time we returned from skiing. I heard complaints in the lobby about parties being split up on different sides of the hotel, and our two rooms were not adjoining, but close. The front desk seemed well intentioned to me, but not used to having the hotel at or near full occupancy.

Room Tip: The hotel is sort of triangle shaped. It seemed congested to me near the front of the hotel and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Unfortunately, the online travel agents always cost both the Guest and the property a large percentage of the room charge. I encourage all our Guests to usethe online systems to compare price (always when the travel, anywhere) and then call the hoteldirectly if they seek value. We'll almTaos trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place has real potential: great location, large site, good parking. But it is very run down and the public spaces are poorly designed. Lumpy, soft beds that are miserable. This caused me to check out after two days. The front desk girl (& I mean girl) looked more like a hooker than a hospitality professional: shiny purple shirt off the shoulder with eye shadow to match. She got sarcastic when I asked if they had any rooms with firmer beds. I was booked for 7 nights but moved to El Pueblo - Great Place! What a difference professionalism and $20 makes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Sorry your visit didn't meet your needs. Hope you'll give us a chance in the future. Thanks for the positive parts of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Oh, this place had so much potential! It's convenient, the lobby is charming, my room was quiet and generous-sized, not bad-looking, the bed was decent, the price was decent, and there is a pleasant green space in the center of the building wings that form a 'u'. But lordy, what poor management can do to a place!

My non-smoking room had clearly been smoked in. The beeping smoke detector had been pulled off the wall and the battery removed. Did some cleaning person not notice the stench and the noise? The minimum they could have done was opened door and window and aired out the room! Perhaps they told the front desk about the smoke detector and there is just cruddy maintenance? The staff who appeared to take care of the smoke detector were a bit slovenly in appearance and the man actually made me slightly nervous.

And then the broken toilet seat cover and the burned-out light over the bathroom sink. Hello! Not expensive to repair/replace. I found weird random bits of stuff under a bedside table when I moved it to plug something in. Styrofoam cups - I agree with "annabout" on this one. Altogether not lovely. The trash accumulation in the walkway was also stupidly lazy of the maintenance folks. It would be so easy to make this place very pleasant, why not make the effort?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for the critical and good comments. We do use Guest reviews with our team of Associates and our encouraging them to read the online reviews and think about how their performance can positively and negatively impact the reviews. We very much appreciate your both side comments! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In Taos at the Indian Hills Inn is a one of the oldest Inns. This Inn has been renovated and is under new management. It still has its charming court yard with a fire pit for having a old fashions BBQ. Fire provided by Inn or bring your own wood or Brickettes for a nice T-Bone. I Wish I would have brought my Guitar and Drum for entertainment. There at the Firepit is a variety of international visitors with stories of travel and interesting events... Like the Sundance tradition of the Sioux Indians. From the Pit we were invited to the Taos Pueblo by Bernadette from the Taos Tribe. Bernadette brought the BEST Tamales EVER and Wow we were invited on personal pueblo tour on Wednesday. The new management i.e. Victoria is full of excitement in turning around this humble Inn into a common ground of international hospitality. Other amenities is the morning treats and coffee and a cool pool for dipping before the Camp Fire. This is a great place. I will stay here again and bring my Guitar. Peace and Love to all Taosenos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know you appreciated our firepit centrally located in the middle of our acre sized Central Park. Last week we had at least 20 Guests in the courtyard sitting relaxing or grilling their dinner. Again, thanks for the comments. We're working hard at earning more positive reviews such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is downtown and, as with most downtown areas, dirty and difficult to keep up. It shows. There is not enough trash detail, so litter is prevalent. The room itself was decent, a little odd in configuration, so they had to pull the outside door off the bathroom to make it operable.
The price was on the low side for hotels, so my expectations were appropriate. That being said, they barely met the low side of that. The room was clean and the people friendly. The continental breakfast was good, but not outstanding. The beds were comfortable and that's all we really needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're working on the trash issue but as you said, it's hard to keep up. We'll work with our team to better handle the details. We appreciate the time you took to make your comments. See you next time in Taos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location near the center of town. Dreary but adequate room with moderately comfortable bed. Nice field out the back door. Styrofoam cups for morning coffee. I hate styrofoam. Blech. Fine if you want somewhere cheap to stay but don't expect anything more.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Hills Inn

Address: 233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Indian Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hills Hotel Taos Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.